The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops (The THG Years) – Part Eight

in #story5 years ago

Title.jpg
Source


This series is dedicated to my friend ‘The Pieman’ who hosted ‘THE P.I.T.S’ BBS in New York City and sadly passed away in 2016. I know his son ‘Blake’ will be reading this sequence of stories with anticipation.


We will never forget you man, you were one of a kind.


Also I would like to say a big thank you to Fabulous Furlough, ex-leader of ‘The Humble Guys’ who helps me fill in the gaps of what happened almost 30 years ago, The Slavelord who has given me a plethora of memories from the early days and to Suicidal Tendencies (@trolleydave) who remembers more about the UK scene than me.


The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops (The THG Years) is a continuation of my previous series, The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops


Other articles in this series:
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops (The THG Years) – Part One
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops (The THG Years) – Part Two
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops (The THG Years) – Part Three
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops (The THG Years) – Part Four
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops (The THG Years) – Part Five
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops (The THG Years) – Part Six
The Software Piracy Chronicles of Slobberchops (The THG Years) – Part Seven


---small pirate.jpg

WARNING: Bad Language ahead, please put the kiddies to bed.

April 1991

With everyone finally at my place it was down to business, but what business? I had never me any of these guys before yet I felt like I knew all of them.

There were no awkward silences and conversation flowed well between all of us.

Having struck up an interest in Video Nasties with Suicidal Tendencies (@trolleydave) I was quite intent on watching some of them. Talk about forbidden fruit!

While the others were nattering about this and that I was feasting on the likes of ‘A Clockwork Orange’, ‘Last House on the Left’ and ‘Faces of Death’.

With the presence of Hi.T.Moonweed this was my big chance to learn how to Blue Box from an active participant.

Blue_Box_at_the_Powerhouse_Museum.jpg
Source

It wasn’t just me, Night Ranger and Suicidal Tendencies were intently watching and learning as he showed us all how to configure UADialler for both the Brazil and Taiwan boxes.

Brazil works worldwide, even the UK’, he explained to us all.

Taiwan is shit, only works to the US and Canada and the speed is only around 700CPS’ he continued.

A modem at that time would transmit around 1350CPS, so half speed was indeed quite pants.


---small pirate.jpg

We all took turns to call a BBS in the US using the Brazil number which required two different 2600hz break tones to grab the line from the remote operator. This is what I could never figure out unless physically shown.

After a couple of tries I found it was quite simple and meant holding the phone mouthpiece close to some headphones that were connected to the Amiga, clicking the UADialler to send tones after you heard the ringtone which would cut the operator off.

A further tone that was pre-configured would grab the line when sent down after a second delay, and you could then use your modem software to call your BBS.

Once you heard it ringing, you would then replace the handset and it would connect. It sounds complicated but after a few goes came naturally.

image.png
Source

I can’t show you Taiwan’, he mentioned flatly, as it only works during UK business hours.

Yeah I know’, he continued before we could counter, ‘It’s fucking weird but that’s the way it is’.


---small pirate.jpg

I’m not going to state on a public forum that I used to Blue Box and phreak’.

Whenever I say that I called a BBS, it means I stuck my hand in my pocket and spent £50 to call legitimately. I will simply say that I knew how to do it, and decided it was too risky to use as an ongoing pursuit.

YOU… can believe what the fucking hell you like!


---small pirate.jpg

I mentioned in the last Chronicles about Night Ranger’s obsession with death. He must have watched ‘Faces of Death’ half a dozen times during the meetup. Bloody lunatic.

Zwei_Doener_Kebab.jpg
Source

That night I have memories of visiting a dodgy kebab place in Nelson. Hi.T.Moonweed was a vegetarian and horrified at seeing all this meat skewered up on a rotating spit.

I can’t recall what he ate that night but he wasn’t going to convert to carnivorous ways due to mass opinion.

Blonde_vampire.png
Source

We all crashed around 1am, except Hi.T.Moonweed who was a nocturnal creature and stayed awake all night. I swear he had some Vampire in him. The white unnaturally pale skin and drawn looks gave it away.

Regardless the master anarchist fixed all the issues on ‘The Demons’ Forge’ I was having including that annoying double login issue.

Vampire or not, he was a clever bastard and someone who you wanted as a friend and not foe.

We woke to him slumbered over one of my armchairs and no amount of noise would wake him.


To be continued...



All images have been cited and are under the category 'Labelled for Reuse' or are in the public domain.

Small Pirate Icon Source

.NFO files courtesy of the .NFO libraries at https://defacto2.net


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Dodgy kebabs or not, I bet they were still great. That looks fantastic and I can't see why it wouldn't convert any vegetarian. That is cool how they used to work the phone system. I wish I had been old enough to understand all of that back when it was popular.

The US stamped out these kind of practices before the UK. it was likely the 80's when all that worked over there. it was rampant in Europe though, not just the UK during this time.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Slobberchops from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.502 which ranks you at #1948 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 16 places in the last three days (old rank 1964).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 234 contributions, your post is ranked at #59.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 30.89% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @slobberchops! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 478

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30