WHY I HATE LENDING MONEY OUT. THIS IS A STORY OF HOW I GOT MYSELF IN TROUBLE WHILE TRYING TO HELP A FRIEND.

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Lately I no longer lend people money, no matter who you are to me. If I have the money, I will tell you that I have it, but I don’t want to lend it out. Yes, I know that I am WICKED! But man made man to be wicked.


Source
Two years ago, A good friend of mine had a huge financial problem and he came to me for help. He asked me to borrow him 200 thousand Naira and promised to pay back within 2weeks.
I didn't have much on me and the little money I have, I already budgeted to start up a business with it but what are friends for if we can't help each other? After sleeping over it, come to think of it, It’s just two weeks. So, I gave him the money and he swore on his life to pay back before two weeks.

After two weeks, I have never heard from him. I called him for almost a week and he kept on giving me excuses. It got to a point where i am really wasting so much money on calling everyday...

Source
I went to his house to persuade him, but the idiot denied having any money at the moment. This time around I was begging him to pay me my own money. He told me to that will get the money for me next week.
A week passed, still nothing from him. The Next week and the week after, getting to a month since I went to his house. I kept on calling him and he was giving me fresh excuses every time.

Does it mean that he has not gotten a dime since 2months, getting to 3? He hasn’t even given me a penny to calm my temper until he completes the payment.
I decided to call him for the last time and threaten him to pay me back. The idiot replied me like I am a parasite disturbing his peaceful him then hanged the call on me.

I haven’t been this angry since I was born. At this point it was crystal clear to me that he doesn’t want to pay not because he doesn't have the money but because he just don't want to pay me.
Can you imagine such wickedness? I was even blaming myself for giving him money.

I went to this house again, this time I made up my mind to express pour out my anger on his body. I took some boys along to give him the beating of his life. We took off very early in the morning but to my greatest surprise, we arrived only to find his house locked, I peeped from the window and couldn't believe what I saw. The whole place looked evacuated, I asked his neighbour of his way about. “He travelled last night, the Neighbour replied...
Finally, I got scammed by someone I once called a brother. I went home and moved on with life...

To cut the long story short.

Last week, As I was strolling down the street, I saw him in a tricycle (keke)... After 2years of running away with my money, he finally came back from nowhere. Looking at him, I could tell that karma has killed him and brought back his corpse for me to bury. He was looking hungry and broker than ever. I felt like strangling him to death but that won’t bring my money back. So i grabbed him on belt, we both entered another tricycle and headed down to the police station.

On getting to the station, I demanded to see the D.P.O who is a family friend. He gave us his audience, we both wrote statements and after some questioning…

The D.P.O finally settled the case.

Source
“Looking at this man, you can tell that he doesn’t have the money on him. Even if you take him to court, you will only end up wasting more money.” The DPO said.
“But there is only one solution, He continued…
He has promised that he will be paying me 10 thousand Naira every month until the money has been completely paid off?
10 thousand Naria every month? That’s almost 2years?

What do you guys think I should do?

Do you think the D.P.O did justice to the case?

What’s the best way to handle debtors that refuses to pay back?

Sort:  

I'm sorry to hear that a "friend" ripped you off. I don't like to lend money either. If it is a small amount I would rather give someone the money with no strings attached. For a larger amount, it's best to say no. Borrowing or lending money puts stress on friendships.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

sometimes it is best to just move on. Did you know it was going to be a risk when he asked to borrow it? Did he offer to pay interest when you loaned it? What was he going to do with the money to make enough to pay you back in two weeks? Did you ask? Did it sound like a safe investment? What was the reason for the loan? Did he have a steady job at the time of the loan? Not enough information to make a judgement call on your post, at least not for me.

There is no one way to handle a person that is indebted to you. It all depends on the situation, and the situation that was in effect at the time of the loan.

I was trying to keep the story as short as possible as i thought that people hate reading long stuffs... Maybe i was wrong to forget that there are still patient ones like you, that will love to read every single detail before passing judgment...

No choice na... Ten thousand is better than nothing. At least you've being chasing shadow for 2 years

Omo money wea dem dey give you like that, You no fit use am do better thing.. Reason am naa

Na true yarn jare

I heard of similar friendships that have been broken by money. Does money change people? Why?
thanks for sharing a bit about your experiences. ;)
sam

I dont think money changes people, People just show their true color when you lend them money

hmm.. I like this thought very much! So at the end there was still something positive, you discovered the true face of a (not so true) friend...

Yes, i discover their true face and cut them off... After i have taken my money... Nobody fucks with my goddamn money.

This reminded me of a quote I once read.

Before you lend money to a friend, decide which is worth more.

If the friendship is worth more then let it go, if the money is then you could pursue it further but either way, you lose. Its a lesson we all have to learn, I hope you find a suitable outcome.

An Albania quote says
"If you lend a friend money, you will end up losing your money or gaining an enemy."
I will always choose the later

@sparrowbernard losing money? I would choose that too as who needs enemies, We already have 1/3 of the population that will hate on us without even knowing us, lucky 1/3 love us. The rest are here nor there. lol. :)

I also learned not to lend people money... the hard way.
Not so long ago, I made a comment on a post saying this and someone replied to it with this statement:
The best way to get rid of a friend is to borrow him money.

Sad, but true...

Very true... I will always choose to loose my friendship and get my money. If you never planned to pay me back then you were never my friend...
Hey, i have really missed you... Nice to have you back

Thanks. Glad to be back. Not 100% yet, but getting more active every day :0)

I find it hard to understand that people are lending money from someone and then never mention it again. I wouldn’t be able to look myself in the eye, let alone sleep at night. But apparently I am an exception on this.
So I decided to not lend money again. Last week, I turned down a request from my niece. I’m pretty sure she would pay me back, but ‘pretty sure’ is not good enough anymore.
As for the rest of the people that owe me money, I’ve simply let go. There is no use in staying mad at them. I just consider it as a lesson I needed to learn...

If you refuse to lend money, its a choice... You dont owe anybody anything, As long as they didn't contribute in helping you earn the money. Yes, not only you. I feel like ashamed whenever i see somebody i am owing, but some people dont care.
I am a little busy at the moment, I will check your blog later. I can't wait to see what you will write about your past experience

Blogging is still fairly limited for now. Takes up a lot of energy I don’t have yet. So there is not a lot there yet. Slowly picking it up again, but easy does it :0)

Glad to have run into you again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30