OVER THE SILVER SKY TO THE WORLD OF NEVER : Part 144 - The End Of The Beginning.

in #story5 years ago (edited)

I don't know about you, but I have spent far too much of my time not being worried. Then I read this article about what those Oscar winners are going to do next. Now worry fills my every waking moment. I didn't used to care, then I made a determined effort to become a much better person. Instead of deriding virtue signalling celebrities for their ludicrous pronouncements, based on no knowledge or experience, I put myself in their shoes. Those poor Oscar winners. What are they going to do next? They've peaked. Nothing's ever going to beat winning an Oscar. Sure they'll make millions more based on that success. That doesn't matter though. It's hard work winning an Oscar. Also more dangerous than playing Russian Roulette with a fully loaded, semiautomatic pistol. Death or serious injury is 100% certain at some point. Normally from old age or a drug overdose, according to the statistics. There they are constantly risking their lives in the quest for vast wealth and public adoration. Knowing that eventually the odds will catch up with them and take its acting toll. I salute you all. You are heroes to me. Look after yourselves. Keep in touch. That way I won't be so worried.


(The copyright to this image is the property of Getty Images.)

There were fewer people in the docks area now. They were making far more noise though. Some of the stalls were closed. Others were doing a roaring business. In less than a couple of hours the entire city had gone from teetering on the brink, to a potential war zone. The more cautious were already starting to leave. Many more had prepared for such an eventuality, but were holding on for a while. You never knew. It could all settle down. It had before. It was a lot of work deserting your home and heading out into the surrounding countryside.

Jake and Kayzee made their way purposefully through the bustling crowds. There were more transients and immigrants here. These things mainly happened in the city itself. For the most part they were left alone. Now there was tension. Somebody had attacked one of their own. Intentionally as well. The were no laws or rules against this. More of an understanding. Both sides of that wall coexisting and rubbing along. Neither interfering with the other. More weapons were on display. There, striding towards the two of them, were Zhen, Femke, Santiago with a sizable number of their respective crews.

"All of our people are at your disposal." Femke stated sternly. "By attacking one captain they have attacked us all. We should have a council. Abooard the Crystal Dragon, I suggest. As long as Zhen is amenable."
He nodded curtly. Jake however wasn't as certain.
"We could do with all the help we can get, but I don't want to drag you into this. It's our problem."
Santiago, who like Fetu was not one of the most effusive of men, grunted dismissively.
"It will be good practice for what is to come. When should we convene?"
So much data. Too much. Even with the help of Hermes it was hard to not be overwhelmed by the information storm from Nemesis. The danger of slipping into analysis paralyses was great. By chance Kayzee provided him with exactly what he needed to jerk him out of his stasis.
"Rumor says you killed an assassin rather messily. They won't like that. There's a chapter in the city. It's well hidden, but we've spotted a lot of unusual activity recently in the Artists Quarter. They'll move quickly. The Families and the Merchants will take their time before they respond."
"Thank you." Jake returned. "They have their headquarters at 81 Minto Street. There are three entrances. Front rear and one in the shop next door. How quickly can you get people there?" he inquired of the captains.
Zhen waved his hand and ten of his crew moved forward.
"Done."
"I'll have my sergeant show you the way." The major stated. "How in Hades do you know that?"
"It's inside my head with a lot of other stuff. They have people inside the other factions. Sleepers awaiting activation. This could get very bloody very quickly. We'll need to keep an eye on all of them. For now just keep tabs on their chapter HQ. They have several other manned safe houses. Those can wait." With his head cleared he continued. "Council in an hour aboard the Crystal Dragon. I have things to do back at the Harlot." He tapped the rifle slung over his shoulder. "I need something with a lot more power than this. Hopefully our people can construct it for me."

Pip met them at the top of the gangplank as Jake and the major went aboard. Fighting to keep herself together as officer of the deck. Pengelly and Fetu were below with Poppy. As things stood Fetu was now in charge with Pengelly next in the chain of command. Jake thought he should take that into consideration here. Out of respect for the two of them she should run anything he thought by them. A plan was coming together. A product of Nemesis or himself? Hopefully both. Things did not look good as they stood. All of the crew were back on board. Yet there was no chatter. Voices were kept low. In a very short space of time Poppy had become part of the crew. Far more than he was. He headed below, the major remaining on deck with Pip.

"I feel useless." The youngster sobbed. "There's nothing I can do."

The words followed him. Echoing inside his whole body. He hadn't called Nemesis forth to save Poppy. He called on her to save himself. Another betrayal. It was so hard not to let people down. There were things that needed doing if they were to get Scarlet back. The ultimatum he'd given rang hollow now. It would happen though. The goddess inside him would see to that. No matter the cost. Mild claustrophobia pressed in on him. They'd taken Poppy to the sick bay. It was near Norbert who, from the snatches he'd heard, was distraught. As he arrived there Fetu and Pengelly exited. Both deep in gloomy thoughts. Only able to give him a pat on the shoulder. No words. There were no words that would mean anything.

He entered. Morag was leaning over the pale body inserting one more line into a vein. Tamsin monitored the two medibots. Both were hooked up. All of their lights blinked amber. When they went red that would be it. They brought people back from the dead here. Why couldn't they do that now? The answer of course being that was in ideal circumstances. In a place with state of the art facilities. People with potentially eternal lives risked all when they ventured into The Never. He knew it was a stupid question before he asked it.

"How is she?"
"She's dying. You should say your goodbyes now. Before it's too late. We're keeping her stable right now. Holding her back from the brink. How are you off for miracles Wanderer? It's a miracle you kept her alive this long. Surely you've got one more up your sleeve." Her voice cracked, tears slowly seeped from her eyes. "Please. Just one more."
He almost said something even more stupid. Poppy wasn't dead. Her personality and memories were back in Harrowmist. A two month voyage away. Then she could be brought back to life. Unaware of all that had happened since the last back up, however long ago that was. Devoid of all those memories they shared. Similar but not the same. Never the same. That's why these people feared death. His own situation much better. He was blessed with being able to pick and choose.
"I wish I could. Right now I'm out of options. Dear God I wish I could have done more." He stood over his nerd. She was his. His responsibility at the very least. Brushed the hair from her pretty face. Bent to kiss the cold forehead. "I failed you again I'm afraid." he whispered.
Morag squeezed his shoulder.
"If it wasn't for you she'd have died alone in the street. She's here among friends now. At least that's something. Sade's with Norbert. You should go and see him. You're the nearest thing to a friend he's got."
He stood up reluctantly.
"When you're finished here could you come through to. There are things we need to do if we're going to get Scarlet back."
"Sure. There's not a lot I can do here anyway. I just wish Norbert could see here before she's gone. See what you can do."

For him it was a few short steps to the hold. For Norbert it was a gaping chasm. He entered the larger space within a smaller one, without noticing the paradox. He heard Sade's voice from the hut. Norbert sobbing and burbling. He'd never heard her caring voice before. Even in his current state it was a soothing balm. It was easy to see why Fetu loved her. Some killed for hate, some killed for love. And in a little while he'd be killing for the sheer joy of it. With Poppy dead, once Nemesis was released, there would be carnage on an epic scale. This city, he'd helped found, would be wiped from the map. Reluctantly he entered the inner sanctum. Sade acknowledged him silently, then left. The weeping scientist howled. tears and snot running down his face.

"I'm sorry Norbert. This was all my fault."
The genius clutched a heavy paper weight in his hands. With all his heart Jake hoped he'd throw it at him. he wouldn't dodge or defend himself.
"Do you know how much I wish that were true? Do you? If, if, if. It's all if's as far back as you can go. I'm a coward . I'm not a fool. She's the one. The girl in my dreams. The one I could never summon up the courage to speak to. And now she's gone. I am less than nothing without her Jake. Yet despite all that I'm too frightened to bid her farewell."
He broke down again. Jake pulled him into an embrace. Feeling the moisture in his own eyes. For Poppy and for what would follow. Mostly for Poppy though.
"I could take you there Norbert. All you have to do is ask."
"What would I say? What would I do? How could I face seeing her die? Leave me please."
"Before I go I need to do something important. I'm sorry, but with your permission I'd like to use your console."
"Of course." Brittle and emotionless.
Jake sat down. Not knowing what he was going to do, but knowing it would be done. Nemesis was inescapable. His hands moved without volition. Weaving patterns with the floating icons. Three different screens lit up scrolling data. A few seconds later the blueprints were complete. He downloaded them into a slate. With one last look at the disconsolate genius he left.

Morag was there. Holding on to Sade. They parted as he approached wiping the mist from their eyes. He beckoned them over to the workbench. Her space. The place where she worked magic.

"She's got minutes." Morag announced flatly. "What is it you need?"
He set the tablet down and showed them the full schematics. The two engineers gasped.
"Some of this I understand. The rest of it is beyond my skills." Sade stated. "What about you Morag?"
The red head examined the screen intently flicking backwards and forwards between the pages of the plans.
"I'm not much better. Whatever this is, it's remarkable. There is no way it could be this powerful. These impulsors are tiny and yet they can impart almost 1% of light speed instantly. The only person I know who could make this is Poppy. There's nobody else.
"I can." Norbert declared. His voice trembling almost as much as the rest of his body. "I've had a look and even though it's so far past anything achieved before, I know I can do it. I'll need help. I'm not the most practical of men." Fighting to hold himself together he continued. "Now please could somebody assist me. I need to say goodbye to the only woman I'll ever love."
Heart rate soaring, blood lust roaring, Jake had his own conflict going on. The urge to smash something. To scream at the unfairness. While Morag shepherded the scientist to the sick bay, Sade watched him. Wary and concerned. He spun round trying to find something expendable. Pettifer and Priscilla were holding hands. Their protoeyes exhibiting their sorrow. They understood. He paced. Reached a wall and raised a clenched fist. The tears that he'd been holding in check oozed from his eyes.
"Nemesis I'm begging you. Please give me something that isn't death and destruction. Give me something for Poppy. I don't care what the cost is. Please I implore you."
The echo of a whisper brushed is mind.
"The thinnest reed takes water from the torrent. Remember when you saw through time."
His furious retort at yet another riddle evaporated. He'd died at Scarlet's hand. Pip had unknowingly saved him. He was different. Special by not being exceptional. It might work.
"Sade, quick as you can, fetch Pip now. Tell her to bring her pendant. I think we might just be able to do this. Go quickly."
She set off at speed yelling ahead of her to everyone to find Pip. Less than a minute later the bemused and breathless boatswain's mate was there.
"What is it." She demanded.
"Did you bring the pendant?" He asked.
She reached into her shirt.
"I wear it all the time now. So?"
"I think you can save Poppy. No one else can. Only you."
The sickbay door was thrown open. He directed her to the bedside. The glowing pendant was placed on the patients chest. The seconds passed. The last amber lights were flickering to red
"Nothing's happening. I must be doing something wrong."
Think. How had she been when she'd returned him to the land of the living? It had to be that. Please let it be that. If it wasn't he was about to be cruel.
"She's dying. You're the only one that can save her and you're useless. This is all your fault."
"Don't." Pip's eyes began to redden. "It's not fair."
"It's not fair that you killed her with your incompetence." He snarled. The others were appalled. Their shocked, hostile stares burned his skin. Sade was about to hit him. He could tell. the only thing stopping her was where they were.
"I'm thirsty." The weak voice croaked. "Norbert? Why aren't you in your hut?"
The room turned from anger to joy. There was still a bit of resentment towards him.
"I apologize unreservedly Pip. I am the worst piece of shit in this shitty city. You are and always have been the most competent person I know."
"It's alright." She sniffed, taking two steps and kicking him in the shin. "You did what you had to." The young woman threw her arms around him. With another kick thrown in. "You shit. I hate you. I love you to. Thank you. From all of us."
The guarded looks were replaced by grins. Morag coughed pointedly.
"Now everyone, if you'll all leave. My patient needs rest. Norbert you can stay. The rest of you can piss off."

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83