Ballerina Wearing a Feather Tutu

in #story6 years ago

20180311_123450.jpg

divider-clip-art-borders-751130.jpg

Yesterday I made a nice rice dish and decided to make yellow rice and I colored the rice with turmaric wich is an very easy and natural way to color rice and even patatoes. Turmeric doesn't have a very strong taste if any at all. I always cook a lot of rice because my dogs and chickens also like rice.

My chickens always get white rice. I always had chickens and they are so friendly and funny sometimes and I like to give them healthy organic food but they can be very picky. I 'teached' one of them to jump from the floor up on my hand. The first time she did this was by coincidence she was just too greedy to get to the bowl in my hand. While she jumped up I reached for her and caught her so she landen on my other hand. She was a kind of surprised and unstable at first flapping her wings but I repeated the routine every day and now she jumps to my hand like a full educated flying ballerina wearing a feather tutu performing in Swan Lake.

It's just how it works with all animals and you can 'impress' your friends if you know exactly how your animals are going to act in a certain situation.
For example when I took my horses to the field the first thing they did after I took off their halters was going to the water, they just liked the water outside in the pond a lot more than tap water in the barn.
If a friend was with me I took off the halters and said to the horses, " Okay guys listen to me, go to the water first for a drink than come back to me." The moment I got the halters I said, "GO"!! And they ran off to the water getting all silly with happy jumps and all.
Because it was the normal routine every day they went to the water for a sip and then came back almost to the gate where I was to graze.

Any audience that was watching was amazed on how the horses listened to me and did exactly as I asked them to do only the audience didn't know the daily routine and I did. Any change in the routine could cause some confusion and alertness from the horses sometimes but the horses adjusted in a split second when they got a sense of the new situation and knew it was safe. Being safe is a horse road to trust. Little foals always step on your heels and toes when you teach them to walk next to you. Why? Because the foal knows that where you walk it must be safe so it want to literally walk in your footsteps. You have to wear good shoes to avoid broken toes and not ever punish the foal for wanting to be in your footsteps where it is safe because if you do your foal can grow up to be an insecure nervous pain in the butt. Maybe you can compare this with punishing a child for holding your hand.

divider-clip-art-borders-751130.jpg

Now back to the chickens.
Chickens also get confused by change of routine or change in their environment. Change a green bowl to a red bowl and there is a reason for "discussion" among the girls. As a joke I put a painted golden egg under one of my neighbors chicken as a surprise but the chickens were not amused at all.
It was like an alien had landed and the girls gathered together and watched from a distance like they were waiting for the golden egg to explode.

divider-clip-art-borders-751130.jpg

20180506_151449.jpg

Try a different color of rice and the girls are not amused eighter. Must be a girl thing? There is hardly any difference in taste and the form is the same as white rice it's only the color. And me as a concerned chicken mom cooked some new rice without the turmeric and we became friends for life again and friends will be amused when I ask my chickn to dump on my hand and she actually does. Like you can see on the body and muscles of a horse which leg it will move first so you can see on the body of a chicken when it will jump or flap her wings. Lesson for today: Chickens hate yellow rice.

divider-clip-art-borders-751130.jpg

Sort:  

Your chicks are beautiful. How sweet of you to spoil them with healthy food ❤ one day soon them ladies will give back for all your hard work.. 💛💛🐔

Yes they will but even not they are still cute.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80