A Question of Vitality

in #story6 years ago

A Question of Vitality


Photo Source

Are you alive?

Mm? Yeah, I’m asking you. Yes, I can see you. And you can see me. Don’t bother looking around or screaming or anything. There’s nobody else here. It’s just us.

Oh, come on. Don’t be like that. Why would I hurt you? I just asked you a question, that’s all. Because I need to know. Are you alive? Or are you like me?

So, what are you doing here? How did you even find this place? Because, trust me, I’ve been looking for a way out for a long time, and if you found a way in, there’s gotta be a way out, right? Oh. You don’t remember. That’s great. That’s really helpful. Thanks. Unlike you, I remember everything that happened to me. No, I don’t want a cookie. Wait, why do you have cookies? How do you have cookies?

Me? Oh, I was murdered. By my lover’s husband, no less. Real nasty piece of business, that was. He caught us in flagrante delicto, killed us both, only I’m the one that got stuck here. Lucky me. Hm? Oh, it means he caught us in the act, going at like animals. Best night of my life, really, until I woke up dead. That kind of “killed the mood”, so to speak, haha. Well, it’s funny to me!

Okay, okay, calm down. I’m sorry for yelling. Because I care, alright? You’re the only person I’ve seen in..uh..by the way, what year is it? It’s WHEN?! Are you sure? Oh, man! I’ve been dead longer than I thought.

No. No, I’m fine, it’s just..I never really expected things to happen this way, you know? I mean, I was in love. Tee was the best thing that ever happened to me. You ever meet someone, and they are just everything you’ve ever dreamed about? That was Tee. I fell in love. We were making plans, you know, to leave, together, and start over somewhere.

No, I’m not crying. I’m not. I’m physically incapable of crying. I’m dead; my tear ducts don’t work anymore. Yeah, it hurts, but not like hurts. It’s kind of like the memory of hurt. Does that make sense?

Yeah, stick around. Maybe we can - hey. Hey! Who are you guys? Where are you taking her? Well, what about me, huh? What about me?! Come back! Come..don’t..

What about you? Are you alive?

27 February 2018

Recent Posts

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Visit me on

Sort:  

Definitely alive... but most likely dreaming. 😁

I'm most definitely alive, and glad to be. Nice writing @sumayyahsaidso

I am alive I think, sometimes it don’t feel like it tho. Really enjoyed reading, it had me wrapped in it.

Happy you're on this plane of existence. And thanks for reading. I'm so glad you enjoyed it.

Still breathing. Nice writing!

That's wonderful. Thanks for reading.

Alive, but mega tired, that's for sure. I have cookies though!

Mmm..cookies. I could use some cookies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10