Stories living in my library

in #story6 years ago (edited)

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book! -- When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.”

― Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

I could not agree more as there is nothing I have veer wanted more in my life than a wonderful library covered with hundreds of books, all my favorite authors, all my favorite stories, all those lives I read about, all in one place, right in my home.

Over time I managed to collect some of these books, and I cannot help but boast this tiny collection I have. In it are books not only by famous authors but also some by not so famous authors which deserve more credit than they got. Anyways @sjennon suggested that it will be interesting if instead of giving the names of the books I write as to how these books made me feel and leave you all to guess what they could be.


Source:

Let's take a walk through my library aka mind palace shall we?

a. This was the first novel I ever read and it happens to be my favorite as well. There is no other book or shall I say a series of books I have held more dear to me. It came at a point in my life when everything else was full of chaos, I was very young and I didn't know how to cope. Then one day I read this book about this boy who grew up in harsh conditions but then one day finds who he was and what he was meant to be all his life. He embarks on this wonderful journey with his two best friends. It taught me about loyalty and friendship. Suddenly being weird did not feel so bad, in fact I took pride in being the weird kid in the class. I learnt that a little bit of courage will take you a long way and well quoting the best headmaster of all time "Happiness can be found even in the darkest times if one only remembers to turn on the light".

b. This series of novels showed me the true meaning of love. I think it is after reading these books that I shed all my unreal teenage notions of love. I understood now that love is sacrifice. Love is not just nights and days filled with romance and laughter but it is that thing that makes your relationship prevail in the worst of your times. It is literally an elixir of life. Love turns you into the best version of yourself, it liberates you! I never really knew how far deep love can run into our veins. It is not just a chemical reaction in our brains. It also taught me that sometimes loving someone isn't enough and that sometimes to let go is the best thing you'll ever do. I learnt and here I am quoting the writer of these love stories "Love is like the wind, you can’t see it but you can feel it."

c. This book was the one that made me fall in love with chemistry. I remember falling asleep with it on my chest every night. It is heavy as hell but it made me understand concepts which seemed well out of my grasp. In my worst days of pursuing chemistry this book was my only hope. The author of this book is Paula Bruice.

d. This is more of a do it yourself book. You yourself are the author of this book. I got it as a gift from @sjennon and I gotta say it is one of the best gifts I have gotten so far. The book implores you to ask yourself questions in an effort to get in touch with the real you. It made me think as to who I really am and what do I really want to become in future. After a really long time I thought about things that I love doing, my passion, my dreams that I buried long ago thinking it is too late for me to pursue them. I learned that it's never too late.

e. This other old classic that shows a divided future world, a consequence of our wasteful lifestyle and well, time-travel.

f. Another old classic that I got for Christmas. It was after I read this book that I felt that this generations' "Being an asshole is cool and the only way to get by this harsh society" attitude is actually really stupid and ultimately leads to demise. Be good to others, be good to your family, be good to your superiors as well as your subordinates, be kind to the less fortunate and try to do at least one good deed each day. It won't kill you or make you less cool. Being unkind and mean builds a chain of iron around you, like the ones which prisoners have. You start to feel the horrible weight of it and the suffocation it brings over time. So, I suggest you clear your act and get your shit together.


Source:

g. Last but not the least, a brand new addition of this particular book. It finally gave me the final push I needed to abandon all my fears and go after what I love and care for most in life. I feel like as kids we have a much clearer idea of what we truly need in life. Then we grow up and it all sort of sounds childish and unrealistic but believe me it isn't. Life really can be that simple if yo want it to be. Just do not let that child inside you die. Mentally pull out the goals or life list you had as a child and keep it in mind as you go ahead in life!

I wish you a grand library, a million interesting stories and shit tons of love.


Image by Pexels
Written by @things, 2018. All rights reserved.


Sort:  

At this point in time it is easier than ever to fill a home library with great books. Twenty years ago, publishers were over printing books. That means that garage sales, thrift stores and flea markets are overflowing with used books and great deals abound.

Today more people are buying ebooks, meaning fewer books are printed. The excess inventory of used books on the market will slowly fade and our wonderful collections of books will start increasing in value again.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

If I were to enlist books from my library, it would take probably a month of daily posts :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87