The Revenge - (Short Story)

in #story6 years ago (edited)

revenge-2256054_960_720.jpg

A Killer was counting his last days in the jail. His name was John. He was sentenced to death which is the last thing he remembers now. All his applications went in vain against his charges. The doctor named Joseph used to come twice or thrice a week to see the prisoners. Doctor Joseph noticed one thing that as the days went on John's desire to live increased as well. Usually, whenever a prisoner knows that he is going to die they become depressed but John's case was little different. This was the first time when doctor Joseph saw a person like that. Despite being a prisoner John's behaviour amazed doctor Joseph.

One day when it was raining heavily doctor came to see John. Usually, the doctor always come see the prisoners in the daytime but that day he was little busy. After examining all the prisoners who were sentenced to death he came to John. It was raining outside so the doctor decided to spend some time with John. The doctor came near John and started the conversation.

Doctor Joseph: Hey...John. How are you? I am doctor Joseph.

John: You know my name?

Doctor Joseph: Yes I know...How are you, John?

John: Doctor I am fine. How about you?

Doctor Joseph: John... Whenever I see you I always wonder one thing that, "How a person who will be hanged after few days can stay so positive?" I didn't want to hurt you but...

John: It's Ok Doctor...At least you came to me and talked to me that's enough. Whoever came near us thinks that we are a monster and we just kill peoples. And you asked me why I stay positive...But If I even say you then you will not believe me.

Doctor Joseph: John you can trust me. I don't know why but your behaviour attracts me. Tell me what is the reason.

John: Ok then listen...

It is not that I am here for killing someone. I am here for a crime which I didn't commit. I used to live with my wife and children. We were very happy in our own little world. But happiness doesn't last long. One day a storm came and destroyed our lives.

Oh...Pardon me, doctor. You asked me something else and I am telling you my story.

Doctor Joseph: It's Ok...Please continue I want to know what actually happened.

John: Ok let me start from the beginning.

I lived in California with my wife and my daughter. I had a small shop. We were not very rich but at least we managed to live an average life there. I had 2 friends Monty and Charles, they were not just my friends they were like my brothers. In every festival, we used to unite and party till late night. We were very close to each other. There were no secrets between us.

One day Charles came to me to tell a good news. He was extremely happy. He was so happy that his words were not coming outside. I told him to sit down and calm down. But the smile on his face didn;t fade away even for a second.


I asked him, "What happened, brother? Why are you smiling? What's the news?"

"I won a lottery dude. I won $100000 in a lottery," Charles replied.

"Wow... that's really a good news. You must give us a party", I replied. I was very happy after hearing the news. $100000 was a very big amount for us. And as my friend won it I was very happy for him.

"It's not just mine brother. It's yours too. Monty, You and I will share it equally" Charles said.

"No.No... You won it. It's yours. Don't share it", I replied.

"Ok. That means you don't consider me as your brother. Ok then don't talk to me ever", Charles replied in a sad tone.

I didn't want to take the money but as Charles started to emotionally blackmail me I agreed. I told him that I will take the money whenever I will need them and Charles agreed. Then suddenly Monty came from somewhere. He was breathing heavily.

Monty came and started to talk with Charles about the winning prize. Monty was not behaving the same way as earlier. He wasn't looking happy for Charles. Monty didn't know that Charles was going to share the money equally between us. Charles once tried to talk about that but Monty was in a rush. He was wearing a fake smile but from inside he was burning.


Everything was going fine. In Halloween party, I went to Charles home but he was not there. His wife said he went outside for shopping. So I called Charles but he was not receiving. I called him many times but he was not answering my calls so I thought he may be busy and I came back.

After an hour Monty called me.

"Hello, brother...I am in a trouble plz help me", Monty said.

I asked him where he is and went there as soon as possible. When I reached there my heart probably stopped working.

Charles was covered in blood and Monty was sitting right behind him holding lots of cash. I was very terrified. I somehow asked what happened to him and who did this?

Monty replied, "Charles called me here to give me some money but few goons attacked him and tried to take all the money. I tried to save him but I failed. Now stay here for some time. I am going to call for help and I am taking the money with me. I will take them to the right place."

I trusted Monty so I let him go. I was very shocked that my brain stopped thinking. I didn't feel what's coming next.

After a few minutes, more than 5 police cars came and arrested me. Then I realized that it was a trap and I fell in Monty's trap. I didn't expect that from Monty. I thought he also consider me as his brother but no I was wrong. I was sent to the court and then sentenced to death. I told them many times that I am innocent but they never listened to me. When my wife knew about my death sentence she committed suicide with my 9 years daughter.

Monty destroyed my family. I am alone in this world now. People think that I killed my friend who was a like a brother to me. And the real culprit is enjoying his life. And I am counting my last days.

This is the reason why always stay positive because I don't expect anything now. I don't have any desire now except one. Which I can't fulfil.

Doctor Joseph: Oh... That's a sad story. I am feeling bad about whatever happened to you. I wish I could have made things correct but It's out of my reach. But if you don't mind you can tell me what you desire. Maybe I can fulfil it.

John: No doctor. Nobody can fulfil it. Thanks for talking with me.

Doctor Joseph: Take care...John.

Until then the rain had also stopped. The doctor went to his home.

After few days John was hanged. The doctor was there. He felt sorry but he couldn't do anything. After few seconds of hanging John's soul left his body. He was declared dead. But just to follow the rules the doctor did some test to verify whether he was dead or not. And after some test declared John dead. When the doctor was performing the test he was feeling weird like John was there in that room. Doctor Joseph was feeling like John want to tell him something but when we turned his head he saw nothing.

Doctor Joseph was very sad that day because he believed whatever John said. Doctor Joseph went to his home and didn't eat anything that day. He just went to his room, changed his clothes and went to sleep. That night Joseph saw John in his dream.


In Doctor Joseph's dream, John said, "Doctor you asked me what I desire. After receiving death sentence I desired only one thing which was to kill Monty for whatever he did with me. And I fulfilled my desire I killed him. I know I shouldn't have done it but I couldn't stop myself. Sorry Doctor.


Suddenly the alarm started to ring. Doctor Joseph woke up and started to think whatever happened last night. At first, he thought it was just a dream, but he couldn't ignore whatever he saw last night so he started to investigate. After some time he got Monty's address and he went to his home. And when he reached Monty's home he got a shock. Monty was found dead in his room. He didn't have a single scratch on his body.

Image Source

Sort:  

nyc story and the picture is really effective

Congratulations @trueface, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2159 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2984.58. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00