EARTA - Sucker For A Smile [Short Story]

in #story6 years ago

pexels-photo-311004.jpeg
They always look so happy when it's all done and over. A lifeless body, suspended in a gel of bio chem mumbo jumbo electrodes; some real sci-fi dystopic future type shit, from your worst nightmare, my worst nightmare...but they always smile.

That shit makes my skin crawl. When they smile. That's the cringe, if you ask me. Not the future.

But, that's me. Now, most people --average folk, they think different. They see that smile and they see a new new. That smile is what get's people hooked to the idea of it. Hope. They take a look in the mirror and see the state that they're in, and then they look at the face of one of those --things when it "wakes up"...and then it smiles. It smiles and they can't believe it. It's a miracle, a second chance...

If you ask me, man has never been so naive, and so thirsty. They should be here. They all should, but they don't know any better. That's man.

You know -- I feel as if I'm running out of people to talk to about this -- but, with you... I know you've got what I'm feeling. It gives you that twitch too. What's going on around here, I mean. You've got enough of it. Seen enough, you know. With all the folks in and out of here, talking.

Boy you sure are a charmer, but I know I'm not your first. You've done this before. Shit, you've got a whole jar of cherries back there. For Christ sake, we're in a fucking bar aint we? This is supposed to be the heart of civilization. The fucking watering hole. The-- fucking, watering hole. Shit...

Now, tell me you haven't seen a decline in customers. A lack a visitors to your watering hole, since people have been getting all jacked up in that " new " cloud shit. That's what they call it, you know? You know. The new cloud network. Ain't shit...

Look, I know what's been happening around here. Brother, look around now. It's 9:40 on Thursday, you've got the cheapest panhandle shit booze in town, with a college campus all of a mile away and just look...

It's just us... it's just us. We're the last of dying breed. You and me. The last of a dying breed.

END PART 1 - EARTA : The Last of A Dying Breed(Sucker For A Smile)

Thanks for reading part 1 of my new creative writing series. This is part of an ongoing story that I will be developing for your enjoyment, here on Steemit.

I also, hope that this will help spark more creativity in me. Win win situation.


Thanks for tuning in

Sort:  

Hello @ukuleletutorials, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22