The PLOUF Saga [Part 2 of 17]: For 1 Euro, my good lady, by @vincentleroy (translation from French)

in #story6 years ago (edited)

This is an authorized translation in English of a post in French by Vincent Le Roy (@vincentleroy): La Saga PLOUF [Episode 2] : pour un euro ma brave dame

Remember that the person who speaks here is NOT me, Vincent Celier (@vcelier), but Vincent Le Roy (@vincentleroy), a French guy.


Note: "Plouf", in French, is a onomatopoeia that phonetically imitates the sound of an object that falls in the water. The equivalent in English would be "Plop" or "Splash". That is a strange name for a boat!


The PLOUF Saga - Part 2 of 17 - For 1 Euro, my good lady

Cheerful like a pinch, I go to the captaincy. As soon as he arrives, Yann asks me what I think. Bah ... I'm thrilled! How much it costs? The harbor master bursts out laughing and continues the suspense. "It should be in your budget," he says ironically. Of course, I want to know more. He is jubilant and even more so because he already knows that he has succeeded to save Plouf. And like myself, you will soon understand why. Then he finally spill the beans: "1 euro and only if the guy cashes your check. All the contracts are ready, you just have to write your address, sign them and make a check for one euro. The rest, I will take care of it."

I do as I'm told without flinching. The only missing part is the signature of the guy who gives it to me, because let's be clear, he is giving me this boat. If it would not be Yann who were engineering this deal, I will have backed down wondering where is the scam. But I know he knows what he's doing. I do not understand everything but I trust him.

Yann explains: "This is Julien's first boat. Seven years ago, it was completely redone and Julien used it for a year. But, he found a bigger one and so we spun it to a youngster. The problem is that the guy never sailed with it. I even think that the sails are inside the boat. The guy payed the port fees for 5 years for nothing so we thought that if we found somebody passionate, we would call him to get it back. And he said yes and a big yes! So, we just have to wait for him to send us the owner's papers and the padlock keys and she's yours! "



Sailing, that does not worry me. I have all my degrees of sailing since my youngest age and for the last three years, with my son we took courses in catamaran sailing, at the competition level. On that side, no worries; but maneuvering a mono-hull in a port, be it as small as Plouf, I admit that it stresses me a little... I'm going to have to apply myself! By the way, there is an engine?

And no, Plouf is without engine, but again Yann will find a solution. He has a small 6 HP Yamaha engine at the workshop of the port. When it will be clean, he will come to put it up because Plouf has a particularity: the engine is in a well (that is to say in the cockpit). Yann adds that Julien will tell me the story of Plouf and send me some pictures ... I cannot wait!

Like a kid, I walk outside and I send a message to the children: we have a boat and his name is "Plouf". The answers are coming immediately! "Awesome!!!! how is she? " Uh ... There, I realize that the photos I have are moderately glamorous. So I bet on the surprise effect: "You'll see it this weekend when you come! ".



-- Vincent Le Roy (@vincentleroy)

Continue to Part 3


Part 1

All photos are property of @vincentleroy and under copyright


Sort:  

Beautiful .. Good for you
Great post well done
I liked it .. Thanks for sharing your experience with us

Thanks for this

@vcelier,,, you have succeeded in a high-risk shipping world, the cruise is not something easy to run, must be with courage and expertise, thanks for sharing, regards from @sailor01.

wao, such a good and informative story @vcelier, i was just getting settled into the story when i saw "to be continued"

Can't wait to have the concluding part of this story. Please let's have it quickly.

@vecier your stories are really nice. I'm just eager for the remaining ones. You just stopped when I have started enjoying the story.

I think I've just crammed the name of the boat " plouf".

P.S: Merci beaucoup @vecier ce pour moi une joie de te voir traduire en francais. He said bien que ce need password one tache facile mais vous l'avez just wait pour nous, vos followers.

My regards.

@jona12

Photos are moderately glamorous but your experience with Sailing ain't any less..Looks like something related water interests you.. been seeing your stories with rescue and now sailing

Plouf- really a strange name. But the story surrounding it is absolutely captivating.

The guy never sailed with it

Can we therefore say that it was a "Virgin" boat? lols😁.
Plouf looks like the kind of boat I will use for my honeymoon next month.

God bless you for interpreting this to English @vcelier

Nice pictures and beautiful images.

awesome boat story photo post thank for shearing

Photographed well....at the same time..the story in the sailing boat makes the photographs more attractive and amazing....intrests in both the things relates the two things perfectly.

Great Pic.
very nice post..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05