The Story of My Life so Far - Part 60 - July 1979: Arriving in Halifax, Nova Scotia

in #story6 years ago (edited)

This is the story of my life so far: 68 years and counting.
Prequel: A Brief History of my Family in France



The story starts here
Previous episode: Part 59

July 1979: Arriving in Halifax, Nova Scotia

After the Georges Leygues, my next post was in Halifax, Nova Scotia, as a NATO exchange officer with the Canadian Navy.

I flew to Halifax in the summer 1979, and Geneviève came a week later.

I was greeted in Halifax by my predecessor, a French Navy lieutenant-commander whose name I do not remember.

He had found us some dwellings: the house of a Belgian woman, friend of him, who was on vacation for a month when we arrived. We needed to find an apartment to rent before she came back from her vacation.

My predecessor also helped me open a checking account at the his bank, the Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce (that now does business as CIBC), one of the Big Five banks of Canada.
With his help and his guarantee, I was able to get approved for a loan so that I could buy a car.

Buying a new car

I was persuaded by my predecessor that I should buy a big American car, like his. In retrospect, that was a mistake, even if the price of gas was quite low at this time.

We visited several car dealers, and I decided to buy a brand new Plymouth Volaré.


1979-Plymouth-Volare.jpg
1979 Plymouth Volaré
source

In my opinion, it was a gas-guzzler and it was badly built. However, I kept this car for the 3 years that I stayed in Halifax.

How I discover broccoli

In France, I had read a comics titled "Le Concombre Masqué" (The Masked Cucumber), where the characters are talking vegetables.

In the background of some of the images, I had several times see one vegetable asking another "Vous aimez les brocolis?" (Do you like broccoli). As I did not know what were these "broccolis", I thought that it was something that the comics author had invented and that there was no such thing as broccoli.

One day in Halifax, before the arrival of Geneviève, I went to the local supermarket and, to my surprise, I discovered that they were selling broccolis!


broccoli.jpg
Broccoli at the supermarket
source

It was a big shock for me, and I realized that I should not have decided that broccoli did not exist, before doing some research. That is a lesson that I have since used for the rest of my life.


A week after I arrived in Halifax, I greeted Geneviève at the airport with my brand new car.

We immediately started to look for an apartment to rent.

Continue to Part 61


If you like this story, please consider to follow me

Summary
Part 1 - Part 2 - Part 3 - Part 4 - Part 5 - Part 6 - Part 7 - Part 8
Part 9 - Part 10 - Part 11 - Part 12 - Part 13 - Part 14 - Part 15 - Part 16
Part 17 - Part 18 - Part 19 - Part 20 - Part 21 - Part 22 - Part 23 - Part 24
Part 25 - Part 26 - Part 27 - Part 28 - Part 29 - Part 30 - Part 31 - Part 32
Part 33 - Part 34 - Part 35 - Part 36 - Part 37 - Part 38 - Part 39 - Part 40
Part 41 - Part 42 - Part 43 - Part 44 - Part 45 - Part 46 - Part 47 - Part 48
Part 49 - Part 50 - Part 51 - Part 52 - Part 53 - Part 54 - Part 55 - Part 56
Part 57 - Part 58 - Part 59



Sort:  

Did they not have broccoli in France? I thought broccoli was a worldwide thing that everyone ate lol

I had never seen broccoli in France before 1979.

This does not mean that it was not sold in France then, but simply that I had never seen it.

Interesting. It's so common now, I even lived in Costa Rica and every market had it lol Now I miss all the fruits from Costa Rica!

What a great idea. It must be a lot of fun chronicling your life's history this way. I'm guessing you are delving into memories both good and bad along the way. People here should feel honoured and lucky to get to tag along in your stroll down memory lane. Just curious, where in Halifax did you live? I am a Haligonian myself. Born and raised in Halifax and lived there until I was 25. I live in Ottawa now. I grew up in the Herring Cove area of the city. I never knew how much I would miss it until I was gone.

It must be a lot of fun chronicling your life's history this way.

Yes and no. I am not a writer and writing my own story is very difficult for me. Often in my life, I have started something, then decided to not continue, for whatever reason. But this time, I have decided to go to the end with the story of my life.

Just curious, where in Halifax did you live?

You will have to read the next parts to learn that.

Well, I'm glad that you decided to continue. I've enjoyed what I've read so far. I've always wanted to write but didn't have the confidence to do it. Being new to Steemit I am finding that it is making me want to put my self out there and take more chances. I almost submitted my idea for the @adsactly short story with 3 different authors you are organizing but got a little gun shy. I think I will be ready for the next one I hope.
I'll keep reading to find out where in Halifax. Well played.

Just shows that there is indeed things to be learned from comics! I can't remember any broccolis in my childhood. I thin they showed up in Denmark in the eighties... Wonder where they actually come from? I better look it up.

They are coming from the south of Italy.

Yes, the result of selective breeding initiated already 6th century BC. I also found out that they first were available for purchase in Denmark in 1957 and only frozen. The fresh vegetable was, as I guessed, first sold in the 1980s.



Alors maintenant tu es végétarien j'imagine que tu t'es fait des amis avec du brocoli ou non?

So now you're vegetarian I imagine that you've made friends with broccoli or no?

Sacré voiture tout de même! Rétrospectivement ahahaha

Wondeful story i like it and i like your style in wrting very motiving
Have a nive time

It is so good to remember the past days of our lives. It helps in improving our mistake. I got some lessons from the story of your life.

Great , already waiting for next post :)

Your life story is a move for us out there. history is very valuable to live a life. @vcelier Thanks for sharing. This is motivation

Wow... You're a retired naval commander!!
Could you please talk about your experiences at sea??
Or you've already talked about that?
I'll read through the previous episodes and see.
Such a story from you would make a Tom Clancy like read.

Such a story from you would make a Tom Clancy like read.

Not quite: there is no explosion or gunshots!

Haha...oh, alright.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85