The VALMY File: Chapter 15, by @vincentleroy (translated from French)

in #story6 years ago (edited)

This is an authorized translation in English of a post in French by Vincent Le Roy (@vincentleroy): LE DOSSIER VALMY (Thriller) : Chapitre 15

As my primary language is not English, there are probably some mistakes in my translation.

Remember that the person who speaks here is NOT me, Vincent Celier (@vcelier), but Vincent Le Roy (@vincentleroy), a French guy.



the_valmy_file_2000.png

Chapter 15: Feet and fist bound

The next day, all the associates met at my home in Paris. Patrick is with us. The financial situation allows us to hold until August 31, after which, it will be necessary to seize the Commercial Court and make a declaration of cessation of payments ... in short file for bankrupcy. Finding a solution in such a short time is simply not possible and everyone knows it. There is the new project that could work but it will not do everything, and also it will take time. Moreover, this track will close too. I sent the results to their technical departments, the video too. And the answer we receive in return is disconcerting:

«Vincent,
Allow us to share our embarrassment. Indeed, Mathieu and Alex came to visit us and informed us that you were no longer part of the company and it is Mathieu alone who will follow this contract as soon as the company is back in business.
You will understand that under such conditions, and despite the excellent results you have given us, we prefer to wait for the situation to be clarified».

It is still amazing to read that I am no longer part of my own company. Our opponents do not lack any nerve or dishonesty. But concretely, our last exit has just closed and as they say, if you have only one door, God shut it. That's what he just did.

With a heavy heart, I prepare the holidays near the sea. I went to the FNAC to check cameras. I do not know anything about it, really nothing. I redid the accounts of the company, I have a budget of 1000 Euros to spend. I bought a D80 to photograph the children.

Children! Let's talk about children. It's all well and good to want to get up and keep up with a gang of thugs, but you have to be honest, I'm just ignoring my children. Years later, they will say it with humor: Dad, at that time, we never saw him.

And for good reason, raised at five every morning. Back around 9:30OM when I'm not traveling ... Saturday and Sunday included, it goes without saying. These holidays fall at the right time. Anyway, for the company, there is nothing more to do, it's dead. We just have to wait for the bankruptcy and see if the criminal procedure allows us to find our marbles.

If Amiens stumbles, it's not a big deal. What is needed is to preserve the parent company in Luxembourg because it is not only it that will recover the damages but in addition this company does not generate fees. As an individual, as long as VALMY Luxembourg holds, the banks will not bother me too much.

I only need to enjoy the children and Julie. Without having a really light heart, but finally appeased by this end, we descend to Cap Ferret. And I must say that the first eight days allow me to decompress completely. I find the camera interesting and I shoot a lot. Papa barbecue has returned to the front of the stage and the children savor this incredible moment where I spend the afternoon to go and look for them in the waves of the Pointe.

Patrick also took a vacation. It was planned from the start. He is in Guadeloupe for about twenty days with his wife. For Patrick, it will be far from children, but we must recognize that his are older and he devotes time with them during the year.

There are 4 days of vacation left and my son is collecting pine cones to light the barbecue when the phone rings. Masked number. I take it. At the other end, Patrick, distant sound. I understand that he is still in Guadeloupe and that it is not to tell me his holidays that he took his phone.

Indeed, he is in panic. A bailiff came to his home this morning in Rouen and reportedly laid a thick file. He explains that he does not have things in hand but that his son has read roughly. It comes from Quebec. We have to pay back the million dollars.

What is this new joke? There is nothing worse than knowing that a missile is in nature and not knowing more. I thought to turn the page. It catches me... And there, in the middle of the landscapes of Arcachon, I can not do anything: no Internet connections and no fax ... Jeannot also receives a small package the next day. A priori identical to that of Patrick. Jeannot knows nothing in law. In other words, he will not tell me more. He too read it to me. We have to pay back a million and we have to come to Montreal in mid-October.

The days become long and the desire to leave for an operational command post delays me ... Saturday, we take the road to Paris. I will ride all night. I had to receive the same exocet, except that the bailiffs have found closed door and for good reason: it's the holidays. I also think that the impact is doubly achieved for our opponents. If holidays were the last moment of happiness of this year, they destroyed them.

Denis is in the same boat. We are all in fact. Personally. In a jurisdiction that is 3500 kilometers from us, in a country where our good Roman law is not the system in place. So we have no landmarks and we do not know any lawyers ...

To take a good one, all conditions are met and our opponents know it. All this is finely played. In such a mess, Denis call will do me good. He knows a French lawyer who worked in Quebec. He will call him and keep me informed. However, we share a common concern: it will cost us an arm and a leg.

The return to Paris allows me to retrieve the famous documents and to get acquainted with it. The package is in two parts. The first is a text and the other a set of pieces. The text is edifying. He falsely recalls how I approached Alex and Mathieu to get them a million dollars with technology that does not exist. Incidentally, it is explained that I am a little thug, who has multiple companies in tax havens to better divert money. The pieces are obviously dependent, essentially a collection of testimonies. There are of course those of the chemists and of Kojak, all quick to testify to the audacity of the young thug.

Basically, this bogus folder does not worry me but how to defend against it? Denis calls me back. He found the guy. He's an independent lawyer, what's called a small firm. His contact gave him the following precision: do you see Danny DeVito in the War of the Roses? He's the same and more biting.

Let's go for this lawyer. For the moment, it is necessary to deal with the filing of bankruptcy in France. Unless...

Continue to Chapter 16

Introduction
Chapter 1 - Chapter 2 - Chapter 3 - Chapter 4 - Chapter 5 - Chapter 6
Chapter 7 - Chapter 8 - Chapter 9 - Chapter 10 - Chapter 11 - Chapter 12
Chapter 13 - Chapter 14


Sort:  

Though times don't last tough people do

I like this novel. I am glad you find time translating this to English.

Sorry you are passing through all these unpleasant experience right now. I believe time heals things, you will surely get over it. I can't see you losing that company of yours, it never going to happen, you will surely recover it, just believe, watchful and be prayerful. You have done the best by visiting home where you kids were, I believe that will be a bit relieved for you. Seeing them smile will also be of help, taken care of your parent company too is another issue...... Focus and believe the matter will surely be resolved.

👏👏👏.... Keep it coming friend, you're awesome and so on point; much love @joyart

@vcelier your interpretations are always classic. It keeps the flame and the urge to read more, i must commend your hard work. I know its not easy translating this to English, but against all odds you have given me a perfect interpretations of this book, as such i must let you know that i am always more than glad and ready to read your translations.

More grease to your elbow.

Nice novel really interesting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39