C - A Short Story - Part 1 of 4

in #story6 years ago (edited)

bigstock-Pink-Heart-Shape-Marshmallow-F-161040647.jpg

Sun rays pierce through the window onto my eyelids. I see a flash of red before my eyes open. As I move from dreamland to the real world, I try to remember what I just visited asleep. I try hard to remember.
Nothing.
I pick up my glass of water next to my bed and take a sip.
It’s a Monday. Not any other day but a Monday.
Work.

The weekend flashed by within seconds it seems. All I remember is watching the Matrix and it’s a Monday. I fall back onto the bed because I cannot seem to wake up. I don’t want to go to work. I don’t want to go back into the real world. All this weekend, I’ve been repeating the same Matrix movie over and over again. I don’t want to wake up.

Trinity. Where are you?

I’m already late. The staff meeting is in 10 minutes and I’m still stuck in the traffic.

Waze states I will reach the office in another 30 minutes.

DANGIT! I usually reach the office by this time. But there had to be some a lorry letting loose cages full of live chickens.

Feathers are still floating in the air. The lorry driver gets out from his driver’s seat and looks too confused to do anything about the situation. What in the world is happening today?

There was a person speaking in the meeting room until I opened it. All eyes were fixated on me in a room of 20 people. They all know me. I will have to think of an excuse fast. This time, I will go with my brother being charged under DUI and I had to help him out. Thing is, I don’t have a brother.

“Fighting monsters again on your TV?” My supervisor asked.

“No sir. My brother just got caught for drunk driving.” I said.

“You’re such a good brother. Looking out for him.”

I freeze and then give a faint smile. “Blood brothers are always important, you know.”

I open up my Instagram app. There she is. C. The girl I have always seen in my dreams. She is the only girl I have seen in my dreams more than 10 times in my life. The others don’t even come close. I do not remember anything other than being jealous of the guys that she gets close to except me, even in a dream. I turn on the TV and there she is again.
I open up Facebook. C just said, “I love you.”

Who does she love?

Trinity. Where are you? For Heaven’s sake, are you camouflaged as C ?

“We like to marry two cultures that bring out the best of both worlds,” Miss Mary Lee says in class I attend in the evening after work. I’m trying to get a promotion by learning more about my field of interest in my journalism job when all she ever talks about is marry someone or something. I hear the word “marry” every time I come for lectures. Is she that narcissistic till the point where she loves using her own name for teaching the class?

"Jake. You have to stop thinking about marrying C."

"No! I’ve never thought about marrying her."

"Then why do you keep hearing the word marry exacerbated a thousand times?"

If you ask me the question, I think you know the answer.

The sky grows ever darker as I think about the need to win a Pulitzer Prize to get to her. I am writing this story that I wish to send to my employer, The Star newspaper, and hope that I will be nominated for a Pulitzer. If they say I can’t get a Pulitzer Prize in Malaysia, I’m dead.

Wait!

Then, I’ll just write a book after. This is just practice anyway. I was planning to write a book after winning the Pulitzer. I can go for the Nobel Prize then!

I sit at my computer thinking of the miracle that I will need to get this story noticed. The more I want this to happen, the more I feel I cannot write.

Fear is palpable. Stress levels peak.

I continue to stare at my computer screen and do not feel any sense of inspiration discerning from the skies. I have been sitting in front of the computer for hours, just listening to music over the headphones. I do not know what to write. I do not feel like writing anything.

The problem is that I need to write and get a Pulitzer Prize quality story done FAST!

There is a certain idea lying in my subconscious. It plays with my dreams and moves me towards the one thing that I have sworn not to think about. That is not to think of C ever again.

The idea is simple. That C was meant to be with me. Signs and messages have pointed me towards that.

To dream about anything else is either too difficult or that I am too into the thought that I do not have anyone to be with except her.

The dream must stop. It is an illusion and I have begun the process of purification. By totally forgetting about C, I will be free of all illusions and finally set myself free.

I am on my bed in fetus position. Goals, dreams, ideas, work and stress start to swirl in my head.

The world begins to spin. It’s getting out of control the more I think about my dream. I close my eyes and tighten it.

“You just know how to talk.”

I open my eyes trying to find the source of the voice. No one is in the room but me.

What did I just hear. Where did the voice come from?

“I am here.”

I spin my head towards the direction fo the voice.

“Here.”

I spin again towards the other direction.

No. This can’t be right. How is there anybody talking to me in my room, when not a single soul is in sight. I know there is nobody here because I know that I am the only one physically in the room.

“Oh my God! Leave me alone already!” I shout out loud.

That sends me in a spiral of panic. What did I do!?!?

“You are going to be important,” I overhear two people speaking at a distance. Class is happening and the director of my program showed up to talk to Miss Lee.

Who is going to be important? Why do I keep thinking that what they are talking about has something to do with me?

There is no reason for me to think that I will be important. Look at me! Look! I do not have a single friend in school. I spend my days with myself and only myself. My family members have all disappeared somewhere. They do not wish to even contact me to say hi at all. I call and they don’t even want to pick up the phone. Important? Oh please.

Coffee brewing. Birds chirping. Sounds of sirens wailing.

The more my senses seem to take in all that is going on around me, the more I begin to think there must be more to the world than these sounds make of it. A world with sound waves that can’t be picked up by us humans. One which is here on

Earth but just on a different frequency. Wait. There is not just one, but multiple worlds. Different dimensions.

How hard can it be to not know that we live in a world that has other dimensions to it? We all know that there are demons and angels that live in other worlds.

Why can’t you not believe?

That’s because, you have to hear it to believe it. Hear it and believe it when other people say they can also hear it. But even if you heard from the horses mouth, you still won’t want to believe it.

Believe what? The house of course. The House of Rabbits.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Really nice job!!!! We have writing in common :)

I'm also writing a story released only for Steemit! A suggestion - at the bottom of this page (edit it before the 7 days have passed) and leave a link that says "Continue to part 2"

That way, people don't have to look through your blog :)

Then can just click the link at the bottom of the page.

Also... on part 2 - make a back link that says "Start with Part 1" and links back here.

(i'm not sure if you did that yet... but i'll go see now because I'm going to ready chapter 2!) hehehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81