Comedy Open Mic Round 33 entry: How I pranked my wife at the altar

in #storytime5 years ago

Sit down, find a chair, have I got a story to tell you! It's a tale of bad ideas, flawless execution, and nary a video camera in sight to record the damn thing. Buckle in, it's time to tell the tale of how I pranked @itsapril at the altar.

IMG_9628.jpg

Some of you may know that I'm rather active here on the blockchain. Truthfully, I joined steemit only a few weeks before the biggest event of my life. I got married! And this was the perfect time to do something incredibly, incredibly stupid.

Weddings are a very busy time. You have to coordinate a lot of things with a lot of people in very short order. It's not easy! And with all this coordination, I put the gears in motion to pull a prank during the wedding ceremony. I had some help along the way: My awesome groomsmen!

fair.jpeg

It started out in text messages, initially. Basically, I wanted to have us act like @itsapril's wedding band is missing. We'd open a ton of ring boxes, and then the real one would be hiding in the officiant's pocket. At first, my groomsmen thought I was joking around. And then, as K0LD X put it "oh shit, he's actually serious."

And it was at this moment that they started to worry about procuring a coffin for me. But I pressed on nonetheless! I roped in our officiant, and also talked to my dad! There's a reason for it, I'm getting there. Follow with me. We set our plans up, I did the handoff before the wedding started, and then...

IMG_0027.jpg

The moment of truth! We're going through the start of the ceremony, and things are going as planned until the part where we exchange bands. The officiant starts with me.

IMG_0058.jpg

I take the ring box from my best man, Bob. I open it up, there's no ring! I close it and open it a couple more times, wondering what happened to the ring. I motion to the audience to hang on a second, and then I pull another ring box out of my tuxedo. This box was empty, too! Now, it was at this point that the bridesmaids are freaking out. How could we lose her ring? That shit's expensive! By the time the second box came out, the audience realized that this was a joke (I come from a long line of pranksters), and to enjoy the ride.

IMG_0111.jpg

I turn back to Bob, ask him what he did with the ring. He pulls another ring pouch out of his back pocket, and sure enough, that one's empty as well! I turn to the other groomsmen, K0LDX and Pacmandu, and ask them for help. They pull out pouches of their own. What they didn't tell me? they put coins in their pouches! Which they dropped all over the stage! So the audience hears this loud clang, and they think it's other rings!

My dad was playing cello for my ceremony, so he's up on stage behind the bridesmaids. He yells "I got one for ya!" and tosses a ring box my way. It completely misses me, and lands on the ground down below. So now I jump off the stage, go over to that box, pick it up, and shout, "Hey, this one's empty too!"

IMG_0121.jpg

And the audience is losing it. They think this is hilarious. @itsapril figured out it was a prank within the first 15 seconds, and so she was laughing and seeing how far we'd take this. Finally, the officiant says "Here, I got one you can use."

As he hands it to me, @itsapril asks, "Is that actually our ring?"

"Yes it is," I reply.

After all that was done, I just had to take a bow. How could I not? I had gotten away with pranking my wife at our own wedding. And it was hilarious!

IMG_0138.jpg

One of @itsapril's brothers got engaged shortly after we got married, and when the time came for the groom's dinner, we all went around and said our congratulations to the couple.

"Tom," I said, "after the last wedding ceremony in our family, I'm looking forward to great things at your ceremony."

And the rest of our family laughed. They knew exactly what I was talking about. He couldn't do it, the pussy. He chickened out! I guess that's what I get for marrying into a family that are not pranksters.

But anyways, that's my wedding prank story. I hope you all enjoyed it, upvote and resteem if you think I'm a lucky man. Tell the world about my antics! I'm putting this into the current @comedyopenmic contest, so vote for me!

I'm gonna tag @volderhein and @mardax, and challenge them to take part in Comedy Open Mic. Get to it, boys!

Sort:  

Hi ddrfr33k,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating. (They generally have no sense of humor, as the saying goes, those that can't do, start contests and judge).
This will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied. (That being said, you are free to adopt any position you wish - we can recommend pantsless with beer in hand.)

Judges:

If you have any questions or queries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

I was a little worried at the idea of pranks in your wedding day, but that sounds like you made it quite a day to remember! I think you probably put too much pressure on your brother-in-law. How could he compare without copying?

Pfft, he's fine. He knew I was joking around.

That is awesome. She had to be sweating bullets when the first box was empty. lol

The first box was the shock. The second was the clue that this is a joke. Everything else is "there is a point where we should have stopped and we have clearly crossed it. But let's keep going and see what happens."

I can imagine your wife was thinking at the beginning: If you lost, I'm gonna kill ya! :D Oh boy! You really dare! To do this on your wedding day, you really must be coming from a family of prankers :D who else would have ever thought about it? Most men are completely stressed out during their wedding day and you? You think about jokes :)

Well, it was a good one! And she married you anyway, so she really must love you :)

Congratulations on your curie vote!

Actually, she was ready to pull her engagement ring off and use that as a backup. Then she caught wise by the second box. You can see her laughter in one of the pictures above.

Hi ddrfr33k,

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted Late Saturday/Early Sunday (U.S. time) on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would NOT want us to feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@misterakpan#6646).

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Akpan (@curie curator)
[email protected]

Curie---Author-Showcase---Radial-Gradient-BG.gif

Fantastic! I look forward to the post!

If you want to point people to my dLive and Vimm streams, that would be great.
https://vimm.tv/@ddrfr33k
https://dlive.tv/ddrfr33k

Hey, no fair! Wedding day is the bride's day and you stole the spotlight! I bet she holds a chuckly grudge.

You're such a joker, huh? Hahaha. No doubt they took this to certain limits, although it could have been worse, but it is fine because in a wedding there can not be so much irony.

Congratulations.

Your wife is beautiful! She must be clever and smart to have figured the prank out in seconds. Others may have already been panicking at that.

What a way to make a lifetime event more memorable. Well, at least you did not play amnesia on your wedding day! 😂

Oh god, I don't think my family would enjoy those games. I'm the only one on my side that really likes horror games.

Tell them to learn from you instead. 😀

should have hide it in your beard :P

Ooh, no. That's asking for it to get stuck.

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.40
ETH 3576.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75