Drawing again after a looooooong time. Easy Mini Art Contest #1 Entry

in #strawberryart6 years ago (edited)
Creativity is contagious, pass it on - Einstein

After a long time, I was able to draw again. And not just merely drawing! I colored it, too!!! What an achievement. I feel like I'm slowly recovering from art slump. It's all thanks to @jacinta.sevilla! She hosted an Easy Mini Art Contest and this is my entry. 

Strawberry Idol

These are what I used

  • Mechanical Pencil 0.5
  • Used paper for sketch
  • Kent Paper for final drawing
  • Copic Markers
  • Copic multiliner 0.3
  • Unibal signo angelic colour

When I first read about the contest, I felt like a tsunami of creative juices rushed from within me. It's been a long time since I felt that and the worst thing is having to go to work when your itching to draw. I was on the train sketching everything that came to mind. 

I have to say, I was so into drawing mode that I forgot to take proper work in progress pictures. The following WIP pictures are shots from the WIP video I made. 

① Sketching and Tracing

First, I drew a rough sketch at the back of a used paper (economical reasons). 

Then, I needed to transfer this drawing to another paper but it was thicker than the printer paper so I thought I should make a tracing light. Like this.

I piled my mangas, placed a glass plate and placed my phone below with it's flashlight on. Viola! DIY Tracing light. 

To be honest, the DIY tracing light was very hard to use but it was all I have at the moment. However, I was able to make a decent "outline" and I am pleased. 

② Line work

Next in the process is to "line the outline" (these words are the terms I used before art slump era). Nothing fancy, just drawing using a pen under the pencil outline. 

③ Color

Oooh! The exciting part. I used to dread coloring my work so most of them are just black and white but this contest requires kind of an impact so B&W is out of the picture. I used copic markers E00 and E13 for the skin, V12 and C3 for the hair, C3, E00, E13, R27 for the strawberry shortcake, R27, YG03, C3 for the dress and YG03and YG17 for the bow. 

As you can see that I kinda failed in coloring the strawberry shortcake. LOL

Finish Product!
Meet Strawberry Idol. 

Finally, I still can't believe that I was able to draw this within just 4 hours. That's a new record! Thanks again to @jacinta.sevilla for giving me the opportunity and the push to draw again. 

Let me know what you think :D

See you on my next post. 

Sort:  

Really cool style and very very cute. I like that this post is coming all the way from Japan. My favorite part is the strawberry pattern on her dress and she is eating strawberry cake. A very well done post.

Do you like Japan, too?
I'm glad that you liked my work. Thank you so much.

Very talented artist. one of your great talent is coming from your heart like what @jacinta.sevilla did. Thank you for sharing your nice talent. hope to see more.

Thank you for appreciating my work! I will definitely draw more.

Waiting.... thanks

Did you practice this drawing or a unique talent of yours?

It just came to me like a light bulb and at times like that that I just draw without practice.

very nice drawing. I like that you shared your drawing and the steps that went into the drawing. Looks good!

very nice drawing! hope to see more of your drawing in the future! keep it up! :)

Thank you! That means a lot.

Your entry is so cute. I love it <3

Aw, glad you liked it. Thank you :3

You are always welcome my dear fellow artist. ^_^

Heya @korinkrafting

You seem to be a Professional Artits by now.
I really loved the expressions on her face.

PS: We (Steemit Achievers Family) are proud of you for getting high Curation rewards.
This shows, good start of 2018 for you.

Have a good time dear friend.

|| Stay Connected ||

Hi, there!
That's too much. I'm not a Pro Artist but I'm glad you appreciate my work. This means so much to me. Thank you.

Keep in touch.

|| Happy Steeming ||

Congratulations @korinkrafting, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 6929 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2227.00. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Ur draw is so nice, i would like to draw like you haha

That’s flattering but thank you 😊

Awesome pictures!!! You might also like these new years pictures an AI produced check it out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66518.22
ETH 3187.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05