Streemian Dropped the Ball: We Need Streemian to Support Committed Writers.

in #streemian6 years ago (edited)

For those who haven’t been keeping up, Hayley and I are flying out of Sydney on Wednesday afternoon (AEST) and heading down to Melbourne until Saturday. For a bit more detail, go and check here.

As a result, I’ve been working my tail off all last week doubling my efforts to ensure that while I am away and away from my PC, the articles keep coming out and my Steemit space is maintained to a high standard.

Over the last few days, I’ve been allowing Streemian to post on my behalf by setting up scheduled releases. All have worked perfectly, except for today.

I jumped onto Streemian and had a look at what was pending release. All the articles were all still there, as I was still counting down the final minutes until my most recent one was posted. Finally, the time came and the most recent left the pending list, but never appeared on my blog page. I kept refreshing and waiting, but to no avail. So I’m left in a slight predicament.

They’re all up waiting to go at their specified dates and times, so if they don’t perform the same monkey act and don’t disappear, all is well. Now, I have had the foresight at least to have backed all of the stories up TWICE – the second in a specific file for those releases, so if they don’t get released while I’m away, I can do them manually from my PC upon my return.

I know one week isn’t a massive deal and yes, I’m not suggesting I’m Stephen King with a worldwide following, but half of being taken seriously is taking the work seriously. Sharing creative works (artwork, writing, music, videography) is as valuable if not more valuable than a lot of the rubbish that news presenters are being paid quadruple my teachers' weekly income for producing. The goal isn’t to fluff about here and make six cents, it’s to develop a following of readers who appreciate the stories, both fictional and of my own life with an aim to encourage other writers to pay greater attention to their own work and be better at what they do.

I regularly invoke the mental strength and commitment of writers I grew up in my late teens reading.

I'm not speaking of writers of another age or high-brow authors who have reported on and investigated war crimes. I’m talking about writers that aren’t that much older than me who can tell fantastic stories of fiction. The author I think of most is Matthew Reilly. While I haven’t read much of his work lately, I have read most of his novels and his novella – Hell Island. At seventeen, I was first introduced to his work by a friend of mine at school. That book was Area 7. It was the first book that gave me the confidence to read substantial books outside of school. My last years in high school were unpleasant and I really didn’t care much for learning at that point --- isn’t being a teenager awful? It certainly was for me.

The point is, we need to look up to those writers better than us to inspire us to become great. I could have stayed in my quagmire of self-pity during my end years of high school. But having something to take me away from that place, mentally, gave me an out while at the same time introduced me to quality writing that would form a part of my own repertoire (we mimic those we learn from - think of your accent!).

It’s fascinating how a simple Streemian annoyance can end up being somewhat of an opportunity to share some of my ambition (and history) with you all.

As always, thanks for hanging about and being a really good listener.

Nick.


If you’re here for the first time, Upvote, Comment and Follow. If you’re a returning reader – THANK YOU. But..still Upvote and Comment if you have the energy.

Looking forward to a particular article? Have ideas for the direction of content? Leave your say below. Most comments are read and considered (the shit ones aren't).

If you've been looking at my body of work and see some potential, I'm graciously taking ETH donations to allow me to work on a project full time.

Whether this can happen or not is all up to you! Donations of 0.1 ETH and above will be made public and I'll be singing your praises at the end of subsequent articles. Donate here:

@nickmorphew ETH public address: 0xaa067FB11b5016a5a3F458e6de2BA9A708D928Ad


Sort:  

Absolutely, quality consistent content is always key, so when technical glitches like this happen its certainly frustrating.

Nice formatting on the bold lines, breaks up the article so its less of a text wall, i usually try to do the same with images as im more of a visual person.

Just dropped a new post myself, about the latest 24 Hour Sydney Train Strike check it out if you get a chance i would honestly really appreciate it #vincentb unite!

Hey Kash,

Thanks for your feedback. I really thought about the interspersed bolding and first did it with my work on my saga.

I'll pop over to your page and have a peek!

Nick.

Thanks for stopping by my blog and now I am coming back to see more about you. I'm a new follower now ;) and can't wait to see more about you and your projects here. Fun! Hope your flight was good.

Thanks for stopping by, Donna!

Oh always something happening here! Sadly, Streemian is still acting up so my posts haven't been automatically posted. The next one will be released when I arrive home tomorrow, so you won't be waiting for too long! And Ill have posted something about this trip (possibly the first of a multi part series) to Melbourne by Sunday night.

Flight down was great and the city has been so much fun. Our apartment block even has a beautiful pool on the rooftop! Lucky us, right?

Take care and talk soon!

Nick

only if you follow and upvote me fellow friend from the land down under.

You got a 5.23% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @nickmorphew!

You got a 4.67% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @nickmorphew!

This post has received a 3.9 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @nickmorphew

This post has received a 2.45% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

To support our daily curation initiative, please donate 1 SBD or delegate Steem Power (SP) to @shares by clicking one fo the following links: 10 SP, 50 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP, 5000 SP.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

This post has received a 1.67% upvote from thanks to: @nickmorphew.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.100 SBD to bid for votes.


The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!
ROI Calculator for Investors click here!!!

This post has received gratitude of 0.80 % from @appreciator thanks to: @nickmorphew.

Congratulations @nickmorphew, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 3532 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $9034.11. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97