The Arc de Triumph in Paris


20151027-IMG_1613 copy.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

So I wanted to post this yesterday but with HF20 being released yesterday and then being un-released again due to various issues meant that steemit was down for a sufficiently long enough time that I made the executive decision to have a day off.. It actually felt really weird, I have posted every day without fail the past 9 months.. although there has been one or two technical glitches that caused a post not to post, but I don't count those.. there were less than 5 of those!

Anyway, this is the Arc de Triumph, a monument to celebrate France's great military victories.. I'm not sure why it's an arch, but many places seem to have them.. London has one too..

You will be familiar with it as one of the famous sights in Paris, where all the main avenues converge on a roundabout built around the Arch. When we got there it took us some time to work out how to get over to it.


20151027-IMG_1605 copy.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

As you can see here you can stand directly underneath it .. in fact you can climb to the top as well which provides you with some amazing views of Paris. Unfortunately they do not permit tripod usage up there so I could not get any good long exposure shots of the city from up there. I have since bought a smaller more discreet tripod so I fully intend to return to Paris one day and give it a try. What's the worst that could happen? (famous last words!)

So to reach the Arch there is actually a tunnel for pedestrians from one side of the round about to the other intersecting the arch.. its a nice setup, and luckily its sign posted and easy to work out that that's what you are meant to do. Though that won't stop the odd idiot from trying to run the deadly gauntlet that is the roundabout. Not me though, I am not that kind of idiot.


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-18T16:05:42
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 885.42/1600.00
Total Photos: 85
Total comments: 26
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 4.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Nice perspective on both shots. Thanks for taking me back to Paris - a place I have not visited in 30 odd years now!

My pleasure! You really must go back :) I'm sure it's changed a great deal in that time.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

It's very magnificent looking! I love it! :) I can't travel much, but I can check out awesome photography like this! Thanks for sharing!

my pleasure :)

Hello @fiftysixnorth, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99