Wildlife Watching For Wildlife

Wildlife Watching For Wildlife

CrowSpeedLimit.jpg

Click the above photo to enlarge

I thought this was pretty cool seeing this grackle perched on top of the speed limit sign. We appears to actually be "watching for wildlife" . I took this photo at he Viera Wetlands in Florida. It's a great spot for observing various water bird, gators, otters, turtles and other wildlife. I did the post-processing in Photoshop CC using the Silver Efex add-in.

Category streetphotography
Settings f/11.0 1/1600 sec 170.0 mm ISO 800
Camera Canon 60D
Lens Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Location Viera, Florida

This is my entry in #streetphotography by @juliank and @photocontests daily photography contest.

Check out my How to click to enlarge your photo tutorial

All photos, images and text in my posts are my original work.

Please visit my galleries on the following sites:
Society6
Fine Art America

Follow me on Facebook

Enjoy!

Roger

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

asapers 2.png
Banner by @shai-hulud

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-08T13:54:21
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2897.66/3200.00
Total Photos: 244
Total comments: 81
Total contest wins: 26
And have also received a 1.70 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

The black and white color gives it the mood that it's supposed to have, clean, clear & crisp @rwedegis.

Thank you for your comments @fotografia101! That's exactly what I was going for!

Looks so much like my favorite bird, the raven. Truthfully, I've never heard of a "grackle" before, but you so beautifully captured it Roger! I love it :)

These birds are pretty abundant in the south. I'm surprised that you don't see them in Mexico. When I first photoed them in Florida I thought they were crows. But they are smaller and seem to be more social than crows.

I've been wondering if that's what I'm seeing here. They're similar to crows, but with a bluish, black color depending on the sun.

They probably are. The males are the bluish-black ones and the females are a little smaller and are brownish. Their beaks are more pointy than crows. Zoo_10.jpg

Yes, that's them @rwedegis! I saw the brown ones just the other day and was trying to figure it all out 😅 Thanks for that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87