Buckle up, I'm Driving! (Video included)

in #sublimesunday6 years ago (edited)

Twelve hundred kilometres to reach the coast, and the ferry back to Vancouver Island. Possible snow in the mountains. You know what would make this a Sublime Sunday? What if I didn't have to drive today...

cjkou23c2b.jpg
Leaving Lethbridge, Alberta there was a light dusting of snow in the hills. More of a hard frost actually. Up ahead was Crowsnest Pass and I was worried about the weather.

afnci3smwq.jpg
Across the border in British Columbia, the sun appeared and it warmed up. The landscape completely changed and we were back in the mountains. I love BC, the feeling, the entire vibe of the place. This is home - almost. Home is on the coast, and that's still many hours of driving away.

32t3etz59z.jpg
We crossed through areas that had been damaged in the fires this summer. Smoke still lingered in a few places.

d9s2gyck8o.jpg
Looking down on the town of Osoyoos, BC. We are right on the US border here - the actual border crosses the lake just slightly out of frame to the left.
d4gojkf0uu.jpg
The natural beauty of the landsape is wonderful. We stopped often to stretch our legs and snap a few photos.
1d08l62302.jpg

tcvp8itcs8.jpg
The roadside tourist traps are closed for the season... Grab a photo, and then jump in, let's go!

z99bf7xes5.jpg

The right vehicle can make travel a pleasure. I do look for a certain degree of utility as well however...

etha26rn0g.jpg
For example, what if you need to move a 350 ton cargo? This 1974 GMC Titan truck can haul freight, but how does it handle on the highway? (That's Cathy standing beside the truck. She thought it might consume too much fuel...)

Let's go, we gotta drive!

d9eeph3sks.gif

Going over the Kootenay Pass summit (1781 metres, or 5841 ft elevation)

454zkajvl0.gif

West of Osoyoos the landscape felt like desert.

pupphfk3q5.gif

The final day of travel was one long continuous S-curve. If you love to drive, this is Sublime. Imagine doing this for endless hours... (Video shot by Cathy from the passenger seat.)

I'll tell you something truly sublime however. These last few scenes were captured yesterday... Today, I woke up in my own bed. I slept in late. I don't have to drive! WE'RE HOME!!! This is truly a #sublimesunday!

#sublimesunday was created by @c0ff33a
I hope you all have a wonderful day!

Sort:  

Wow. What a beast that GMC Titan truck is @keithboone.

i have never seen anything like it! 😱

So happy to hear you're home safe and sound. What a mamouth drive that was. I can imagine how wonderful it must have felt to wake up in your own bed. 😁

Thank you, Gillian! :) There was only one of these ever built, and it was the world's largest truck for 25 years - that means there is something bigger now! In any case, it was meant for serious tasks. Let's say you need to move two million golf balls for example. I lose that many in a round of golf, so this might be just the thing for me!

I am so happy you are safely home! That

I am so happy you are safely home! That was truly a mammoth adventure! I am so happy that you're home and can sleep in your own bed and don't have to get back in a car, hopefully for days!

Thank you, Melinda. That trip took a lot out of me. I'm still dizzy!

Take good care of yourself! I hope you recover quickly

Happy to hear you and Cathy are home safe & sound. Fantastic trip and photos. Thanks for sharing, Keith. I had to chuckle when you mentioned ‘Tourist Traps’..must be a Down East saying as I’ve heard it here. 😊

Thanks so much, it's good to be home! I'm not sure where that saying comes from, but it seemed to apply :)

You nailed it right on the head! Even I think that is it Sublime Sunday Kind of post. I love going away but when it is time to come home, I sure want to be there yesterday.

Beautiful words, beautiful pictures, awesome video and what can I say? Every one of your posts wow me to death.

Welcome home, Keith. We've missed your regular scheduled programs.

Upped and steemed

Thank you very much, Denise. I'm glad to be home and thrilled that I don't need to drive for a while! I'm happy you liked my post :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

the blogs keep getting better! resteemed, love the gifs

Thanks so much! It's great to be home, but I've been having trouble getting started again. Guess I needed a lot of down time!

What an amazing journey, I love the red hot rod - and that massive monster truck! You can't even imagine trying to drive such a beast - how would you work the distance to the far side of it??

And some lovely driving footage, what a clever twist at the end - you did all your travelling on a Saturday so you could have a relaxing #SublimeSunday

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thank you, I'm so glad you liked my post! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86