Where do you see yourself in the next six months?

in #success6 years ago

100_0387-1.jpg

I’m the kind of person that loves to read. I read as much as i can. I like to know what’s going on. I am a huge fan of pop culture. I use to read all the celebrity blogs until one day i realized how time consuming it was. Did you know that Kim Kardashian was one of the most searched words in 2014? I know people who know every single Beyonce song (there is nothing wrong with that) or the choregory to all of her music videos. They are so caught up in someone else that they are failing to see that they have been in the same job for four years. They are stuck in a routine. I really feel like we are too caught up in celebrities and we fail to see, they are people just like the rest of us. The truth is they are focusing on their lives and working to achieve their goals and dreams.

100_0393.JPG

How about putting that energy you spend on a celebrity into focusing more on your goals and dreams. Many of us have no idea what we want to do with our lives. We don’t even know where we see ourselves in the next five years. Vision and purpose are two things that most people don’t have and struggle to find. Growth and development in this generation has become nonexistent. Stagnancy has become normal, you need to have some idea on how to move forward.

100_0398.JPG

One of my best friends told me about a coworker who went on a job interview and on the application; there were two questions, “Where do you see yourself in five years? And where do yourself in the next six months?” He answered the questions on the application and he decided to write those answers in a notebook to remind him of his answers. He focused more on the answer for last question about the next six months. Every day he read the answer to that question until he believed that all his short term goals were possible, he envisioned them happening. He didn’t know how; but he knew his purpose, what his goals were and he had a vision for them. Six months later everything he had written was achieved. He used that list to develop his confidence and faith with the words written in that notebook, seeing the life he wanted in those goals right in front him.

100_8929_2.jpg

Something about that story just stuck with me. We don’t value how important it is to have goals and seeing ourselves achieve them. Living one day at a time is good, but without a vision how do you write your future? At the end of the day without a sense of the future you are going aimlessly and blindly into the unknown. Focusing on the now, includes the next couple of weeks and months. So the next time you start to obsess over what Tyga bought Kylie Jenner remember that these people all have goals, dreams and a vision that they are working to achieve and they are achieving them. I’m not saying you can’t get up to date on your favourite celebrity, but lets work together on developing our personal growth. Remember they are just like us, if they can do it then so can you. It all starts with a clear vision and a sense of purpose to drive your inner dreams. What will you get from this? Growth, development and confidence. These are the key to success and to achieving your dreams. So I’m going to ask the same question… where do you see yourself in the next six months?

100_8908_1.jpg

1000x96_generator.gif

Sort:  

Interesting! I just finished reading a psychology book by Philip Zimbardo "The Time Paradox". The author did years of research into people's perspective and personal relationship with time. He identified six different time perspectives, past, present and future ones. People who focus mainly on the past are "traditional" types who like to follow routines and rituals. They love family gatherings and they don't like changes. Sometimes they get stuck constantly relieving their past memories, especially negative ones.
People mainly focused on the present are the hedonistic types (or fatalistic types) who live like there was no tomorrow. These types are most prone to gambling and addictions, but they're also the most entertaining types.
Future types are like what you just described in your article- they constantly plan and invest into their future. Future orientated people are usually most successful in life although sometimes they lose their ability to enjoy the present moment.
That author believes that we can learn how to balance it all out, and this way create deep sense of joy and fulfillment.

Hello, Im going to talk about my experience..
I like to live in the present because we don't know when are we going to die.
Maybe you still don't get me... last year I was shoot and nobody knows (even doctors) how im still alive!
So, from that moment and on I decided to live everyday as It was the last one, enjoying life etc.
I still have goals to achive in the future but i decide to enjoy life.
In six months i will graduate from medicine school :)

Oh, thank you very much for this story. I'm glad that everything is all right with you now. You made a wonderful decision, I should learn from you!

Wow, thanks for the interesting story. I will definitely read this book! Yes, I know this distribution. I treat people who live today. This is bad. So I'm trying to change myself

Wise words
Our world is so full of distractions and activities that keep us so occupied and busy that we sometimes forget to evaluate our lives and plan for a future. The stream of time keeps moving, the time is now we all can start from now.
Keep on the good work tanata
Please check my blog, and a follow back will be highly appreciated.

Thank you so much! We are too hasty to live. You're right!

This is very interesting, I am going to write the answer for that question in a notebook and will do my best to achieve my goals.

You will do a great deed! Good luck to you)

No words are enough to describe how beautifully you have explained this to so many of us who must be going through a similar situation... ur inspiration through this positive examples today I really can able to change my vision towards everything...
keep inspiring and motivating people.

I'm happy to hear it from you! I hope this will make your life even better)

Thanks for sharing! I will definitely hit follow as soon as I'm done writing this comment. I personally see myself growing my personal blog, hopefully reaching and helping people. I just wrote on how to be successful by setting SMART goals on my Steemit account. I just recently came back after some time away from being sick. All the best - Olivia

I'm sure you will succeed! I wish you good luck!

As Dwight D. Eisenhower quoted - "In preparing for battle I have always found that plans are useless, but planning is indispensable". I believe the same - Have plans but you'll stray far away from it. That's how life works. One can only look back make sense of all the connecting dots. The question should be how Joyful you'll be six months from now as when Life flashes when the credit's roll - that's all that will truly matter. So where do you see six months from now - Answer : More friends , more travel , more memories and less beer belly !
Cheers ;)

It's true) We can make plans, but we do not have confidence that we will fulfill them. But we can try) Thank you!

Well, you're certainly right to think that way, at least as long as you're young so here yes, you can see the future that way, and it helps you achieve your goals. Yet, the routine is there, for each of us, I married very young, I had 4 children and my goals were limited, just could to take care of my family. It was much later that I could think a little about myself.
Because when you have not been to school while a long time and you have not had the opportunity to work, you are stagnating.
Then, when I divorced, I went back to find what to do to get out of that, I did trainings to recover an asset to be able to work but I was already 40 years old. When I was 50, the disease caught me and I could not work anymore, so yes, when you are young you can think as you do but then, the vagaries of life are that ... I wish you wholeheartedly to achieve your goals.

Your story is sad. Yes, we can not be sure of tomorrow. But you have made the biggest plan - you have 4 children. I'm sorry to hear about the disease. But I hope you can create many more plans and fulfill them! Thank you for sharing your story!

My children are my greatest success, the rest is life and I have the chance to stay positive ... In any case, I try. Thank you for your reply.

Your post is so true. I felt sorry for guys and girls I worked with many years ago as they only seemed to talk about what a few boybands were doing in their personal lives, they knew nothing about what was happening in the real world. The last I seen or heard of each of them they weren't going anywhere or happy with their lot. Life it there in the World, go grab it.

It is a pity that many people do not want to live better. I hope that this will change someday. Thank you for your message!

I've been focusing on myself for the past year and I've never been happier. Knowing yourself allows you to figure out what you want to do in life. Set one goal and work on it every single day. Great article @tanata!

I agree with your opinion! You accurately conveyed my thought. Thanks for this!

I'm engaged. So I'll be a married woman by then. haha :) anxious, scared and excited all at once!

I want to congratulate you on such a big event. I wish you happiness. These are wonderful plans)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84