Flowering stapeliads

in #succulents5 years ago

orbea variegata.jpg

I photographed Orbea variegata flowering madly growing in an old wheelbarrow in my mother's garden. I was surprised to see it flowering so early but when looking it up, I found that it is actually a winter-grower, because it is native to the Western Cape, a winter rainfall area. All along, I thought that stapeliads only grew in summer rainfall areas. I think I have this plant and perhaps the reason mine has never flowered is because I keep all of my stapeliads dry in winter, as the combination of water and cold weather is usually fatal to stapeliads.

Live and learn, I suppose. I will have to separate it from the communal pot it's currently growing in and start watering the plant in winter.

A closeup of the centre of the flower, it's not a particularly stinky flower and it's truly spectacular when there are a couple of flowers open in the same time.

orbea.jpg

Sort:  

Very original flower. Such a beautiful color. Looks very good.

They are beautiful

Estas encontrando muchos tesoros en el jardín de su mamá. Es hermosa esa flor. Me encanta hacer esas fotos del interior de las flores. Encuentras unas sorpresas increíbles dentro de ellas. Hermoso este centro de la flor. Gracias.

Thank you. My mother loves gardening and that's where I get it from

This flower looks very serious!! Very ancient looking flower!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89