My drunken cactus is flowering

in #succulents6 years ago (edited)

I don't know much about cacti, I have about 6 and only one of them wasn't given to me. The only one I bought that has survived for a very long time does so because it is a very tough Mamillaria. I don't know what this one is, I am sure that @andrijana or @ewkaw do but it is long and was given to me growing in a c-shape. I think that the person who had it grew it in a fairly low-light environment.

I always kept it propped against something taller and it stayed upright in summer when it was raining. Perhaps it's leaning because it is winter and there is less water. I have learned not to water cacti, that's how I killed all the previous ones I had years ago so now I don't know what this one needs.

cactus.jpg

It is flowering madly despite being propped on a brick but this is the current state of affairs:

cactus2.jpg

Could this cactus become upright on its own or should I just leave it alone?

Sort:  

Beautiful Mammilaria !!
I see such a form in the first :-)

Creeping state of some old Mammillarias is normal. Mother plant is too high so is falling and offshoots are growing upright.
..
But this one seems to me not to be so old and like it was not given enough sun or was given too much water in past.
The one that grew on full sun have 'mamilas' closer to each other and stronger spines. Maybe in winter you should keep it on full sun too, if it is possible.
....
But now all you can do is tie it to some stick. You can't change past conditions. It is healthy and flowering, and with more sun it will get stronger spines and a bit more compact body.
...
It seems to me like Mammillaria backebergiana, the one that is hard to keep compact. This one really needs to be watered rare and can stand completely full day of sun. It is very resistant pant. Only frost is that it doesn't like.

Thank you! Checking on Google, you are right, as usual. I will try that

Haha drunken cactus looks mighty cute with his pink flower hat :) I’m curious about his posture too lol

Looks like he's just going to have to stay like that. I'll will try the staking suggestion

I wouldn't have a clue, sorry. But it is so cute! I think cactus have a lot of character about them, and the flowers are really pretty.

I must admit that these really thorny ones are a pain to handle, though

I am not the geek yet :D Andrijana is!
And I already see she told you all. I would only know that it is a Mammillaria. And I think some just grow like that. But if this one should, or was treated in a wring way.. wouldn't know.

Although the flowers are like Mammilaria, I wasn't sure of the rest. You are on the way to being a geek ;)

Jajajajaja! So funny how it just decided to plop to it's side like that. Sorry to say I know very little about plants. I wish you luck. The flowers on it are really pretty

Very interesting cactus. Reminds shooting of fantastic films about monsters.

Cactus is a beautiful creature. Leave it as it is

very in pity when the captus plant was left as I am, but very good if the plant is in the yard at home.

Cacnea still hasnt grown an inch! You certainly have the magic touch for cactus!

That's the difference between growing outside in the sun and outdoors ;) Cacnea will not grow while we are in winter. You may see some change once the weather warms up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09