Succulent seedlings: hoodias and cacti

in #succulents5 years ago

hoodias.jpg

The Hoodia gordonii are growing steadily although it seems that they weren't getting enough light so I moved them across the room because the sun's angle has shifted considerably as winter approaches. They are growing a little better with better light and I am still watering them although I will need to be careful to stop watering them once the temperature drops much lower. They need to be kept fairly dry over winter. I have 47 little plants in total.

baby cacti.jpg

I still have no idea what cacti have germinated here although the little red lines on the left-hand seedling suggest that its a different type to the one that has turned purple. I still suspect that the purple seedlings are an invasive form of Opuntia or something, especially since these seeds germinated after more than 5 years although it's mostly one type of seed that germinated from the mixed seed packet.

First posted here on my blog in WeKu

Sort:  

You have a real incubator for growing various plants.

I am trying

Thanks, Ludmila

Do you eventually plan to sell them ?

For sure!

The day of the triffids, that movie used to scare me as a kid. These guys kind of remind me of an invading plant army, ready to eat humanity.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehe, they are cute, not malevolent

Quite impressive! I could never imagine myself being successful in raising so many baby cacti!!
Hope they all grow up strong and big!

Posted using Partiko iOS

So far so good but getting them through winter will be a challenge

Saludos. Espero que tenga mucha suerte con ellas en invierno. Dan mucho trabajo evitando que se pudran.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02