When you see it and then you just have to...

in #succulents6 years ago (edited)

Last Wednesday I was at the nursery and I saw that they had one cheap Kudu Lily, aka Pachypodium saundersii, and some more expensive ones. I didn't buy it then because there was no space in my bag although I did think about it some more, when I wasn't wondering where my Steemit password had gone. This morning, I was at work and started thinking to myself: "well, I am at work which is half-way there in terms of travelling and they are usually much more expensive and it will make it home on the bike there was only one left...." so of course my mind was made up by the end of the shift and I went and bought it.

pachypodium saundersii.jpg

It has no leaves because Kudu lilies are dormant in winter and it hasn't started forming branches yet but this one will appreciate my hot, sunny back garden although they dislike frost and I will have to bring it indoors if it gets very cold this winter. Here is a picture of one that I saw at the local succulent show

kudu lily.jpg

They are actually fast-growing and can become quite large so hopefully I will see it get bigger fairly soon although someone told me that this one is a dwarf form. They are native to the Eastern parts of South Africa, with the same rainfall patterns that I have at home, which means that I don't have to worry about keeping it dry in summer and it can stay outside in the rain.

Of course I had to get another mesemb, this one is Pleiospilos compacta, related to the split rocks, but easier to grow (I hope)

pleiospilos.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful flower, its almost bigger than the plant. The first picture who needs barbed wire or razor wire with a plant like that.

It is a beaut. Our native plants are either thorny or poisonous, it's the only way for them to survive

Beautiful pictures!
Very unusual and interesting plant.
Today I also bought another cactus. And again he was without a name ... :-(
Soon I'll put a photo of some without a name.
I understand that we have become flower maniacs ha ha ha

Yes, we all need help! And more space to grow plants :p

That top one is an intriguing looking creature... almost like a very thorny piece of ginger root. You certainly have quite the collection of unusual plants!

=^..^=

To me they are living sculptures and I love looking at them

That looks cool with the leaves on. Makes me think of bonsai for some reason

They are very bonsai-like

WOW! Both of them!
Pachy will grow, don't worry. And this Pleiospilos is heartbreaking beauty <3

I was surprised to see them in a nursery that usually sells much more mundane plants and both together cost the equivalent of 7 Euros. I had to

It is so cute when it is sleeping :P
That nursery would be my best friend (and wallet enemy) in no time :))

Yes, it's so hard to restrain yourself and I did see another plant that I wanted, a Euphorbia gorgonis. I will have to budget a bit first :)

That is a pretty one too. Especially with that fatty caudex.

I am getting better at growing Euphorbia, I think it's time for one

Definitely time for one!
We have always had one at home... growing so big it couldn't fit in the room even when the bot was on the floor. Euphorbia trigona I think it's called.

Some of them get huge!

They are just amazing! Thats when you know you really want something, is when you keep obsessing over something even when you're supposed to be doing other things.

Yes. Actually, I have wanted one of these for a while, it was always on my maybe one day list and it wasn't expensive compared to what I have seen them go for. Now I just have to keep it alive, of course

You do alot of gardening I reckon. This plant looks strange to me though. Now I'd have to research more about it.

My plan is to start selling plants, so this is an important activity

Beautiful pictures!
Very unusual and interesting plant.
Today I also bought another cactus. And again he was without a name ... :-(
Soon I'll put a photo of some without a name.
I understand that we have become flower maniacs ha ha ha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09