September 10th Is "World Suicide Prevention Day" So Lets Talk About Preventing Suicide

in #suicide6 years ago

Please read this, it is important to understand the roots of modern mental health care. It may shed light on why it is failing so miserably.
https://www.nytimes.com/1984/07/03/science/psychotherapy-and-the-nazis.html

If the phone rang and someone you loved said they were about to end it, would you know what to say? If they have a heart attack you can learn CPR but what do you say to a desperate loved one? If you have no answer, do not feel too badly. PhDs in mental health do not have an answer either.
This message is for the people who want to have SOMETHING they could try if they got that phone call. This message is for the people who are being turned suicidal by the drugs they were prescribed to "help" with depression. This message is an attempt to begin a discussion about getting better at helping suicidal people because as a species, we suck at it.

Sort:  

Wow, @fishyculture. First things first. Hugs! I am sorry you lost a friend at such a young age and then for you to have to go through hell because of some pharmaceuticals. 13 years ago, I lost a brother to suicide. I was living 30 miles away and had no idea what he was going through. I still feel awful about not being there for him. 5 years ago, a send (and my youngest brother) had been diagnosed with PTSD (he was the one who found my other brother after several days). The doctor prescribed him the magic little pills and then sent him to a psychiatrist, who was near retirement. He added more pills to the mix. My brother started having the suicidal thoughts and he went back to the psychiatrist who added more pills without taking him off any. In the end, he was on 27different kinds of pills. This should have set off alarm bells with the medical profession. All this time, I am still living 3000 miles away, but I am calling him every day. I spoke with my sister-in-law and told her he had to get off the meds they were going to kill him. She got him admitted to hospital and I took the first plane back to Canada. I think I probably ruffled a few feathers and told a few doctors I would be suing and contacting the papers about a gross case of negligence. I sat with him for 12 days in the hospital before we could sign him out. I spent another 3 weeks with him when he was released. I knew he was okay when he could crack jokes with me and told me to go home. I still call him every day, just to be sure things are okay.

God bless you, thank you so much for sharing that. The survivor stories are just pretty damned rare and it always makes me feel like my team won a round when I hear one. And thank you for holding on to him. It is one of the hardest things for me to deal with, but there is little I can do... My family has almost no contact with me. After everything I went through, and then after we lost a brother, nothing in them made them decide to keep in touch with me. That just never stops hurting.

I am so sorry, Claire. If you need someone to hold on to, I am here!

Thank you, that means a lot to me.

Hey @fishyculture 💖 can you please remind me of your irl name? I have forgotten it from our past conversations. I am grateful i took the time to watch your video. Your spoken words gave me chills and captivated my complete attention. I deeply appreciate your words of advice in this heartfelt authentic honest presentation. Seeing the picture of you and your husband at the end and the words you shared filled my heart and eyes of gratitude that you're a survivor. Yes! We need MUCH more dialog in this regard. I am sorry you had to loose a friend when you're 14 to begin to understand the truth of suicidal thoughts/ words. Our society has a long way to go. But, your wisdom offers leaps and bounds of solid advice and strategies for these situations. I will read the link you shared next. Hugs and blessings 💜💛💙💚

Thank you for your kindness, your friendship. I am Claire most places.

Claire 💪 hopefully that imprints this time!!! 😓 Likewise my friend! It's cool to get to know you and to connect now & again. 🤗 Thanks SO MUCH! For the steem prize the other day! 🤗🤗Must have been for the zucchini contest you did. How's your garden this year? You can't grow much in your area, if i recall correctly... what about foraging? Is there any of that or do the crazy birds get it all? 😂

Thank you so much for sharing this. I will think of this if someone speaks to me. May we all have the strength and love your husband showed when it is our turn to be there for someone we love.

Thank you. The sad truth is most people do not have it in them, most people are very unkind to people suffering suicidal thoughts. The doctor treating me in the ER after an overdose stepped around the CURTAIN so she and the nurse could laugh at me. Never once did any provider actually listen and act on what I said. They all "took a history" and then just disregarded everything I said. They STILL defend their pill over me. See the comment above, that is a typical attitude. People are OK with a drug that kills people if it made their friend feel better. Truth is, there is no blood test to prove the pill helps at all. There is strong evidence the person would have healed on placebo and never risked the suicidal side effect.

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner2.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Great video. Real and brutally honest. I just hope that you are not inferring that mental ilnness can be blanketed and put into a box.

I can tell you 100% that Clinical Depression where you cannot even move and get out of bed is real. And that the Brain can be physically and bio chemically sick and broken much like the heart can be sick and broken. Yet no one complains about people taking heart pills.

Of course you make valid points that SOME of these PILLS for SOME PEOPLE with mental illness can cause suicidal thoughts. But for many people these so called pills have saved lives as well. I truly hope you recognize that ?? I have seen it first hand. They have literally stopped the suicidal thoughts dead in their tracks ( no pun intended)

And I will challenge anyone to try to debate me on that. Of course exercise, diet, and sleep is crucial to the overall recovery of true clinical depression.

But thank you for your post. I just hope as a society we do not try to generalize about these so called pills.

P.S. Just please be careful of what you are saying. I think you have some sound points but the more I read what you typed it just perpetuated much of the stigma around mental illness. Your expereince is just one case. The fact is the Brain is an organ just as the kidneys are. And saying that you should just use sheer will power to get rid of unwanted thoughts is just NOT always possible. Iam not saying some people do not have success with that. But if you had heart disease could you just use sheer will power and tell it to go away. So why would you think you could do that to your Brain ? Please, let's NOT perpetuate this stigma that you can just "snap" out of depression or anxiety. It's not always that easy. Trust me.
Educating society is so IMPT on this matter!!!

Stop and listen to what you just told me. Here is what it looks like from where I sit: "I do not care that the pills made you and thousands of other people BECOME suicidal. I do not care that these pills are linked to nearly 100% of mass shootings. I do not care that placebo is shown to be as effective as SSRIs. I do not care that there is no evidence at all that seratonin imbalance is real. I care that some people say the pill helps so that is good enough for me!"
The science is all on my side, these pills make some people kill themselves and make some people kill a lot of other people before they kill themselves. There is no hard evidence these pills actually helped anyone, ever. They only double blind trials showed that happy, healthy people committed suicide JUST because they started the pill, and Pharma hid that data to get it to market. Once the propaganda folks got hold of it, even doctors called them "happy pills." The pills nearly killed me and they kill people every damn day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87