Just Another Peaceful Warm Summer Evening, While the Storm Rages

in #sunset6 years ago

4b601637-ac7b-4ca1-a9e2-9cbbc3012cea.jpeg


Another warm and beautiful evening sunset here in the great northwest. A little bit of haze in the air now, as we're seeing a few minor signs of smoke from California wildfires.

I thought I'd share this very peaceful view of our bay and the distant mountains with you, as a reminder not to worry too much. Although you probably don't need me to tell you this, there's a lot more to the world than worrying about the cryptocurrency markets.

There are sunsets, and puppies, and kittens, and children, and grandchildren, and love and so much more out there.

As a bit of perspective, remember that you can probably walk down the street in your hometown and poll 100 people, and MAYBE two of them would have a clue what you were talking about, if you made mention that the crypto markets have been taking a beating.

"Oh... it's that Bitcoin thing, right?" they might say. The other 98 will look at you blankly.

Meanwhile, the by now infamous "Hardfork 20" we've been hearing and hearing and hearing about since (what seems like) the beginning of time has finally been announced and there's an official release date of September 25th. I'm still not entirely sure how it's going to affect the Steemit ecosystem, but you can read more about it here:

https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/steem-velocity-hardfork-hardfork-20

As for me, I'm a writer. A blogger. A content creator.

What mostly interests me is some kind of assurance that there will still BE a Steemit here, next month, next year, five years from now. And I want to have some kind of assurance that someone is actually STEERING the good ship S.S. Steemit.

Yeah, I know we're decentralized, and all that good stuff. But SOMEbody still has to make a plan and get the proposals put on the table. These things don't "do themselves."

Anyway, enjoy the sunset, and tomorrow will be another day!

And yeah, LEAVE ME A COMMENT! Unlike many, I really LIKE engagement and interaction.

20180811 00:52 PDT


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Good perspective. I actually had an offline conversation with a fellow Steemian where we mused about whether or not Steemit would even be here a few months from now. I had never thought of HF20 as a positive sign, but you're absolutely right: if someone is putting more into the platform, it bodes well for it's longevity, at least over the next several months anyway.

@dollarsandsense, I didn't actually think Steemit had much of a chance of making it, when I joined here some 18 months ago. I even expressed some of that skepticism in my intro post... with a "I'll believe it when I see it" attitude.

I've been repeatedly impressed by the resilience of this place, and the way things keep self-adjusting. Spammers come in, and the community rallies and beats them down. I remember a big time scamster tried to come here and set up shop with all his shills... and was summarily flagged into oblivion; that was about a year ago.

As long as the "real user" percentage stays high enough, I think people will act to protect their interests; even if it means the effort of thousands to counterbalance unwelcome forces.

Not that I — by any means — believe Steemit is "out of the woods" yet...

There are sunsets, and puppies, and kittens,....indeed there are !

My posting has not been affected by price of steemit (at least I don't think so.)
It's much easier if you let the mood take you to what you want to write.
It is for me, anyways!

https://steemit.com/blog/@lucylin/happy-families-and-very-rainy-days

Easier for me, too. Trying not to get mired down in the subtext of anxiety that seems to be following everyone around.
Still writing a few things in "article format," but also enjoying the greater creative freedom of the "ulog" thing that's been going around.

I can't 'decide ' where my head chooses to be - which is bloody annoying - and I have tried to alter it.

If 'it' wants political commentary, I do that.. - I can't make it get into 'fiction space', no matter how much I try to change it...(which is more than annoying, becaue I'm really much happier in that creative space - but if my mind is on current events/crap going on - I can't turn away from it..
Hence the uptake in humor blogs as a way to at least bridge the divide a little.

I haven't really looked into the ulog thingy...I thought it was video blogging...lol

The uloggy thing — and I'm sure everyone has their own take — seems like an invitation to more or less "freewrite." Take some idea, start exploring it "out loud" in writing, and just lake the flow take it wherever it goes... without too much worry about it being "on topic" or "an article."

At least that's how I've been approaching it.

What mostly interests me is some kind of assurance that there will still BE a Steemit here, next month, next year, five years from now. And I want to have some kind of assurance that someone is actually STEERING the good ship S.S. Steemit.

Hardfork 20 doesn't give us anything in this direction does it. It all seems to be for the developers and the blockchain in general to east the entrance of SMTs.

It still looks to me like Steemit was and is a test case and, as such, has a very low priority now.

I'm trying to find something to be excited about... the only thing I see as a positive is that the various apps (dtube, steepshot, etc) can now onboard their own new members without having to wait for the STINC approval process... which has historically been slow enough that a lot of accounts never get used, because people forget about them.

Other than that, I'm not sure what's going to happen.

And that one thing is a double edged sword I think @denmarkguy because it will make it much easier for spammers.

Although, that's one of the benefits of the low Steem price I think. There seem to be be far fewer spammers around. 😁

I guess time will tell. As I understood it, it will be easier for people to form accounts, but under the new system the initial delegations will be smaller/none, and since smaller "fractional" votes will be "nothing" from low SP accounts, there would be no MONEY in it for spammers, UNLESS they were willing to toss quite a few of their own $$$ at buying some SP for their spam accounts.

But I guess time will tell.

howdy sir denmarkguy this fine Saturday evening! I never think about prices, I just let the pros worry about that stuff then write about it so I can know what's going on. Steemit is full of brilliant minds, I love that part of it.
I also love that wonderful, serene photo of yours!

Greetings @janton, thanks for visiting.

As writers and "engagers," it seems like we are often in the minority around here. I find myself musing on that from time to time, but it doesn't really want to make me change direction. I am not here as a "money miner" of any sort... although I do think it's really cool that we can build our stake and influence through building SteemPower.

There is a concept from gaming (and probably elsewhere, but I'm a daggum millenial so all I know is gaming) called "min-maxing". The idea is that you take the time to figure out the most efficient way possible of achieving a goal (usually gaining experience points or earning in-game currency) and then you do it over and over again. There are certainly some people here who are playing the "min-max" game, but you are definitely not one of them. The time it takes you to engage with your readers is never going to earn back nearly what you could have made if you just churned out some more posts instead. For that, I am very thankful.

I expect quite a few of them have found their way here from "Microworker" sites; literally "work farms" where people are offered "work" that pays maybe a couple of cents to perform an eternally repeated menial task. I know the "downvote farm" that showed up a few weeks back was the result of being advertised on such a site.

Anyway, thanks for the shoutout!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-11T07:52:21
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 130.05/200.00
Total Photos: 20
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Nice photography 🌋🌋🌋🌋

awesome😍

beautiful sunset

Beautiful bayside sunset, I think you live in the coolest city around. Been there many times. (Used worked in Quilcene, YEARS ago.)
I sure hope the site is around for a long time. I love working and playing on here. We can always hope. Maybe HF 20 will address some of the problems dragging the site down. I sure hope they address vote buying at least. Sigh. We can hope once more.

It would be a huge shame to see Steemit go the way of the Dodo. Always possible. Though as I understand it, the social end of things was only a testing ground for bigger things. Maybe some folks just don't see it's value beyond that. What a shame. I've not been on many sites, but this one seems to be rather special. With lots of nice, supportive, friendly folk posting a whole lot of very creative content. I'll keep my fingers crossed, except when typing. (maybe it would improve it ). Cheers

@denmarkguy, you are interested in reading, maybe you read me too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76