Thoughts on Glycine and L-Theanine - [N=1 Experiment]

in #supplements6 years ago

The first time I've started using glycine as sleep support was a couple of months ago. It took about 3 months until I finished the 250g bag (3g per day). Then I took some time off, and just a few days ago, I started using it again (bought a new batch).

I'd say, subjectively, that it aids my sleep - I'm taking 3g just before sleep.

And then there's L-Theanine, which is an amino-acid that has been shown to help move the balance of excitatory and inhibitory towards inhibitory (within the brain). Basically it might help improve/increase the concentration of GABA within the brain, as well as the concentration of serotonin and dopamine.

The thing is that, when it comes to the scientific literature, we've just started researching this compound and there are too few papers and experiments done on it. However, what we have is promising. L-Theanine seems to help one calming down.

In the video below I talk about the doses and also my current thoughts on both of these two. Have you tried them? What are your experiments and thoughts?



To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

After listening to Chris Masterjohns (epicly long panel discussion podcast) on glycine I started taking both glycine and more Collagen (which also provides gylcine) as they discussed in the podcast.

One thing about glycine that's great is that it's sweet and tastes way better than say, stevia - I'm using it as a substitute sugar (small doses) in coffee - a great way to add gylcine to your life.

Thanks for the great information.
In Peace, Love, and Health
~T

nice, I know Masterjohn promoted it heavily :)

This experience and knowledge is quit helpful for those who have sleeping disorders and problem calming themselves down, well the dosage is considerably okay for anyone to consume without harm, thanks for the knowledge sir.

Recently started using L-Theanine for my cat. It's one of the main ingredients of calming chews recommended by his vet for anxiety issues.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88