Big wave riding - Nazare, Portugal

in #surfing6 years ago

My days of surfing and body boarding are long done and dusted, but I do still take an interest in watching the occasional vid or doco. I was recently watching a big wave riding doumentary which featured Nazare in Portugal. This prompted me to further watch some youtube vids on this outrageous break which frequently features waves that nobody in their right mind would venture into. There are however the odd dare devils out there with balls the size of jupiter that put their lives in gods hands and take this beast on. It was only a few days after watching this particular doco that we heard that Brazillian Rodrigo Koxa had broken the guiness world record for the biggest wave ever ridden at none other than.... Nazare. The wave measured 24.38m high (or 80 ft). I thought I'd throw up a neat compilation I came across of some of these monsters being tackled at Nazare.

This 2nd vid features the actual record breaking run by Koxa. Absolutely mental!

Sort:  

Incredible waves. I saw a maximum of 1m, somewhere in the Adriatic Sea on the coast of Montenegro. I live in Serbia, in a country that has no sea or ocean.
excellent post

Congratulations @lasertx3! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88