🎨 “Far Away” - Digital Illustrations for Steemit Vision Quest

in #svq6 years ago

Today, I'm re-branding the Steemit Vision Quest ( #svq ) community challenge. So, I'm visualizing some scenes I wish to see in the world. I hope you'll take a breath of fresh air with me, imagining some simple glimpses of everyday heaven.


Vision-Quest-Illustration10.png This new digital illustration is a big leap forward for SVQ. To me, it represents peace and harmony–two of our highest aspirations.


The Story

Traditionally, a Vision Quest is a dedicated search for inspiration. Three months ago, in February, 2018, I felt a calling to bring this event to Steemit–the place where we bring our collective consciousness into focus. My initial intention was to grow alongside the community by concentrating our natural talents and spiritual gifts. To me, this is our Work, with a capital "W", and this is what Steemit is all about.

15 weeks later, I'm still finding endless treasures through the Vision Quest. Week after week, I'm realizing incredible gems of ideas and insights as they present themselves, bringing brilliance and beauty to the world. I've seen breakthroughs in myself and others, as we step into the spotlight and share our art from the heart.

To name a few of the specific participants who have strummed my heartstrings and opened my mind, I celebrate @fishyculture, @trucklife-family, @cronosclocks... Their shares are very meaningful and valuable, I feel, at this time and space, when many of us are reaching toward a new paradigm, a new era, a new way of being in the worlds–on Earth and in Spirit. I'm thankful.


The Vision

Imagining what "Far Away" means to me, I drew a series of digital illustrations. I documented these sketches, to reveal some of the mysterious signs of the divine, who accompanied me in my creative process.

I heard singing birds...

Shiny19-VisionQuest14-Far-Away-5-Gifs Copy 01.gif

I felt the company of a candle burning for me...

Shiny19-VisionQuest14-Far-Away-5-Gifs Copy 02.gif

I caught some rainbows on my pages...

Shiny19-VisionQuest14-Far-Away-5-Gifs Copy 04.gif

and I thought a lot of my mom.

Shiny19-VisionQuest14-Far-Away-5-Gifs Copy 03.gif

These are the reminders of the vision I'm holding, for all of us.

Vision-Quest-Illustration01.png

Vision-Quest-Illustration03.png

Vision-Quest-Illustration07.png


The Process

In this week's Vision Quest, I considered many ways to creatively express the theme "Far Away." Imagine my enjoyment when I started to envision the world far away, back in the past and forward in the future, allowing me–here and now–to imagine life there and then.

This video is a collection of time-lapse footage, featuring the marker illustrations.

My creative process for this song is a matter of entering the Flow, searching for inspiration, drawing the images that presented themselves, and crafting these images into artworks. I drew them in pencil, outlined them in marker, fine-tuned them in Photoshop, and refined them in Illustrator. For the video documentation and animated gifs, I setup a camera (GoPro), clamped to the table, and put the pieces together in Premiere.

Vision-Quest-Illustration12.png Introducing our new announcement poster. We're currently in our 15th week, when the theme is: "Far Away."

Vision-Quest-Illustration11.png My original marker sketch looks like this. I digitized, vectorized, and colorized the illustration.

Vision-Quest-Poster-15-180507.jpg Our original artwork was a wintry mountain scene, with a wolf in the foreground, inviting us to journey into the wild unknown. I sourced these photos from public domain image archives, and integrated them with some Photoshop layering and color correction.


The Quest

This is my entry to Steemit Vision Quest - Week 15: Far Away. Thanks to the SVQ team, who is a steady force of encouragement for all of us willing to bring our collective visions together for the higher good of all: @eaglespirit, @rensoul17, and @girlbeforemirror. Thanks to all the Vision Questers, and thanks to all of the supporters. Thanks to the creators of Steemit, and thanks to those who continue to make this platform great. I appreciate you all.


Sort:  

Aw dear @cabelindsay, this has been more than a contest for me, it's beautiful not only to appreciate the artistic work of others but to connect with them and their ideas, understand each other. For me it is incredible and comforting to realize that despite the distance, the different circumstances, ages and cultures, people can connect in a friendly and even spiritual way with others. Even more beautiful is being able to do it through art.

This contest has meant an opening for me as a person, In fact, it has also helped me study and practice English (I'm still working on it haha) but mainly I have represented a challenge to lose the fear of showing my art and showing myself, to say what I think and feel without fearing to be judged, with the hope of connecting, to know, to reflect and to be reflected in the soul of others. The Steemit Vision Quest keeps magic itself. I feel grateful to be part of this.

PD: Cabe, do you speak Spanish? Jajaja.

Un abrazo!

super cool. I love the gifs. Good to see the kids scribbling away too, haha. These have a really nice graphic quality going on, and fearless marker strokes!
My favorite is the buffalo tipi I think :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02