4.0 - Introduction: Lessons in the Art of Pencil

in #swap5 years ago

SWAP Series No. 4.0
Mission Statement

Introduction: Lessons in the Art of Pencil

"If you hear a voice within you say 'you cannot paint,' then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced."
-Vincent van Gogh!

20190223_143650[56].jpg

Although I was unable to get this post up last week, I think I am still pretty close to on-time, especially considering I never start my week until Monday. I also had a completely different idea for a subject than I will be doing. Let me explain…

Last weekend I started doodling. I had just bought brand new pens (actually I bought them three weeks before and had misplaced them). Anyways… I just HAD to use these suckers! It had been a whole year since I could splurge on good pens (the kids had broken the tips on my previous set). I decided I wanted to make a signature to use for my SWAP posts.

Wouldn't it be cool if I made that signature a piece of art? Hecks yeah! But what would I put in it? Well, I had to ask a few questions of myself. I mean, this is my signature I am drawing. Everything has to be about me.

First thing was easy, there had to be something to do with frogs. I mean, @GG2 just counted over 67. And I know that there are some she is to short to see, some in boxes, and some that I just bought this week. Last year, when we moved, we counted 167 individual frog decorations. In fact, I own every single one available in our local Dollar General stores. So, I had to decide if I just wanted a random frog. Definitely not, but they are adorable when they hang from branches and peek out of flowers. In the end, I decided the hanging frog looked better, but the other side looked so bland now.

What to put next? Well, I love nature conservation. In fact, it ranks up there with art and baking. Whatever I put next had to deal with nature, and it had to tie into the frog. I was coming up blank. I just started drawing in a tree branch that would border my name. It still looked bland. I pulled out my gardening book, started to open it, and was hit with an idea before I even looked at a page. I should add a hanging vine from the tree branch. My favorite flower happens to be blue morning glories, which are a vine with flowering buds.

While doing all this for a signature, I started coming up with the idea to do a small write up on adding value with ink. There are so many ways to do this. I got excited and started drawing up some examples, jotting down notes, and researching the proper terms to use instead of my Bambi-isms. I was chugging along great.

Now, while doing all of this and everything else going on in my life, I am also helping write and illustrate a book. I am actually teaching someone how to do it. I started to realize that you can't just jump into ink. I mean, inking generally entails a pencil sketch to begin with. So I have decided to do a small art series that leads up to adding value with ink.

Let the fun begin!

Sort:  

I can't believe you had 167 of those frogs when we moved you! Goodness that's a bunch of frogs. I just love what you are doing with the weekly posts. Discovery is important and getting back to the basics.
Love you,
Mom

Congratulations @lightfootedbird! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

That’s a hole lot of frogs! Sounds like you have a whole lot on you plate right now. Busy busy. Love what you did here. Great signature sketch! I would of loved to see a close up of the frog.. I can see the pointillism used but when I try to zoom in it gets too fuzzy. Nice explanation on your thought process too! Look forward to more!!!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Hi @lightfootedbird. I see you have not been active on Steem in awhile. I am checking up on everyone who is followed by the Steem Terminal and wanted to let you know that if you ever have any questions or need any help, myself and the rest of the team at the Terminal are here for you!

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9qDNWVTTkbDg7TBEtKFRGVqq9uy8RhBrPE45CnCVhb1DKv8GsLv1tMsWuCFZAr3S4zzCcps8hZZw2Z155KRq6yhEZY5CvhC.jpg

Congratulations @lightfootedbird! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97