Lap swimming and yearly activity progression

in #swimming6 years ago

I went lap swimming yesterday for the first time in 2 weeks. There are many people that use swimming as their number 1 sport for exercise and they swim multiple times a week.
I am still trying to figure out my timing as far as breathing and incorporating bi lateral breathing. (Taking one breath alternating on each side, right, left, right left, etc...) This is more challenging that I thought, especially if your just practicing once a week.
pool.jpg

My swim was 2775 yards over 1hr and 22 minutes. Data is taking from a Garmin Vivoactive HR and displayed on the Garmin Connect site.

Cycling is my main activity and I have cut down on the jogging due to the stress on the knees and other joints. I'm basically trying to preserve my joints to cycling a little longer, so swimming once a week has been a good addition. It's just that it is hard to progress with just one swim each week.

Swimming takes a lot of energy, so I cheated afterwards and picked up a Pesto Chicken pizza. It had artichoke hearts and sun dried tomatoes. With garlic pieces too!
pizza.jpg

My yearly activity progression to date. (Road cycling, mountain bike, jogs and swims)
I have 5 less activities at this time last year. For 2017, there were 20 less activities than 2016! Either I'm getting lazier or other things have been getting in the way of workouts. Or is it motivation? Work? A cumulation of things I guess...

Sort:  

The pizza always feels a little more fun. But after working harder then it will be a little more enjoyable. And it will be more fun to eat after swimming.

I hope you enjoy the food very well.

@glennolua Amigo you do it very well you always devote as much time as you can to sport, I have friends who live there and because of the work they get away from sport completely. Swimming is a very complete sport also friend the work of coordination in breathing is very important, I liked very much the pool, beautiful complex, I practiced buddy but judo, strong sport of hand-to-hand combat. Take good care of your knees and ligaments, buddy. A special greeting, a big hug, enjoy your delicious pizza very much.

Hi, thanks for visiting. I've found that swimming is much harder than it looks or appears. Especially when your older...ha.

@glennolua, Yes my friend, it is complex to swim and even if you have a good physique in the water, it is different. That's why after swimming one feels super exhausted. I expect you to swim more often. Thanks to you, buddy, for always answering. A big hug and a happy night.

I think I will also start swimming. Then I can eat pizza without pangs of conscience

Let us know how it goes, the pizza was pretty good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09