Splish splash

in #swimming5 years ago

When @smallsteps was around 6 months old we started taking her to swimming lessons where she learned to get comfortable in the water. We continued on for awhile however the school that was running the lessons was not very consistent and kept upping the prices and my wife and I could no longer warrant the expense.

She loves the water though and while last summer she spent nearly every day at the lake beach nearby splashing around, this summer hasn't been anywhere near as warm and she has only had one weekend where she could enjoy the lake. Tonight, we decided to take her to a pool and see if she could pick up where she left off with the classes over two years ago.

We had never been to this place but it was out in a suburb and wasn't very expensive and since we went in the evening, it wasn't very busy either - so perfect for her to splash around undisturbed. They had random equipment around and there was a kid's float device that she could use to get comfortable in the water and even confident enough to be by herself unassisted. She really enjoyed it.

I am hoping that we can continue on taking her around to these places and perhaps one day picking up swimming lessons again as I would like her to be a proficient swimmer as I myself have somewhat of an aversion to water.

The day I "learned to swim", I was left to practice by myself and confidently paddled into water where I could no longer touch the bottom, ran out of energy, splashed, struggled and eventually floated to the bottom with my eyes open - after I succumbed to the inevitability of the moment, I was insanely calm. It was so serene. My state of nirvana was broken by someone who jumped in, pulled me to the side and resuscitated me.

I am hoping that my daughter can swim well enough that she can save herself if the need ever arises. And with my acquatic abilities, she might be able to save me too.

Finland is incorrectly labelled the land of a thousand lakes because in actual fact, there are about 200,000 lakes in the country. This means that when the weather is good, there are plenty of activities and sports around the water here with many people are out on the shores, on the boats and even in the winter when the ice is thin, fishing dangerously.

For some reference, there are about the same number of drownings in Finland as there are in Australia but it is only 1/5th of the population size and Australians tend to live by the water and are surrounded by pools most of the year. I think the difference is that at least when I was growing up in Australia, school swimming lessons and safety were common place. There is a reason that Australia does pretty well in the world of swimming sports.

On a side note, once upon a time I spotted Ian Thorpe at the gym before he went on to win 3 gold and 2 silver at the Sydney Olympic games - you are welcome Ian.

It was nice to get into the water today however, the water was pretty cold and @smallsteps started shivering so I took her into the sauna instead until her cheeks were rosy. Saunas are always more pleasant after doing something active.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

Australia is very advanced when it comes to teaching swimming and water safety.
Israel also has great beaches and an outdoor climate all year around but a terrible level of drownings.

Israeli beaches seem very calm and safe but its a bit deceptive. Many people unfamiliar with the sea that can't swim properly walk out into the calm waters and then get themselves into trouble.

Many people unfamiliar with the sea that can't swim properly walk out into the calm waters and then get themselves into trouble.

This seems to be a great deal of the drownings in Oz too. Many tourists seem to get into trouble in the Bondi rip.

Definitely a great idea as you never know when they will need these skills. We needed to do the same when we moved here as every other house has a pool so it is extremely important to learn swimming early. Here it is also a requirement in school (private at least).

Posted using Partiko iOS

My mother was scared we would drown as she had a few people in her family drown so, she didn't teach us to swim and created a fear of the water in us... parenting 101

The look on her face is certainly pure joy.

Posted using Partiko iOS

She loved it. I only had the chance to snap a couple pics but her face was all smiles the entire time.

I bet we get eaten by great whites more often than the Finnish.

Ha, yeah, I can "almost" guarantee that :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04