My Fantasy D&D Redesign Part 1

in #tabletop-rpg6 years ago

image.png

Way back when, when 5th Edition D&D was being announced, I used it as an excuse to write a series of articles about how I would approach a game like D&D if I were given the reins. It's interesting to look back at these now with perspective from the work I did on Machinations of the Space Princess and converting it back to fantasy to put a new game and rules-set out.

D&D isn't a 'sacred cow' for me. I didn't start with D&D. I started with Fighting Fantasy and Middle Earth Roleplaying. I never much liked D&D finding it rather limited in a number of ways to the games I came up with - which were either very simple and open to interpretation, or very complex and full of nuance. I developed a bit of a dislike for D&D after, during an adventure, I stabbed a sleeping dragon in the eye and, because I wasn't a thief, this only did basic damage.

Bah. Bah I say.

Anyway, here will be a series of articles looking back on how I would have made D&D.*


Abilities
The central aspect that defines any character, guides their options, channels them into their class and most strongly describes who and what they are.

Abilities have traditionally been 3d6 rolls and spanning 3-18. Low statistics have given a penalty and high statistics a bonus. There have been complications like 18/00 and so on but really all it boils down to is the bonus/penalty. The actual statistic number has almost always been irrelevant (unless the GM improvised rolls against statistics) and, frankly, there’s no need for them.

Roll flat or roll and assign is probably the least complex way to go about things, point buy is good for making designed characters but some people like to play it hardcore and play what they roll and roll-and-assign makes a good half-way house for those who want some more control.

So, for the rolling of abilities, I think I’d get rid of the score and just go by the bonus. That’s all you need. To get an averaging bell-curve in the statistics I’d want to use multiple dice but I think 2d6 works better than 3d6 for the spread – positive and negative – that we’re after.

2: -5
3: -4
4: -3
5: -2
6: -1
7: +0
8: +1
9: +2
10: +3
11: +4
12: +5

I think the statistics themselves are fairly good as a spread and their familiarity outweighs any real advantage in changing them. I might, however, be tempted to reinstate the Comeliness stat as a measure – purely – of the physical beauty or handsomeness of a character. I think it’s a useful RP aid, even though Charisma matters far more past a first impression.

Strength: Power in combat, oomph, carrying, breaking.
Dexterity: Ability to get out of the way of harm, speed, manual skill.
Constitution: Toughness, resistance to disease, ability to cope with harm.
Charisma: Charm, wit, warmth, trustworthiness.
Intelligence: Smarts, book learning.
Wisdom: Native cunning, thoughtfulness, depth.
**Comeliness: **Sex appeal, beauty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75