Segira Tomorrow?

Apparently I lied when I said I would have a Segira sneak peek every day. I've found that there's just not always something interesting, like a character sheet, to show off.

I think that if I put in a good day's work tomorrow, like I did with the Hammercalled quick-start guide, I should be able to get everything together, though a certain amount of that's getting the final setup in Scribus working.

One of the things I've noticed about Segira as it currently stands is that I've somehow managed to royally demolish the usual setup with regards to how I lay out my books, so I've got a total incoherent mess. I'll have to sort this out during the Scribus transfer, since I'm still finishing up the game in Libre Office.

My Segira map is really hurting. I want to get it into the game, but I don't think it'll necessarily work out. Turns out cartography is hard, who'd have guessed?

Part of the problem with this is trying to overlay like eight different types of information simultaneously.

I might redraw some of the map for a more simple appearance, but I don't want to push back the release for it. At the same time, maybe I should, since then the book would be that much better. We'll see.

I was hoping to have the finished character sheet and a sample character on display today, but I got distracted by other stuff.

One nice thing about working in Scribus versus Libre Office is that it's really easy to copy a page in Scribus, and since Scribus is built around pages as the main focal point of the layout you won't wind up accidentally moving the bottom half of your character sheet to another page if something goes weird with a formatting thing elsewhere in the text. This means that the sample character sheet in the PDF and the form-fillable sheet can be easily added (and updated as necessary) based on a separate source file, something which is a pain in LibreOffice.

Sort:  

Scribus sounds nice because normally I screw up everything when I try to add more stuff to a page xD

It's nice, but extra effort on the setup side. By the time you're getting to 50 pages or so you probably hit the break even on "extra hassle up front, reduced angst later" scale. Plus, things like the cover are tremendously less difficult.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @loreshapergames! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98