The Greater Rift: An Othenar Map

Othenar is the fantasy setting that I've been working on for a while now, and I'm running a semi-regular D&D game set in the universe (despite generally not liking D&D all that much.

The Greater Rift is a society largely dominated by humans. Home to four major settlements (Hope, Irondwell, Fort Arndwen, and New Fernaeus), most of its inhabitants are the descendants of rebels sent down by the Empire of Egrondest, who take advantage of the magical field surrounding the Rift to keep dissidents from returning to cause them more angst later.

The Empire's portals lead to a receiving nexus in Arrival. The small outpost is filled with people who serve as a welcome party for those shunned by the empire, but it is also fortified against incursion. Only the cunning can spot the wards and charms that have been placed to ward off the Empire's undead and the caches of weapons before they are shepherded on to Hope or Irondwell.

The Greater Rift has exits leading down to the Lower Rift, which is largely inhabited by lizardfolk, beastpeople, and devils. While some human explorers have gone down there (and Fort Andwen guards a passage to and from the Lower Rift), the Lower Rift is too hot for the fungus that lights the Greater Rift to grow, preventing comfortable human habitation.

The Rift.png

Sort:  

I spent a lot of time creating a world of my own for a fiction series I intend to write, but the idea of building a game around it never occurred to me until I seen this post. I'm not yet sure how I would go about it, but I thank you for the inspiration.

To be fair, I'm pretty much just using pre-canned stuff for this one. Just regular 5th edition Dungeons & Dragons, but we call some stuff by different names. I think the players have been getting into it, at least a little.

Personally, I don't care for D&D, but it's a great game (for other people) and what my players wanted.

Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

SGC_Logo_Font_style_2.png

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34