Nhy Star (Dortmund, Germany): A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image

In yet another continuing trend of "Asian" restaurants in Germany, this time, I'm presenting a Vietnamese restaurant that I ate at recently in Dortmund whilst working there. I know this is giving the impression that I'm against German food, but I do love German food. Just that whilst on tour, I find that it can be a bit unsettling to have too much German food, but that is a particular peculiarity for my own stomach as I get older....

The Space

unnamed.jpg

The restaurant is quite an easy one to find as you walk past on one of the smaller streets of Dortmund, and it is quite close to the Hauptbahnhof of Dortmund. Interestingly enough, it is in really quite close proximity to a coin shop (where I had a quick look, just to see if I could get anything new toys to post about in #steemsilvergold).

unnamed (18).jpg

The place is a bit non-descript in it's decor. Nothing that really stands out, it is clean but without too much character. If you ask me, it felt a little plasticky... a bit cheap.

unnamed (19).jpg

The specials board was well placed, in clear enough writing so that you didn't have to get up and take a look from close up. However, I'm really not a fan of televisions in a restaurant. Luckily they didn't have it on....

unnamed (17).jpg

There is an open "kitchen" area which is mostly for drinks and the finishing touches on dishes. Most of the food is prepared and cooked down the back in a more traditional non-open kitchen.

The Menu

This menu ended up being huge.... with over 150 entries including drinks. I'm not such a fan of these extended editions of menus. I prefer that restaurants serve a smaller variety of dishes done well, or if there are variations on the type of meat or vegetables, then that can be done in a way that doesn't take up quite so much space... Otherwise, it ends up being a bit too confusing, especially in a foreign language...

However, I will include a few pages of the menu here just as a sample. Mostly, it was pretty standard Vietnamese fare as far as I could understand!

unnamed (6).jpg

unnamed (7).jpg

unnamed (8).jpg

unnamed (9).jpg

unnamed (10).jpg

unnamed (11).jpg

unnamed (12).jpg

unnamed (13).jpg

unnamed (14).jpg

Phew... way too many pages... and this wasn't even half of them!

The Food

unnamed (2).jpg

I ended up ordering a Duck Yellow Curry, which was really actually very good! It wasn't chili hot, but the spices and the curry itself really made a nice addition to the roast duck! There's nothing better than roast duck! However, for me the rice was a little dry for my taste. Not bad, just a little harder than I prefer...

unnamed (1).jpg

One of my colleagues let me take this snap of a Rice Noodle soup. It was actually quite nice, but the bowl that they served it in (you can't quite see it from this angle) was pretty precarious. It really looked like the soup was only just going to stay in... pretty bowl, and interesting design... but a disconcerting feeling for a bowl of hot liquid!

The Experience

The wait staff were really friendly, and the food was decent and not too expensive. We were early for the lunch session by 15 minutes... but seeing as we had just stepped off the plane and the hotel hadn't had our rooms prepared yet, we had run off to find something to eat. It was freezing outside, but the staff were really kind and let us sit inside whilst they were preparing the restaurant to open!

It's not the best Vietnamese food that I've had, but it was nice and filling. I would come back, but I wouldn't reccomend it as a must visit restaurant. However, pleasant enough if you have that Vietnamese food itch to scratch whilst in Dortmund!

Opening Times

Monday - Friday: 12:00 - 15:00 & 17:00 - 23:00
Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 13:00 - 23:00

Contact Details

Address: Hansastraße 24, 44137 Dortmund, Germany
Phone: 0231 5574 8873

FaceBook
Instagram
TripAdvisor
Yelp


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

SB_new.png


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Restaurant Information


Nhy Star
score
Hansastraße 24, 44137 Dortmund, Germany


Nhy Star (Dortmund, Germany): A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

I agree that the menu appear much to large and the décor a bit stark. I've never seen a menu in Vietnamese, German, and English, all at once! LOL! The food looks good, though! 😋

It's pretty crazy to have all the languages at once... but I guess it ends up making sense... I can't read the Vietnamese though... only the German (sort of) and the English (well...). It was a nice place to eat at, but I did end up find a better place in the same town!

The roast duck looks so good! Bookmarked. Might give it a try next time when I go to Dortmund. :) And the pho reminds me of my experience in Vietnam - they always told me they eat it there as breakfast when I tried to order it for dinner, haha...

It was a decent enough place... I was there long enough to find another place that was much better though. I will try and write it up in an another Tasteem review soon (maybe next week, I did a Russia one this week).

roast duck and yellow curry, hmmm..
i wonder if chinese restaurants do peking duck n curry. food can change in another country to suit different tastebuds =)

Yes, definitely! Food in different countries adapt to the local taste... unfortunately....

Nein wie geil! 1000 mal dran vorbei gelaufen an dem Schuppen... komme ja da aus der Gegend :-) schöne Review. Werd mich doch wohl mal da blicken lassen ☺️

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sorry, my German failed me this time!

Was Talking about, That i Know this Restaurant :-) im from this Location 😀

Oh! I have one more restaurant from Dortmund that I liked very much (better than this one!), I'll probably write it up next week!

Great I’m looking forward! :-) so you also live here in this Location? 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

No, I was just visiting for work. I live in the Netherlands.

Yeah, it does look kind of simple when it comes to the design, maybe they were overcompensating that with so much variety of food on the menu. The nice staff is definitely a huge bonus.

Yes, nice staff is always a great thing (as long as it isn't forced...). Despite the large selection of choices, it was really quite good food though!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=bengy
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tasteem-34c9af


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @bengy, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Hi @bengy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.961 which ranks you at #3747 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 3749).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #68.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 301 (11/03/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30