Bistro Ichozaka (Tokyo, A Tasteem Review)

in #tasteem6 years ago

title_image

During my few days in Japan, I was able to try out a couple of really nice restaurants. In general, it seems to be pretty hard to get a bad food experience whilst in Japan, however, I’m sure that many locals would disagree. To me, even the lunch boxes that you can get as a take away meal for the Train (Shinkansen) is a million times better than the greasy horrible food that are usually the fast food fare at most European train stations.

On one of the evenings, we were flown into Tokyo quite late and so there wasn’t too much time for hunting around for something decent. Between the jet-lag and the pressing hunger, I thought it would be easiest to just to find something close to the hotel where I was staying. So, after wandering around a bit, and deciding that I didn’t want to wait in lines when I was so hungry I found a few restaurants that seemed to be linked to the hotel complex that we were staying in. Oddly enough, there were Italian places and “Western” food places, but I figured that might be more appealing for the locals, but while I was in Japan, I wanted Japanese food!

The Space

IMG_20180908_221427.jpg

This particular place caught my eye, the Japanese Bistro “Ichozaka”. It is a dimly lit restaurant and bar with an open kitchen. I found that it was a bit busier and noisier than I would prefer (the music especially), however, I did like the darker setting which allowed me to sink into a corner table and not have to deal with anyone else whilst reading on my phone and computer.

IMG_20180908_213249.jpg

As you can see, the tables are individually lit with down lights, but the diners are not. This was quite nice, allowing you to see your food and drinks quite easily, without being able to see the other diners (and in turn, allowing you to be in the shadows). I really like this sort of lighting, but I understand that it might not be to everyone’s taste (haha!).

The Menu

IMG_20180908_213741.jpg

Well, as you can probably guess from the title of “Tapas” menu, the food on offer was a mix of Japanese and Western foods. I only took photos of the Japanese section of the menu, as that was the only thing that I was interested in eating. However, from spying on what the other tables were ordering, the Western choices looked pretty good as well! That said, I didn’t walk over to other people’s tables to take photos….

IMG_20180908_213754.jpg

The main menu was also split into a Western and a Japanese section, and yet again, I am only showing the Japanese section as that was what I was going to choose from. See if you can guess what I was going to order? HINT: It is probably the second most famous Japanese meal type after Sushi!

IMG_20180908_213757.jpg

Here is a sample of the Western part of the menu. I love Paella when I am in Spain, often it will be on the top of the list of what I will probably order, either as a side or as a main dish. However, in Japan, I’m not sure if that is what I will be eating!

The Food

IMG_20180908_215333.jpg

Whilst waiting for the main meals to arrive, I was given a little appetiser of salmon and caviar. Nothing grand, but a tasty little treat whilst waiting in addition to the Japanese beer, Asahi. Nothing like a beer and snack after a long day of travel you are sitting around starving!

IMG_20180908_215622.jpg

For the entrée, I had ordered the Satsuma-age (Fried Fish cakes) gilled on a Mt. Fuji Lava Stone Plate. It was unexpectedly sweetish and came with some nice condiments and some grilled vegetables. I can’t say if the plate was authentically from Mt Fuji, but it did it’s job well. The candles underneath keep the food warm, but after a while were starting to overcook the fish cakes. I should have blown them out…

IMG_20180908_215721.jpg

Ramen is my favourite (or at least one of my favourite) Japanese dishes. There is nothing better than a warm noodle soup with all the various toppings. So, when I saw it on the menu, it was a complete no brainer… I needed some comfort food after a long long day of travelling! This dish lives and dies by the quality of the soup and noodles (the extras being the bonus on top), and I’m happy to say that both aspects were up to scratch, decently textured noodles and a soup broth that was tasty whilst not being oily or salty.

IMG_20180909_191638.jpg

Later, after the main meal, I relocated to the bar, to free up the table for other patrons. However, I was still peckish, and so I asked for a dessert menu to continue onwards with the eating! There were a few interesting selections on the menu, and I couldn’t choose, so I went with the sampler plate, with a few choices (chef’s choice) from the menu. In this case, I got a Panna Cotta with berry sauce, a chocolate cake with ice-cream and a Yuzu mouse with citrus fruits. All of which went down very nicely, as I was at the bar I also took the opportunity to have a little shot of Amaretto.

The Experience

IMG_20180908_215725.jpg

The service was swift and polite, and I actually enjoyed the lighting ambience of the restaurant (although not everyone would). I did find it a bit noisy with the background music, but again, that is really my personal taste. I enjoyed the fact that the wait staff pretty much left you alone in your own world unless you signalled for them, I really dislike it when they come and bother you with questions about the meal or if you want more of this or that…

One minor complaint was that the entrée and main course arrived at the same time! However, that is a very minor complaint, and not something that would ruin the experience. However, I can imagine that if there were more people than a single person, then this could be a problem…

Cost was a little on the expensive side of things, but still reasonable, especially considering that it was a restaurant that was attached and in easy walking distance to the hotel that I was staying at. Sometimes, the convenience is worth that little bit extra!

The food was top notch, although as I have remarked in this post and others, it is pretty hard not to find decent food in Japan. Or perhaps my experience is limited….

Opening Times

Breakfast: 6:30 – 10:00
Cafe: 10:00 – 17:00
Lunch: 11:30 – 15:00 (Last Order 14:30)
Dinner: 17:00 – 23:00 (Last Order 22:30)
Bar: 17:00 – 1:00 (Last Order 0:30)

Contact Details

Address: Annex Tower 1st floor
4 Chome-10-30 Takanawa, Minato, Tokyo 108-8611, Japan

NOTE: As it is inside a building complex and part of the hotel, it was pretty hard to get an exact address for the restaurant. I've done the best I can!

Website: http://www.princehotels.com/shinagawa/restaurants/ichozaka-bistro-japonais/


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Restaurant Information


Bistro Ichozaka
score
4 Chome-10-30 Takanawa, Minato-ku, Tōkyō-to 108-8611, Japan


Bistro Ichozaka (Tokyo, A Tasteem Review)
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Food looks good and well presented @bengy the lighting of the restaurant sounds nice, giving one a feeling of being within your own bubble to enjoy the meal.

That's exactly how I thought about the lighting! I found it very comfortable in an otherwise public place!

Omg... this looks delicious! I’m drooling over here. Thanks for the exotic food tease. 😉 Looks like a fabulous dining experience.

Ha ha! All mine, not sharing!

Greta review and the food looks great

Thanks, it was quite tasty!

Thanks for your review, @bengy. I read your article to see the style of presentation of the food more than just the food itself. I've had a certain fascination for Japanese style, their cars, their trains, their architecture, and here, their food.

You captured a very candid view of a small, mom and pop shop restaurant. Those one of a kind places are nice to find because they are independent of the big chains. I'm not sure if I will ever eat there, but for now, I live vicariously.

Yes, the Japanese (in general) have a great eye for details and presentation. It shows, even in the most unexpected places (foods at stations, the care of wrapping stuff in shops).

This particular restaurant was part of the hotel, so not so small! However, this place was a little place in the way you described!

https://steemit.com/tasteem/@bengy/tasteem-ebf56f

Oh how lucky you are to have been in Japan! I have stories of how beautiful the countryside is by my sister inlaw that is from Japan. Have you written about site seeing? I would love to know more!
Japanese food is like no other. It is way healthier that our greasy stuff and even the 'Japanese' restaurants we have here is not even the real thing. Good for you to be having this experience ^_^

I'm afraid I had very little time for sight seeing this time! The touring schedule was quite punishing and left very little time for sleep, let alone sight seeing! The last time I was here for work, we had a bit more time and so I managed to see more, but that was before the Steem chain launched!

Aw that's too bad. Hopefully next time will be better and that you get to share some of it with us. Perhaps one day Japan will be on my bucket list ^_^

it looks pretty cool and the dishes have a gourmet style! As far as it concerns the price how was it? i don't wanna know what you paid just a generic comment of cheap, expensive something in between! (for the average person ofc )

Ha ha, depends how you define average! Well, I thought it was a touch on the expensive side, but not excessively so. From memory, it was around 20 euro total.

However, I was happy to pay that as I was starving and exhausted, and not willing to go searching too far from the hotel! Also, whilst on tour we receive a per diem fee for food each day, which I normally am nowhere close to spending!

20 euros total for all of these seems a very decent price, i was expecting to read 50-80 total :P

Ha ha! It looks much worse in yen... Something like 2500 yen or something like that...

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 10 SBD worth and should receive 222 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thanks @trufflepig! Hope you are right!

Sir Bengy! haha, hey this, for me, being a non-traveler is such an amazing post and very unique. A glimpse into food choices that are totally foreign but look wonderful!
I enjoy everything about your experience, it looks like you made a wonderful choice in that restaurant!

I got lucky with this one, but it had to go wrong! I'm a big too scared to go into the really really unusual foods though, well... Not a while meal, just a little taste. So I stick to the stuff that I know!

Glad I could share it with you!

sir bengy! well I'm glad you were able to share it too. Are there any countries that you travel to where the food is too strange or where you don't like the food or does everyone have good food?

So far, no... Classical Music tends to take you to pretty well known and safe locations! Although, eating out can get a bit too much for the stomach... Food tends to be more oily or salty or just too rich in comparison to what I normally eat!

sir bengy! how interesting...and you would have to watch your diet carefully I would think because of the potential of having an upset stomach or something which you can't afford to have in those concerts! oh my gosh you are just stuck sitting there for how long at a time??

If you mean the concerts, it is normally around 50 minutes per half, sometimes more sometimes less!

sir bengy! I don't mean to be a pain but you mean that you play for 50 minutes or so and then have a break and then the second half after the break?

Yes, although it can sometimes be a longer (or shorter) halves or that the interval might be in uneven halves. In general a concert can be 30 minutes total or up to around 3 hours total. An Opera or a ballet will usually weigh in at around 2-3 hours.

The food looks so yummy. Japanese restaurant always make food delicate.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, they take so much care with the food and the presentation!

Awesome write up! It makes me feel like I need to go back and edit the one I just did. I feel like I should have included more information. That lighting is really awesome! I don't think I would dislike it at all.

I've been learning from other people's reviews as well! Just don't make yours better than mine!

I love the lighting, it felt much more private than a brightly lit place.

Don't worry, I think yours has mine beat hands down!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39