Golden Gai (Ghent, Belgium): A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image

This week I was in Ghent (Belgium) for work and wanted to try out a very new ramen (Japanese noodles in soup broth) that was recommended to me by a friend. From what I understand, the place is only about half a year old at the time of this writing, and run by someone who has a keen interest in both food and drinks (especially cocktails). So, it was all quite intriguing, and this is my @tasteem review of the restaurant!

The Space

IMG_20181120_190314.jpg

As you can see, the restaurant is pretty non-descript from the outside. I’m not even sure that they had a proper sign up yet! It is also in an area of town that is outside the usual trails of the tourist crowd, but despite this, it seemed to have some healthy customer traffic.

IMG_20181120_190337.jpg

This “chalked” message on the front glass door is perhaps the only indication to the outside world that you have the right place! However, the décor is pretty pinkish, so that would be another thing that would catch your eye. From the front, you can see easily the cocktail bar area, something that I didn’t have the pleasure of trying this time…

IMG_20181120_190334.jpg

There are a few seating opportunities downstairs, but there are more seating places upstairs. Upstairs is much nicer, as there is less chill from the wind blowing in when the front door opens.

IMG_20181120_200900.jpg

The tables and décor is very simple and basic. I’m not sure if it is a hip thing, or if it really is a concept of function over style! Or maybe that is the new style?

IMG_20181120_194145.jpg

This is the view from upstairs where we were seated. As you can see there is quite a fair bit of seating downstairs, its just that in winter, it is much more cosy upstairs!

IMG_20181120_193348.jpg

Open kitchen? CHECK! This is the preparation area for the Ramen and the cocktails. Interestingly enough, the staff are not Japanese, which is usually a bad sign for Japanese food, but in this case it was not a disaster!

The Menu

IMG_20181120_190531.jpg

The menu is pretty simple, there is a good selection of ramen and soups with a few small appetisers and desserts. This is the best approach for menus, small selection done well!

IMG_20181120_190505.jpg

There is also a nice selection of interesting beers and wines. In the end, I had the Pony’s beer from the tap, and it was quite a decent one for a tap beer!

IMG_20181120_190501.jpg

The other highlight of the place is the cocktail menu. Some very interesting concoctions are on offer here, and as the owner seems to have had some background in cocktail making, it would be nice to try this part of the menu out if you have the time!

The Food

IMG_20181120_194136.jpg

I ended up settling on the Miso Ramen, I pretty much order this every time I visit a Ramen shop (a bit like my duck fetish!). There are three parts to a great ramen, the broth, the noddles and the additions.

I have to say, this was pretty decent! The broth was perfect, not too salty but with good taste and the additions were pretty decent. The egg, the mushrooms and the greens were perfect with great taste, however I have to say the pork was pretty disappointing.

So, that just leaves the ramen. It was okay, I found that it was a touch overcooked with a onsistency that wasn’t quite right. Not terrible, but not the best.

IMG_20181120_201431.jpg

Well, who could pass up the idea of a Miso Brownie? I guess it follows the similar principle as salted caramel, with the saltiness of the miso emphasising and combining with the sweetness of the chocolate? In the end, it was quite tasty even if it was a touch strange. Perhaps a bit too salty, but I could see that it would work, perhaps In a slightly different balance of salty and sweet.

The Experience

The staff were really very friendly, and the service was very quick. The beer on tap and that was featured was really very good, and I’m told that the cocktails were also excellent. The ramen (the main event) was quite good, although with a few small tweaks I would say it would be one of the best that I’ve had. Even as is, it was one of the best that I’ve had in Europe.
Prices were a touch expensive, but the place is a great stop for a cosy and warm winter meal. Highly recommended!

Opening Times

Monday Closed
Tuesday 6–10pm
Wednesday 6–10pm
Thursday 6–10pm
Friday 6–10pm
Saturday 6–10pm
Sunday Closed

Contact Details

Address: Dampoortstraat 11, 9000 Gent, Belgium
Phone: +32 9 329 37 01
Email: [email protected]
Website: http://www.goldengai.be/

Facebook
Instagram
TripAdvisor


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

SB_new.png


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Restaurant Information


Golden Gai
score
Dampoortstraat 11, 9000 Gent, Belgium


Golden Gai (Ghent, Belgium): A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Nice idea to add your experience about the taste, service, and the price.

Great review.

#tasteem-curation
[Tasteem Global Supporter]

Thanks for the support and curation! Sorry, I'm really behind on my replies!

It looks like a budget startup - but a good one! The ramen looks pretty although I don't eat meat. I'm sure they'd have fish or veggie options. What really caught my eye was the whisky sour, which is one of my favourite cocktails when made well. I had to google paardebloemwortel, which is apparently dandelion root. Sounds interesting, as do many of the other cocktails. The cocktails are usually made from gin or vodka, and I'm not keen on either.

It is definitely a new place! There are fish and veggie options, well, definitely a veggie option (one of my colleagues had it!). Although, that also means that broth is very different as the soup normally has a bit of minced pork in it as well.

Only a couple of cocktails were tried by the others, but all around it was high praise for them!

Oh that food looks very nice, I'll have to swing by there when I visit Ghent again! Great review :)

Saying it could be the best of Europe (that you've ever had) really makes me want to try it even more.

Well, I have two more recommendations for Netherlands and another for Düsseldorf that are supposed to be really good... But yes, one of the best!

It is closer to Dampoort than St Pieters

I like the stealth aspect of this place. The beer list looks really good too.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

It is completely stealth! There are a few places like that in Gent. Places that you have to find and book in advance, and they are just like someone's kitchen! Although, it can be some pretty decent food!

Miso brownie? Hmmmm... I would be unsure about that - lol... The restaurant looks nice and cozy from outside and in. Pity about the pork...

I was also dubious about the miso brownie... but the salty and sweet does work (a touch too much salty this time...)! After all, salted caramel is my favourite topping for crepes!

Looks like a very peaceful place where to enjoy some tasty food :D

It was a perfect place to hole up for a nice soup on a cold evening! Highly recommended!

Looks like a great place and good luck with the review contest my friend! Blessings!

Thanks! Definitely a place I would visit again!

howdy sir bengy! Why could you have the beer but not the cocktail? Because this was before a performance?
I thought that was a great review!

No, nothing about a performance... I just wanted something to go with a meal, and a beer was the thing! A cocktail would have gone well with dessert I guess.. I just didn't!

howdy back sir bengy! Master of the violin, the game review posts and the restaurant review posts! lol. Ok, that makes sense about the beer.

Nice to share places off of the beaten track @bengy interesting to read how long it took to prepare the food, that is quite quick for a restaurant.

Ramen is really the Japanese fast food! So, I would be a bit disturbed if it took too long!

Hmmmm... Bengy? There is nature coming out of your plate there...

The place looks interesting, I am great you had a lovely time there.

Haha! Yes... there was a huge outgrowth of green things coming out! (although... in this picture with this light, it looks pretty black...)...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84