Ted Drewes Frozen Custard - A Tasteem Review

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


There can be no question as to my favorite place to have dessert. Even in the dead of winter, when you think frozen custard would not be your first inclination, a trip to St Louis always warrants a trip to Ted's if at all possible.

Drewes is a famous tradition in St Louis. It has been in business for over 80 years. It all started with Ted Drewes, Sr. who was a St Louis tennis champion from 1925 - 1936.

Over the years this small custard shoppe has become a popular stop for both St Louisians and tourists. There are often groups from all over the world there taking pictures and enjoying the treats. They created the popular "concrete" in 1959, which is so thick that it can be turned upside down. Here is the FoxTreat concrete that I ordered. It's made with real raspberries, hot fudge, macadamia nuts, and of course their family secret receipe custard.

20190311_110916_resized.jpg

My husband ordered the same combination, FoxTreat but in a sundae.

20190311_110908_resized.jpg

The menu is displayed on both ends of the building and on lamentaed displays at the order window.

20190311_110812_resized.jpg

20190311_110704_resized.jpg

There are so many interesting combinations, I may never get to all of them, but I'm certainly willing to try.

So if you are in the St Louis area, please do yourself a favor and make a stop at this shoppe. You will be glad that you did!


Restaurant Information


Ted Drewes Frozen Custard
score
6726 Chippewa St, St. Louis, MO 63109, USA


Ted Drewes Frozen Custard - A Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest My favourite dessert


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

blueeyes8960.gif

Coinsplus.jpg

LINK to discord

5ShzsKnKF7vppGeV6VN3m3GSDcLoRruAhMmifZtFSDkYScLtVyWb1vMNEZUd6n8eJ9GR6KR1rEAXSfznQ6tuJnfFFUCrcmnUydT1wuuXmBBjZamfSkSx7R8QtzbrL9NhAYedbrYR5Ezg72WQDmadya61.gif



[credit@EdibleCthulhu]

99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWYov37C6BjUdaTZT29DGryrTpwwdpqCgirPemMU3z3txPKvruXNYFGvejqt3VogK8zZfNHzdqCvnNPsC5V9vS9.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

We have been going to Ted Drew's for years, they simply have the best custard I have ever had. My favorite is the Fox Treat. And usually that's what I get every time we go. But a couple of days ago I tried their strawberry sundae for the first time and let's just say that now I am going to have some serious choices to make when I go back lol So much good custard you just cant go wrong.

Posted using Partiko Android

Strawberry sundae topped with pecans right? My favorite used to be just a plain old hot fudge sundae, but now it's fox treat most of the time!

Yes it was, and next time we go back iam going to make sure I super size it lol

Posted using Partiko Android

I love me some frozen custard. 🍦

Posted using Partiko Android

Hope you can make it to Ted's then someday. Theres enough things to do in St Louis, it's worth a trip!

Wow, what a place ! If I was ever in St. Louis, I'd be sure to give them a try :)

Frozen custard sounds a bit odd in my head but in a good way :D I wish there'd be some one in my locality who'd open such a place :D :D :D I love custards XD And that menu is so enticing * ___ * No wonder they have become such a tradition for St. Louisianians :D !

Yes you need to look it up if you ever do visit St Louis. It's well worth the visit!

Looks like the type of place that brings a smile to faces that visit; especially on those warm and sunny days.

Yes I don't think I've ever seen anyone frowning there. Unless it's the one who pays the bill, because it is a little expensive.

It's hard to believe how high prices have become for just a scoop of ice cream or a piece of pie when dining out.

Oh yeah, love me some frozen custard. Why do they even bother selling tiny, what's the point? Extra large all the way

Oh yea, you and my husband think alike!

I have been to Ted Drewes. It is to die for! I've tried about 4 of their different combinations and they have never disappointed. It's a little high priced, you certainly wouldn't want to take the kid's baseball team there for treats after the game unless you're loaded, lol. But there really is nothing to compare to Drewes. My current favorite is the Twisted Caramel (salted caramel and pretzels) but I agree the Fox Treat is good too. There aren't many places where you can get macadamia nuts added.

Don't know why I haven't tried the twisted caramel yet, I love salted caramel. But the fox treat is so good I have trouble ordering anything else.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <My favourite dessert > Contest . Thanks to @blueeyes8960, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Wow, the second photo is awesome! The owners of the place make cool desserts!

Yes those concretes really stand up to the test!

That looks yummy! I like how he puts the cup upside down to show how thick it is.

I've seen them do that in the height of summer too, so it wasn't just because it was cold out. If it comes out of the cup, it's free!

That looks like an awesome place for a treat. Those family businesses are the best!

I agree, 80 years and several generations family owned. I didn't mention it in the review but they also sell Christmas trees and fresh cut greenery during the winter. The place smells amazing with all the pine and spruce.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75