#Ulog #11 - Pi Pizzeria - A Tasteem Review "Pasta vs Pizza"

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


My niece and her boyfriend came by on Saturday and invited us to go with them to a pizzeria in St. Louis called Pi. I usually don't travel 140 miles round trip just to eat pizza, but hey, it was Saturday night and nothing was happening, so why not?

I'm very glad we did because we had the most unusual and delicious pizza I've ever had. But first things first, - the building and the ambiance were very upscale and trendy. It was located in downtown St. Louis in a very accessible location.

20190511_200623.jpg

You could even make this the destination of a downtown carriage ride!

20190511_200250.jpg

Here's a couple of shots of their stylish interior:

20190511_201415.jpg

20190511_201348.jpg

Now for the pizza and the drinks menu:

20190511_201336.jpg

20190511_203236.jpg

Since there were four of us and we intended to order 1 large pizza to share we decided to order the chips and dip for an appetizer while the pizza was cooking. They featured handcrafted chips from a local company.

20190511_203022.jpg

They were served with house-made French Onion Dip. Wow, I can't say enough about that dip. I wish I had their recipe. It was very thick and had thin slices of onion throughout. Dip so thick it would break your chip!

20190511_202722.jpg

Now for the pizza. We ordered the deep dish Cubano, which I've never heard of or seen anywhere else. It was made with mozzarella cheese, slow-cooked pork shoulder, country ham, kosher pickles, yellow mustard, and fresh parsley. Quite an unusual combination, but I fear I'm never going to try any of their pizza because this one stole my heart! Absolutely delicious!

20190511_204815.jpg

20190511_204809.jpg

Four of us together were unable to finish this. Luckily I scored the one piece left to take home. Unluckily, my husband ended up with it the next day.

Now for the bill - I was expecting a pretty hefty price tag in that sort of place in downtown St Louis. So I was very nicely surprised to find the total for the pizza and the appetizer was less than $30 - an extremely affordable price to feed 4 people!

This restaurant is going down in my hall of fame for pizza, and yes, I might just drive 140 miles again just to order it. Thankfully we go to St. Louis quite a bit so this will definitely be incorporated in a trip there soon!


Restaurant Information


Pi Pizzeria
score
610 Washington Ave, St. Louis, MO 63101, USA


Pi Pizzeria - A Tasteem Review "Pasta vs Pizza"
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Pasta vs Pizza


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

text15.png

If you enjoy writing short fiction stories (less than 1,000 words) I'd love to have you join me on Narrative. Here's a link directly to my page featuring Flash Fiction:

Join me on Narrative

Get in on the ground floor and see what it's all about. If you have any questions, feel free to ask me in the comments.

FLASH_FICTION_LOGO.gif

blueeyes8960.gif

5ShzsKnKF7vppGeV6VN3m3GSDcLoRruAhMmifZtFSDkYScLtVyWb1vMNEZUd6n8eJ9GR6KR1rEAXSfznQ6tuJnfFFUCrcmnUydT1wuuXmBBjZamfSkSx7R8QtzbrL9NhAYedbrYR5Ezg72WQDmadya61.gif



[credit@EdibleCthulhu]


final blockcard.JPG
Link to Blockcard

99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWYov37C6BjUdaTZT29DGryrTpwwdpqCgirPemMU3z3txPKvruXNYFGvejqt3VogK8zZfNHzdqCvnNPsC5V9vS9.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

xjcw0p72hv.jpg

Get your copy of our current book "Voices in the Darkness" here. A new book will be coming out June 1st!

usabanner-compact-blueeyes8960.png

Sort:  

OMG, now I'm really want pizza! Your pizza looks delicious. yummy🍕

But unfortunately in my area is hard to find pizza. Just big chain like pizza hut. 😕

Great review

#tasteem-curation

Posted using Partiko Android

@anggreklestari I wish I could take you to this restaurant. It's truly special. I'm actually glad it's not that close though, or I'd want to eat there too often, and pizza isn't the healthiest of foods, lol.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.

I want to try this pizza too!

@amalinavia You wouldn't be disappointed. They have all kinds of combinations, but this one was so much different than I've ever seen that we just had to try it!

That is a long trip for pizza, but wow it looks so good, and how cool is that carriage did you also see Cinderella I think it is hers :)

It does look like something out of a fairy tale, right?

Yes it totally does, and that place I forgot to say has such a lovely decor

Yes I was really impressed. And really impressed with the price as well, I was expecting to really get hit hard, with the quality of the food, the location, and the and the upscale building!

Even better Greta food nice ambience and a reasonable price, :)

So stylish, the design and the decor gives me a very swanky pizza place feeling :D That carriage looks like it's Cinderella-like, so cute !

And love that pizza :O DEEP DISH cubano! WOW! Amazing * ___ *!!!

@veryspider You can't believe how good that was! Whoever thought of kosher pickles and mustard on a pizza! But I'm so glad they did. I know where I'm having lunch the next time we go to St Louis.

With this pictures I got hungry 😋

@soyluijo - I understand! It was soooooo good!

Wow. That is one amazing pizza. I've never seen anything like it. Somehow I keep thinking of biting into it and getting burnt from the boiling sauce. That seems to happen to me a lot when I see a pizza I just can't resist enough to wait until it cools down.

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

@toddrjohnson Yes, it was pretty tough waiting for it to cool off a bit. Good thing we had those chips and dip first to take the edge off. It was amazing though, I'm actually glad it's a good ways from home, or I'd be tempted to eat there too often.

I have also never driven 140 miles to get a pizza. I think that the max I have done for food was around 50 km :)

I have never seen pizza like this. It looks very thick. And I thought you would show us fries because I didn't realize that in the US you call crisps chips. Yes, I'm not a native speaker confused between the UK and the US English :)

The price seems reasonable to me too, especially for a bigger town..

Thank you for sharing your review and have a good day!

@delishtreats I guess that's what being young does for you - my niece and her boyfriend are in their 20s and it was just a date night to them to drive to St Louis! But I will definitely stop there again the next time we go to St Louis for a doctor appointment or other business.

It's funny about all the different words for the same thing. I just found out a "chippy" was a fish and chips (meaning fries, not potato chips) place.

Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

Sounds delicious!!! Will have to go there if I'm ever in the area

Yes, it's worth your time for a really great and different pizza.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77