Ruthann's Gourmet Bakery

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


A couple of weeks ago I was out of town at a conference for work and I found myself in the charming village of Bellaire, MI. You can read about it here.

A lady we work with owns a cottage near Bellaire and she told my wife that I needed to visit Ruthann's Gourmet Bakery.

In case you hadn't guessed, I did, and this is a review of my visit.

Ruthann's is not a very large place for a bakery and quite honestly you will probably miss it if you don't know where to look. I actually drove around the block a couple of times before I finally found it.

If you follow a map, it looks like it is right on the main street in town, but you actually need to go one block further and park down a side street to get close to the entrance.

If you are walking, you should be able to find it with very little trouble just look for the small "alleyway" and the sign I have pictured in the cover photo.

As I mentioned the space is not very large, only having room for maybe ten people at a time in the waiting area. Besides the goodies behind the counter, they also have several stands set up with items for sale from local and craft vendors.

IMG_20181011_143942.jpg

IMG_20181011_143944.jpg

Sadly, I came pretty late in the day and a lot of the stuff was picked over. I was talking to the person behind the counter and he mentioned how he had a huge rush of people in the morning so they didn't have a much of a selection left.

I asked if it was because of the conference that was in town and the guy said no, it was actually mostly locals that had bought all of their goods. That comment alone told me all I needed to know about this place. If it is so good that the locals make it their go-to place then it must be amazing!

IMG_20181011_144002.jpg

They make their own bagels and breads.

As I said though, there wasn't much left in the way of bread selection by the time I got there, just three or four lonely loaves all by their lonesome.

IMG_20181011_143954.jpg

Additionally, you can see that most of the sweet treats were sold out as well.

IMG_20181011_143957.jpg

IMG_20181011_144023.jpg

In the end, I snagged the last peanut butter cookie all alone on the bottom shelf there and the last loaf of herb encrusted focaccia. I didn't realize it until I looked at the picture just now, but the guy ahead of me must have grabbed the other four peanut butter cookies!

IMG_20181011_144519.jpg

My total bill came to under $10 and I was on my way. I ate the cookie back at my hotel room and it was absolutely fantastic. It wasn't greasy like some peanut butter cookies can be and the flavor was spot on without being too sweet or too overwhelming.

I took the bread home and my wife and I enjoyed it with some slices of it toasted with eggs the next weekend.

Next year when I am in Bellaire again for my conference, Ruthann's will definitely be on my list of places to stop. My mouth is already watering thinking about trying one of their muffins or cupcakes.

I will also be sure to try to visit earlier in the day next time!

If you are looking for someplace off the beaten path with exceptional treats, you should definitely check out Ruthann's.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Restaurant Information


Ruthann's Gourmet Bakery
score
105 N Bridge St, Bellaire, MI 49615, USA


Ruthann's Gourmet Bakery
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Bakeries and Patisseries


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Looks like my kind of place. Lots of Carbs and Sugar. Sign me up!

It actually looks like the ice cream shop in Florence, WI. It's not on the beaten path, either, but my friends took me there and WOW. Plus they have local crafts and honey for sale. In a teeny space.

I really do love places like this. Nice find!

Thank you!

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Bakeries and Patisseries> Contest . Thanks to @bozz, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Wow they must be pretty popular! They looked nearly wiped out by the time you got there. I have to limit myself going to bakeries because I tend to stay there all day lol! I’m a sucker for breads and sweets!

My wife is the bread person, I am the sweets person so yeah it could be a bad combination if we both went there!

Haaaa for sure!

Small hidden gems like this are so good to know about, next time you will be sure to arrive early in the morning @bozz like the homely affect inside, it looks very quaint indeed.

Yes, very "country modern". It really is a cool little place. I will be sure to arrive early so I can see the things I missed that everyone wanted!

the cupcakes look great and the bread too 👍 GREETINGS!

I would love this place because the antithesis of gluten free! Lol.

Solid post.

Namaste, JaiChai

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.454 which ranks you at #6751 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 58 places in the last three days (old rank 6809).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 310 contributions, your post is ranked at #69.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 0.04% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Looks like such a charming bakery and if it sales out most things to locals every day it must be good :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 298 (10/31/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86