Review Of A Place NOT To Eat In Coimbatore

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


There is always this urge to find out about the unique and traditional food items while visiting a new place. I was told a lot about the Idli and mutton curry combination, which I have never heard of and also about mutton biriyani. I'm not a fan of Idlis, so it was fixed, I'm trying mutton biriyani before leaving Coimbatore.

There are a lot many hotels, restaurants, mess in this lane, which is oppostie to the HOPE signal. The whole place gets busy with people coming to eat, especially when there is acollege nearby. My search for a place to eat mutton biriyani started in Swiggy (online food delivery app) but then decided to go out to the resturant and have it there itself.

The ones I had already chosen in my list to try from were all closed. So, I went to this one hotel which seemed like a good place to eat and might have a traditional recipe for preparation. I asked for mutton biriyani before taking a seat and he said it is available.

After sitting there for 10 minutes, someone from the kitchen came and said mutton biriyani got over but there is chicken biriyani. The owner apologized and I started to search for another place to eat.

It is a busy road and it was around 6 in the evening. I don't know why most restaurants were closed at that time.

So, I found this place at the main road, Avinashi road and went through the stairs through the sideway of the hotel where they had great pictures of the dishes, obviously graphc. But I thought it might be good since it is at a good location and not a street food kinda place either.

IMG_20190930_175150.jpg

IMG_20190930_175200.jpg

Inside of the hotel looked like this, seatings and all looked good. There were two three students who were seated inside. There was a shawarma stand outside where the packing was happening at full swing.

I saw shawarmas being served to many of the students that were in the seats. I think it is the best selling item there. But, I was not there for Shawarma, so I orderd mutton biriyani.

Like I said, I came throught the side of the hotel, so I had not seen the name of the place. The menu was given and it read Hotel Delhi Dharbhaar. The pricing was much more compared to other places I saw on Swiggy and Zomato. In a very weird way, I thought "well, it must be good then, explains the high price"!

IMG_20190930_175333.jpg

IMG_20190930_175347.jpg

First the plate with a banana leaf came. And the biriyani was served after five minutes. There was an egg on top of the biriyani amd two small bowls, one with the salad and one with a gravy.

IMG_20190930_175500.jpg

IMG_20190930_175519.jpg

IMG_20190930_175909.jpg

IMG_20190930_175923.jpg

The first disaapointment was it was not hot. Serving no-hot meal is not considered good practice anywhere in India, unless the dish is suppposed to be served hot. And biriyani is definitely not one of them.

But then again, I assumed it might be because of they prepared it like that "Dum biriyani" style where you prepare a lot of biriyani in a big single pot.

Nopes, that was not it. It tasted, well, you don't talk ill of the food! It was not good. It tasted like a lite coating of condensed oil on te rice and the meat pieces.

IMG_20190930_180041.jpg

At first, I was even confused if it was mutton. I would have easily fought with them if this was served saying it is chicken or beef or pork but not mutton. My mother always put an overload of pepper everytime she prepared mutton to make it not taste like a raw meat.

The pieces of meat were not that great, there was a white piece and it was all very plain in taste. Okay, by now I understood my assumptions doesn't make the food any bettter. I hate wasting food So, I asked them o parcel the rest after eating a less than half of the bowl.

I left the place not taking any pictures of the place because I thought this is not a place to write about on Tasteem. But then the mutton briyani started make me realise its presence in my body.

First I ignored, thinking it'll be okay if I have some soda or a hot coffee. The last thing I want is get a food poison before I leave Coimbatore!

Well, without describing much about the biriyani effec, let me put this, I wish I get diarrhea or just puke it off my system!

The worst feeling is when you get these Swiggy and Zomato pop ups in mind saying: "We offered you a great list with 50% off!"
"There is a Swiggy Pop, you don't even have to pay that extra tax to get the good food delivered to your door step! Oh wait, no you want the experience of the place, Congrats!"
Zomato: " Just a casual Reminder for the Golden memebership🤷🏻‍♀"

PS:

  1. It maybe because the one item served for me was not good or the timing was not right or any other reason. Please check for other review sites for the ratings. This post is not meant to devalue their services but a personal review.

  2. Tasteem doesn't have a "Not to visit at all" rating button, that's why I've kept a place to visit daily. DO NOT VISIT DAILY


Restaurant Information


Hotel Delhi Darbaar, Coimbatore
score
171, 1, Avinashi Rd, periyar nagar, Masakalipalayam, Argus Nagar, Peelamedu, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu 641004, India


Review Of A Place NOT To Eat In Coimbatore
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Local Dishes


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this review. Agree with you. Rice is not really good if served not warm.

#tasteem-curation
[Tasteem Global Supporter]

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Local Dishes> Contest . Thanks to @elsaenroute, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84