Song Fa's Bak kut teh!

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


It's been a while since I had Bak kut teh, one of the popular dishes here in Singapore. It's a Chinese soup that is made up of pork ribs cooked with a broth, visually simple yet very tasty. It's no wonder that the locals are really liking it.

For this version of bak kut teh, I went to one of the restaurants that I considered to be “affordable” but also considered to be one of the best - Song Fa Bak kut teh!

Let me start with my experience of the place, the entrance feature a wood engraving of its name in Chinese character. I can't even read chinese but I must say that it's quite welcoming.

20190315_185840-01.jpeg

The interior is lofty and it looks spacious even though it has a small space, the extra ceiling helps a lot on the ambience of the place. It isn't stuffy at all and it's well ventilated.

20190315_190210-01.jpeg

The furniture arrangement is in grid pattern to maximize the space even so, I still find it comfortably enough.

20190315_185846-01.jpeg

If there is one thing that I have to commend is the effort that they exerted in decorating the surrounding walls, they actually made a replica of the olden village style architecture. The design of the interior has gave me the feeling of “nostalgia”.

20190315_190214-01.jpeg

Let’s move onto the food which is quite bountiful and obviously more than enough for one person. I ordered for:

20190315_190655-01.jpeg

Premium Ribs Bak kut teh
The flagship dish of this restaurant is the Pork ribs bak kut teh, which is actually more than enough to keep me coming back for more. The soup is just amazing! There is a slight aromatic flavour from the soup, I guess it came from the herbs alongside with the bones that made this thick soup. It also have a distinct garlic flavour and spice from the pepper. Basically it’s a savoury soup. The meat is fall-off-the-bone tender and it’s well cooked.

20190315_190558-01.jpeg

Pig’s Trotter
The braised pig’s trotter has only a unique flavour which came from the soy-based soup. It’s also cooked well and it’s really tender. Another thing that I want to mention is the fact they already cut the meat into smaller bite-size pieces. This is the only bak kut teh restaurant that do this, to my knowledge. Some restaurants will serve the whole portion of the trotter, which is quite difficult to manage especially when using a set of chopsticks.

20190315_190634-01.jpeg

Kai Lan with Oyster sauce
For the vegetable, Kai Lan is a Chinese broccoli that was boiled and served with oyster sauce. It’s a simple dish and it’s a good compliment to both of the meat dishes. I would say it’s a good balance to this meat heavy meal.

20190315_190646-01.jpeg

You Tiao
A fried dough that is eaten together with the Bak kut teh soup. The way I have it is that I will put it in the bowl of soup and let it soaked for a few minutes and then eat. In this way, the dough will absorb all the goodness of the soup. The good thing about this You Tiao is that it’s still retain it’s crunchy exterior while the inside is soft and mushy.

20190315_190657-01.jpeg

20190315_190800-01.jpeg

Steamed rice

Here’s the view of my table with all of the dishes.

20190315_190548-01.jpeg

On the side of my table is a pot for my tea.

20190315_185924-01.jpeg

So, for my overall rating - I would say that all dishes are legitimately good and every detail was well taken care of. The reason why I said it is the fact that other restaurants don’t really pay attention to small details that will improve the diner’s satisfaction.

For tonight, I was satisfied with the ambience of the place and delicious meal!

20190315_185843-01.jpeg


Restaurant Information


Song Fa Bak Kut Teh
score
6 Changi Business Park Ave 1, Singapore 486017


Song Fa's Bak kut teh!
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

#tasteem-curation

Hi! Great review with detailed description and photos of the food. Everytime I got to Singapore I will have Bak kut teh so will try this one out if i go over again

Thanks a lot for your feedback @travelgirl, you won't regret trying this one😊🥂

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @funtraveller, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29