English Breakfast success in Krabi

in #tasteem5 years ago

So I am leaving Krabi, likely permanently in the next month - I have been here over a decade. Due to where I lived (once in the jungle and another time in a Muslim part of town) I haven't ever found a great English Breakfast anywhere other than the restaurant that years ago I was the owner of. I made it my goal to find one before I left and I think I may have succeeded.

You might recall an epic failure that I wrote about before and I actually received some criticism about how I "should try to eat like the locals do" or something along those lines and I want everyone to understand that 90% of what I eat actually is local food. However, from time to time, since I am a westerner I occasionally would like to have some food from home despite the fact that I am not English and prior to moving away from the U.S. having baked beans for breakfast would have seemed insane.

50003333_330469417561780_6917255485468966912_n.jpg

So as you can see in the pic you get a two eggs, bacon, a sausage, a bunch of beans, two pieces of brown bread, hash browns, and fried tomatoes and mushrooms. I realize there are other things that could be added to this as there are many variations of the breakfast throughout the world but this is the standard over here in South East Asia as for as the English Breakfast (EBF) is concerned.

Things that really impressed me:

  • Eggs were not overcooked (still runny in the yolks)
  • The bacon was pork bacon (not trying to get on anyone's case but chicken bacon, which is served for religious reasons over here, is not good)
  • a sausage that is NOT a hot dog
  • veggies that were not microwaved
  • a nice portion of beans
  • coffee and O.J. is included
  • the friggin butter wasn't frozen and therefore, usable

49761553_539977586515545_3167549766758301696_n.jpg
as you can see, i kind of liked it

I was so excited when it first arrived (because it looked great) that I almost forgot to take a photo.

So there are 3 more places in town that I need to try but so far this is the best one. This came from Blue Juice which is, at least for the time being, my new favorite restaurant in Krabi-town.

I have seen adverts for places such as Irish Pubs at the beach towns that have even bigger and more authentic plates but these places charge a relative fortune and therefore will not be included in my "contest." I am only looking at places that have budget prices, and at 180 Baht, this one certainly is budget in my opinion.

This one, so far, has not only been fantastic in the presentation, taste, and quality; but is also a real winner on affordability.

Find Blue Juice Restaurant HERE

Sort:  

That looks like the breakfast of champions! Eating beans for Breakfast seems a little over the top for me but who am I to judge. Yeah, I hate it when the menu says sausage and one gets a nasty pink hot dog; that sausage looks delicious. Wow! You really cleaned up your plate. You should have posted a picture of you licking the plate, LOL! Cheers from Bolivia!

I know exactly how you feel . I lived in Germany for a few years and you couldn’t get an “Irish Breakfast “ there . (Same as English) . So whenever an Irish or English person went home , they were ordered to bring back the goods and we would have a Sunday morning breakfast in the friends house . It used to be heaven so I know where you are coming from . 😀😀. Can’t beat it . Although if you had one every day you mightn’t live that long 😂😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am glad that you finally find a great place that cook better western meal , to be frank with you the food really looks delicious and sumptuous to taste . I hope you truly enjoy the meal

wow... that's a amazing picture... like to see more about that...what Cam have you use? wishes from Thailand

i have a horrible camera! I'm getting a new one as soon as i get back from Laos....

EDIT: I changed my upvote and comment after i saw that you essentially send the same thing to everyone you talk to on here.

You can go bye-bye now

Wao This foods looks so yummy. I really like egg. My breakfast is not complete without egg. Egg gives you many benefits for your health. Egg gives you protein. You end your breakfast plate. You enjoying your food. I want to eat this hummy food. Thanks for sharing. @gooddream.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

that's very delicious

I can honestly say that I understand what you are explaining here. Obviously the criticism you received, on the previous post on same topic, was from someone who has A LOT of variety where they live! Regardless of the type of "Local" food present. In my home town, we have all american cuisine and very little good ethnic food. Yes we have Asian, Italian, and so forth.. but all of it highly 'Americanized'. So When I want real ethnic food, we have to travel into Philly or up to NYC. There is no crime in expecting a restaurant that claims they have something authentic, to actually deliver on it! Glad you found something acceptable :-)

On a side note, I love your Stormtrooper! It the first photo he is up and awake and eyeing up your meal. Then I think he ate most of it because he is flat on his back in the second photo when the plate is empty! His belly is FULL!! I was cracking up at that. Thanks for the laugh @gooddream.

The breakfast with eggs, bacon, sausages and cheeses is the best, @gooddream, food of Gods, we agree hahaha. Here in my country I ate almost that daily, but now it is a luxury because of the high costs of eggs and sausages compared to wages. Your dish looked succulent and from the last photo I know you liked it a lot. Have a happy day, my friend.

🏆 Hi @gooddream! You have received 0.5 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe and increase the reward for @gooddream :) | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71