Loco Elvis - Chiang Mai : not Mexican food / horrible

in #tasteem5 years ago

I shouldn't be surprised since it is kind of a foregone conclusion that nearly all restaurants in the "tourist part" of almost any town tends to be some of the worst food in the area. This place had a nice exterior and a really nice looking menu so I was hopeful that I was in for a treat.


source

It looks a lot better at night but with the camera on my phone you can forget about that happening. I keep promising @bdmillergallery that i will get a new phone but I am a delightful mixture of frugal and lazy so yeah, there's that.

This is the 3rd installment in my quest to try every single tex-mex place in town and go in blind. I do not read any online reviews before going in.

Anyway, Loco Elvis is such a disappointment on the food frontier. I first became worried when I saw extremely small portions of nachos going out to other tables and at that point i was at least relieved that I didn't order nachos. I seems a bit sad to me to eat nachos alone in public so i never do that anyway.

I ordered the baja fish tacos and when the first arrived I was impressed. I will say this: They do a great job on the presentation of this dish.

51775181_837396963289568_7680633807199797248_n.jpg

Absolutely massive, right? I was thinking to myself "I"m going to be very full when i finish that," and I couldn't finish them, but it wasn't because I was full.

There was absolutely no flavor to the sauce. It was thousand island dressing (which Europeans sometimes call cocktail sauce) which is simply mayo and ketchup mixed together - I don't think you need to be a chef to realize that this has no business on anything Tex-Mex. There was no spice or heat whatsoever. I then asked for hot sauce and I was brought a carrier that had ketchup, mustard, orange sweet chili sauce, and Tabasco... I used the Tabasco to make the food at least taste like something.

The fish was fine but the worst part was the tortillas. They had not been steamed or cooked in any way and I think they were a bit old because they were so chewy that any attempt at a bite resulted in everything falling out of it. I was worried at one point that I might damage my teeth by attempting to get through this flatbread that has the texture of cardboard and tastes about the same as cardboard.

51635327_2016454658407980_4560611637437923328_n.jpg

I want you to understand how extremely rare it is for me to not finish all of my food at a Tex-Mex place. I can't recall it ever happening to be honest. I was considering asking for a take-away box but then realized that I have higher standards for my dog than this, so i just left it behind.

I highly recommend that you stay away from this place as it is quite evident that they don't actually know how to make this type of food and aren't even very concerned about serving stale tortillas. The staff were really friendly and the band was ok, so maybe stop by for a margarita.

You can find their location and other information here

Sort:  

There is nothing worse when you have expectations. I am sorry that the food was terrible and the writing was on the wall with the 1000 island sauce. That would have made me run a mile and not looked back. Positive spin though is to have a drink and listen to the band, but don't eat.

LOL! I love that the sign says "Mexican Food Done Right"

Thousand Island dressing? What the hell is going on here... But let's be fair... Mexican food in Thailand?

I wonder if they have Thai food in Mexico?

They very well could! One of the most disgusting things that I've ever eaten in Mexico was at this "American Restaurant".. They served these hotdogs that are a weird grey color. So nasty.

Mexican food is a weird thing though. It seems like you can't get very far away from the southern states before it starts becoming really not Mexican.

I ordered some enchiladas at this restaurant in Wisconsin once. I can't even begin to describe what came out on my plate. The best I can do is say that it resembled some kind of mashed potatoes infused with meat and tomato sauce.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Seems like a great place. Sadly from what I've read thou, I wouldn't go there. If anything I'll do the margarita :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13