The Corner Restaurant Chiang Mai (a different one!) standard breakfast but friendly as can be.

in #tasteem5 years ago

So this morning my breakfast place in the quiet street that I was raving about before wasn't open for some reason, perhaps they close every Saturday - i never bothered to look. This necessitated finding somewhere else to eat so i just walked a bit.

the-outside.jpg

This place is located on the exact same side of the street as a horrible restaurant which unfortunately shares the same name as them. It makes me wonder who had the name first. If I had to guess I would imagine that the restaurant on the other end with the miserable staff probably just copied the name of this popular and friendly place. I don't know about that for sure.

I was immediately greeted with a smiling waiter who then went away for a while to allow me to look over the menu (it is a standard practice for waitstaff in Thailand to hand you a menu and then just linger until you order - which i find exceptionally annoying) then he kept looking in my direction (the way a good waiter should) until it was clear I was ready to order. I ordered the American Breakfast because I am not real fussy about what I eat in the mornings.

It came out quick, the coffee was brewed, the OJ was obviously fresh-squeezed (not from a box / jug) and as soon as i moved my plate out of the way something remarkable happened: The waiter actually took it away and asked if I would like anything else! You would have to live here to understand how exceptionally rare this is in a place where you can get food for under $5.

The price was fair but there wasn't anything particularly special about the food but I am not going to blame them for that: It was, after all, my choice to order a ABF - there really isn't much way to spice that up. I would definitely return to this place and commend them for their top-notch service in a low-cost establishment. I would call this place a gem.

you can find their address and contact information as well as a bunch of TA reviews here

Sort:  

We do take things for granted on what we expect as service in a restaurant. I guarantee the other establishment stole their name and this was the original.

seems likely. I once owned a guesthouse and it was number one in town... once day i was at the dentist and looked out of the waiting room window to see that my business name, logo, and even my sign with all the words verbatim was on another building completely unaffiliated with me.

I got the last laugh though, because when they went out of business I bought it and made it popular (albeit briefly)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29