Saigon Attractions: Ốc Đào, Sài Gòn - Saigon’s Excellent foods from snail

in #tasteem6 years ago

title_image

Snail may be a type of food that sounds kinda weird in your countries, but in Vietnam, it’s known as one of the favourite dishes that people love to eat in rainny day. Among so many ways of cooking snail all over my country, Saigonan’s style always stands out with the special flavor that I can’t find out in anywhere else.

The restaurant

I went to Ốc Đào in the day when the wet season had begun. Here is the most well known restaurant for Snail in Saigon, the place that everyone, even the grabbike’s driver knows. I was really impressed because Ốc Đào is totally different with what I had expected. With me, this kind of restaurant is supposed to be small and located somewhere on the street. But this one is extremely big and professional with even the parking lot beside. With tons of people were eating Snail inside the restaurant, I gradually understood why there is a large parking lot like that.


2F6C232E-E1FC-4D55-85A6-E7D0852E3609.jpeg


The menu

I think I cant find any Snail restaurant like this in Hanoi. There are so many dishes made from Snail, shellfish, seafood, etc that you can choose. It’s full of choices, enough to make you confused about what you should eat. Fortunately, there were some saigonans going with me, then I let them order their favorite ones here.

The menu is so rich of choices. We order tons of food. I even have no idea about some of them since I have ever tried it before.

The food

I dont know where and which dish I should review first. Lol. There are so many. And all of it is awesome.


00E41704-A9DB-4100-BCF9-349035FF8AC7.jpeg
This dish made from a special part of squid, I dont know how to name it in english. It is cooked with butter, chili, garlic, scallion and lard. The best one ever. I have ever tried it before and I was amazed because of its sause. Incredible. Dip a piece of bread in, and taste the combination of sweet, salty and spicy busrting in your mouth.


456FB95F-D29D-4DCF-97CF-A3E13EAA0752.jpeg

A11A68FA-33E3-4A09-9DA7-FAA3A21E66A2.jpeg

D249B861-3BDA-4CCF-99C3-FC6FD8E1DD65.jpeg

Those three are kind of snail, and cooked in different ways. Each of it brought an excellent taste.


A46E9F2F-F350-4D72-A6A2-C83FC2D8EA1D.jpeg

Kind of shellfish. It is grilled with scallion. Smell so attractive and the taste too.


71B376E5-686B-4D22-9DD6-E213BAC9A5EC.jpeg

The stirred seafood noodles. Not bad. We finished it all


Each dish is cooked in different way, bring different taste. But all of those dishes has a common thing that is so tasty. I can realize the style of Saigon’s cuisine just by tasting those dishes. It is always a rich flavor mixed from sweet, sour, spicy. I dont know how to describe exactly but it just so special. The taste that I can’t find anywhere else.

It’s easy to understand why people always recommend Ốc Đào as the best place for snail in Saigon.

The price

There is one thing I dont like. That is the price. Quite expensive. I dont remember the specific price. But it is always around 3-4$ per dish.

The service

This restaurant is always crowded so the restaurant is a bit messy. There are too many people all the time but staffs are still attentive. We didn’t need to wait to long for food.

Rate: 8,5/10

When I go back Hanoi, I will miss Ốc Đào for sure. Will go back again even though it’s quite expensive. Haha.


By: @hanggggbeeee


Restaurant Information


Ốc Đào
score
212B Nguyễn Trãi, Phường Nguyễn Cư Trinh, Quận 1, Hồ Chí Minh, Vietnam


Saigon Attractions: Ốc Đào, Sài Gòn - Saigon’s Excellent foods from snail
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

#tasteem-curation
hello i'm tasteem supporter @jinuking. i'm struck with high quality @hanggggbeeee posting so tasteem give special present to you. tasteem look forward to your wonderful posting in the future.

Thank you a lot. I’ll keep contributing high quality content 😊

Tell this food name

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our < Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @hanggggbeeee, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Excellent review. Both well-written and so interesting that I kinda wanna go there and try it.

I don't eat much seafood, but your photos and descriptions of the various dishes are mouth-watering.

And kinda like you, I prefer smaller, cozier restaurants, as opposed to large hall-type restaurants. But, of course, some of the large places also have amazing food, so I'll go to those bigger places occasionally.

Hope your food and everything else remains "tasteem".

Thank you for you compliment. Haha. Now i will specialize in reviewing food and restaurant. Be a tasteemian.
I want to recommend you for trying tasteem.It is really nice platform. You may want to try it sometimes. It is good for me in this hard time. Fine reward :))

Sounds great. If you specialize in food writing, you might even be able to make a long career out of it!!! And that's not a bad career to have, for sure!!

Did you know the food writer Anthony Bourdain? He recently died, and it was reported to be a suicide, but many people believe he was killed.

Anyway, he was a great writer, and he also produced some great "food" shows. The first was "NO RESERVATIONS" ... https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=no+reservations

And more recently, "PARTS UNKNOWN" ... https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=parts+unknown

His first book was "KITCHEN CONFIDENTIAL" ... https://joeandjin.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/anthony-bourdain-kitchen-confidential.pdf
A great read, indeed.

Is TASTEEM a platform or just a Steemit tag? Or is it a Steem blog??

All the best!

Oh. I dont know him. But his story seem....
Thank you. I still dont have kind of “subtle” of tastin and describing food. Those may improve my review. 😊😊

For your information, tasteem is a platform. That is tasteem.io.

OK, I'll check it out. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00