The Burmese Restaurant: simply, exotic and amazingly tasty

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


I’m curious about food. For this reason, I never get impressed by the way that a restaurant looks. If someone says “it’s good, go and try it!”, I’ll probably give a chance. Living in Asia for 9 months, I can say that simply restaurants are surprising! And you can taste amazing food in places that your eyes would doubt, but your stomach will approve!

IMG_20190411_150143.jpg

IMG_20190411_143718.jpg

IMG_20190411_143424.jpg

Nong Bee’s Burmese Restaurant was a recommendation of a good friend that I made here in Chiang Mai, Thailand. It was also my weekly choice. The experience was incredible, so, I couldn’t stop sharing with you!

The Nong Bee’s Burmese Restaurant


Nong Bee’s is quite famous in Chiang Mai, Thailand. Despite that its a super simple place, with the kitchen almost on the street, the dishes are amazingly tasted. The staff is also lovely and they are a family that works in the restaurant! More and more I live in Thailand, I got amazed by how people are friendly and sweet.

IMG_20190411_150030.jpg

IMG_20190411_143437.jpg

In the menu, you can find Thai and Burmese dishes. But, considering that it’s a Burmese restaurant in Thailand, I think the best choice is to focus on the Burmese menu.

IMG_20190411_143356.jpg

IMG_20190411_143348.jpg

You’ll find many typical dishes from Burmese cuisine. They have options for vegetarians and even vegans, so, I believe that this restaurant can make anyone happy! The only thing is that the menu don't have prices, so always check first!
The food is full of flavors and textures. After I finished I feel with that sensation when you try comfort food. The spices and flavors are just combined perfectly, making the taste absolutely extraordinary.

The tea leaf salad


I order three plates: the famous Burmese tea leaf salad, eggplant curry, and the shan rice. All the dishes were delicious, but the Tea Leaf Salad was the star of my lunch! Known also as Lahpet Thoke, the tea leaf salad is an eclectic mix of flavors and textures. It’s made by pickled tea leaf, roasted peanuts, and other beans, toasted sesame seeds, fried garlic, and chopped tomato. To make the salad, the tea leaf must be fermented and Burmese people use the best leaves after the harvesting for tea.

IMG_20190411_144059.jpg

Historically, the Lahpet Thoke was a symbol of peace. After a dispute between kingdoms, the salad was offered when the war finished.

I’ve tried other tea leaf salads in Chiang Mai, but I can say that this one is unique!

Tomato rice and eggplant curry


I also ordered the Shan Rice, which is made with tomato sauce and chopped with fried onion and cilantro on the top. I really love cilantro, so this mixture was simply perfect and tasty! I also had an eggplant curry, which, again was super delicious and juicy. Oh! Yes! I really made a great choice this week! I spend for the meal 120 bath, (around US$ 3,77) , so it was quite cheap!

IMG_20190411_144040.jpg

If you look outside the Nong Bee Restaurant, it’s so simple that it can surprise you even more. When in Chiang Mai, it’s a must try!

IMG_20190411_145556.jpg


Restaurant Information


Nong Bee Burmese Restaurant
score
28 Nimmana Haeminda Rd Lane 1, Tambon Su Thep, Amphoe Mueang Chiang Mai, Chang Wat Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand


The Burmese Restaurant: simply, exotic and amazingly tasty
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

I never try eggplant curry before. Usually I enjoyed eggplant with chili sauce.

Great review
#tasteem-curation

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your comment! It's super tasty! I love eggplant! You should try! 😉

Simply the greatest, you’re right:D

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @helgalubevi, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05