MY FAVORITE RESTAURANT/ CELLAR IN THE SKY AT WATERKLOOF WINES

in #tasteem6 years ago (edited)

title_image


Hey everyone, I am so happy to be approved into @Tasteem . This is one of the projects I support with all my heart because I love food. In fact I have a food & wine blog and I have been telling stories through food for the longest time.


IMG_3583.JPG

Allow me to tellyou about my favorite restaurant. It is not a place I frequent because I do not live in South Africa, I am in Kenya. However, whenever I visit, that amazing country, this is where my heart takes me.

IMG_3598.JPG

When I visit a reastaurant, I love having the mighty 3 (Service, Food and Price) and I like to add a 4th one Ambience.

c5.jpg

Service

When it comes to service, the staff is really amazing. because people do not throng this restaurant so much (because of the location in the mountains). I hate to use the word hidden gem (it is one of those overused phrases in travel writing) but this is what the place is. They also serve you with an array of their biodynamic wine.
c7.jpg

c8.jpg

Food

The food is very well thought out and it is presented in an almost architectural way. Whne the plating is as good as the taste, then that is a balanced meal.

This was the menu
Kommetjie Crayfish.
Celeriax Creameux and Apple
Paired with
Reyneke Chenin Blanc 2014
Scali Blanc Blend 2013
Stuffed Karoo Saddle
Smokey aubergine(eggplant), ketchup, paprika, Baba Ganoush
Paired with
Laibach Ladybird Red 2013
Avondale La Luna 2009
Chorizo and Healeys cheddar Toasted Sandwich
Paired with
Circumstance Syrah 2012

source From my blog http://thewineandfoodreview.com/2015/09/organic-lunch/

Everything was as delicious as it sounds.

c13.jpg

c11.jpg

Price

I love to think of price as value for money. Here you get value for money and you can try such exquisite wine that your senses will be impressed.

c9.jpg

Ambience

This is the icing on the cake. the name "cellar in the sky" is perfect. You feel like you are floating in the sky because of the unforgettable views you set your eyes on.

IMG_3638.JPG

c10.jpg

c12.jpg

These four things work in perfect synergy to make this an unforgettable experience. I do not even want to go here every time. I want to go to this restaurant once a year so that I can savour it and not get used to it. It is that good. It is like that whisky you consume of special occasions.

All photos are mine. Taken with Canon Rebel T5i


Restaurant Information


CELLAR IN THE SKY AT WATERKLOOF WINES
score
Waterkloof, Pretoria, 0181, South Africa


MY FAVORITE RESTAURANT/ CELLAR IN THE SKY AT WATERKLOOF WINES
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

[Tasteem Supporter]
#tasteem-cancel

Hello,

Welcome to Tasteem , nice to have you here. As you are new, your mistake is understandable but please try to improve on your next post. Your post must contain more of your original pictures, than source pictures, used of only source pictures is not allowed. You must cite the reference to every source information (pictures etc.) The review must be created base on your own experience.

Thank you!

Hey @siamcat @tasteem, these are my photos. This review is also based on my own experience. I visited this place as you can see from my blog http://thewineandfoodreview.com/2015/09/organic-lunch/

Hi,

thank you for your answer. Please make sure you cite the source reference to your own block from another platform. Remember, we don’t know you personally and we only see that many source pictures has been used here.
I will take a closer look at your block later. If it possible please join the Tasteem Discord and send me per direct message more information, because I have to let my team know about you, otherwise you maybe have this problem again in the future.

https://discord.gg/fGF5P7c

Dear @siamcat Thanks for taking the time to explain. I understand. I will always have this in mind in subsequent posts. Thanks.

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Your weekly choice > Contest . Thanks to @jeanwandimi, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

I had a feeling this will be the perfect platform for you to blog in your steem comeback

Yes @tastesteem is definitely my thing. So happy I was whitelisted. Thanks.

must have been a wonderful experience! love it!

It was. Thanks for reading.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

This place looks amazing @jeanwandimi

I would love to try it out. The menu looks varied with some unusual stuff.

Nice job.

Gaz

Thanks Gaz. This was so delicious.

Wow, I sonlove the ambiance. Full vibes of nature.
Indeed a tasty fine dining.
I bet it’s memorable dining experience.

Voted & followed co steemitbloggers ❤️

Thanks. Such a memorable experience. Cheers #steemitbloggers

Looks marvellous and the food delicious. Good luck with the contest dear.

Looks marvellous and
The food delicious. Good luck
With the contest dear.

                 - injiskitchen


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

What an amazing experience! While I'd be tempted (if I were a bajillionaire...lol) to eat here every day, I like your idea of doing this once a year, to keep the experience special. Thanks for sharing this with us!

Thanks @traciyork I am glad its not in my country so that I am not tempted. Such a cool spot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10