Mais con hielo ala Tropical Hut

in #tasteem5 years ago (edited)

title_image


After having my groceries, I had my lunch here last Sunday and got lazy to immediately go out so I thought of having dessert instead.

I went back to the counter and scan through the menu overhead.
20190811_132548.jpg

Then I fixed my eyes on the last board with the desserts. I first thought of having halo-halo again but I had a second thought. Let us have something different this time.

Wikipedia says mais con hielo is a sweet and refreshing snack food in the Philippines. If so then I don't understand why its name is Spanish. It is basically sweetened corn kernels with crushed ice.
20190811_132619.jpg

I placed my order and got out of the restaurant to take a photo. Yes, I did that while I left my grocery items unattended inside. It took me just a minute though so no fuzz.

This branch of Tropical Hut is in a line of different commercial establishments. It is located along a highway so it is conveniently accessible.
20190811_132431.jpg

I waited for few more minutes on my table before my dessert was finally served. I was suprised to see it in a halo-halo cup. At first I thought it is a different order of someone else. I was also not expecting the size to be big like this given the low cost of P49.00 or about US$0.94. I was expecting something like half of it but yay! That's a big bonus.

20190811_132649.jpg

What made me smile is the ice cream on top with matching crisped rice. Without tasting yet, I can tell that the ice cream flavor is vanilla. And I was right.

I scooped half of the ice cream purely and scrambled the rest with the mixture. I then let it stand by as I wanted the crushed ice to melt.

It was really refreshing to drink the sweet and creamy melted ice with the corn kernels and crisped rice as texture diversion. I loved it!
20190811_132741.jpg

I thought I had a second meal when I was done with the whole cup of mais con hielo. I was so full and that made me all the more lazier to get out. I played on my phone for a while and I eventually got bored. I started to leave but took a last shot of the interior before I finally stepped out of the door.

Hey, look! The restaurant is empty. All the diners that were there earlier are gone. That only tells me I've been staying there longer than I should. I did not check the time. I just thought that was a good siesta! And none of the crews bothered me.😊
20190811_135829.jpg

Tropical Hut
Jaka Plaza
8288 Dr. A. Santos Ave.
San Antonio Valley 1
1715 Parañaque City
Metro Manila
Philippines


Restaurant Information


Tropical Hut
score
Dr Arcadio Santos Ave, Paranaque, Manila, 1709 Metro Manila, Philippines


Mais con hielo ala Tropical Hut
This post participated in the Tasteem contest My favourite dessert


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

Howdy Macoolette! very interesting, I've never seen anything like that before, I mean the dessert, not your post. lol. I don't know if that would fly over here, it doesn't look unhealthy enough! lol.

It only becomes unhealthy if you take too much so everything should be in moderation. You can also try this at home since it is very easy to prepare. 😊

I never even thought of preparing it at home but you are right, it's tea with cream and other things added, basically. And I'm sure there are lots of recipes online!

some delicious lookin' stuff!

So the cup fooled you, but it was good.
Now I wonder too why it's name is Spanish... a joke of the inventor or a lost Spanish soul came up with the idea?

Great if you can sit and the staff does not disturb you.

💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! I just stopped by to say that your post has been selected as a daily Featured Post of my personal curation project! You can find the daily Featured Post HERE.
I upvoted your contribution and I put it on the list because to my mind your post is what I call a quality content!
I am @miti, a manual curator that shall make available all his Steem Power to authors deserving of support. Let's make STEEM great again!
Have a nice day and keep up the good work!

You got it! ;-)

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <My favourite dessert > Contest . Thanks to @macoolette, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

You got a 40.83% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @macoolette! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 15 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34