A traditional Taiwanese breakfast

in #tasteem5 years ago

title_image


One of the most popular Taiwanese traditional breakfast is called dan bing which literally translates to egg cakes. In reality this is a piece of pancake wrapped with egg outside plus a type of sweet on top .
DSC_0945.JPG

I'm not massive fan of dan bing as I find it a bit stodgy, and normally I only have it when I meet up with friends for breakfast. The other day I had a friend visiting town and I arrange to meet her for breakfast at Xie's breakfast. I figured I would treat her to some local experience. Xie's brrekfast is a translation of its Chinese shop name as it doesn't have an English name.
DSC_0951.JPG

The cooking area is at the shop front, as all the meals can be cooked or reheated easily.
DSC_0949.JPG

One type of food which is also quite popular is fried dough sticks. You dip them in the soy bean milk.
DSC_0950.JPG

The dan bing that I ordered is freshly made here. As you can see, the set up is pretty simple, it's just some sort of hot plate to make the pancakes. When the pancake is cooked, they will pour some egg on top, flip it over to let the egg cook, and then it's ready.
DSC_0955.JPG

DSC_0954.JPG

DSC_0953.JPG

And here's what they look like. The sauce on the top is normally house made, but typically sweet. The two plates on the side have some fried turnip cakes, those are the cubes.
DSC_0945.JPG

I also ordered some soy bean milk. They come in hot or cold, with or without sugar, and also savoury. Something for everyone's taste .
DSC_0946.JPG

As I said, I'm not a big fan of dan bing, but I figured this would be a good introduction to show everyone else what a typical Taiwanese breakfast is like.


Restaurant Information


Xie's Breakfast
score
No. 136, Jiguang Street, Central District, Taichung City, Taiwan 400


A traditional Taiwanese breakfast
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Best breakfast


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

Sort:  

banner-steemit-comment-light-v3.png

Thank you for entering our <Best breakfast > Contest . Thanks to @sinochip, Tasteem has become a more attractive guide. We upvote your post, wish you the best of luck in winning our Contest!

台湾早餐就是好吃,挺怀念在台湾旅游的日子。呵呵

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree ^_^

Congratulations @sinochip! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 400 posts. Your next target is to reach 450 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27